We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing setting and easy to get to” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Lavenham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing setting and easy to get to”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was really pleased with this hotel - I had a good double room, with super bathroom and shower. Setting is superb with the park stretching out to the front, which made for a very nice post-breakfast walk. Staff attentive - although considering wehen I visited there were three weddings happening on one day, i can imagine the ordinary guest could get a little side-lined during the really busy wedding season.
Fillet steak at dinner was superb (I had this as room service and only had the 6oz - which the menu refers to as being suitable for the ladies - can't believe anyone would put that on a menu these days!!!!) breakfast was okay, but, I presume because of being busy, this was a buffet and so everything had been "kept" warm, which was not so good - although a poached egg which I requested was cooked promptly and to just right consistency

Room Tip: I had room 409, which is not enormous, but has a lovely bathroom, and has no bedrooms immediately ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getawaynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    261
    102
    51
    29
See reviews for
168
303
17
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
stockton on tees uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

fantastic hotel,good service,very clean,rooms very spacious,giant bed,tele,tea,coffee,fruit,biscuits,safe,iron,clock.good bar,a little expensive,retaraunt was ok,but not wow.good breakfast,views brilliant.all in all,good hotel,would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mapsamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I can't recommend this hotel enough! Friendly reception staff, fantastic surroundings and close to some amazing restaurants. Although we didn't try the hotel restaurant the menu looked amazingly appetising and would have tried if we had been staying for more than one night. As for the room...wow! The layout, decor and quality was too class and the bed/bedding was extremely comfortable. Would stay again :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redminx83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Recently held a family celebration for over 60 people, it was excellent, great food with plenty of it, fantastic service and attention to detail by staff. Highly recommend the Hardwick Hall Hotel for offering a stunning location and venue for hosting special occasions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkipsCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Hardwick Hall Hotel is a country house, built from beautiful golden Yorkshire stone and set in breathtaking grounds, even featuring a folly overlooking a lake. On a sunny October day, driving down the road designed to make the most of the view of the house, it’s hard to imagine a more perfect setting for a wedding. And therein lies the problem with the Hardwick Hall Hotel. It is, first and foremost, a wedding business. Guests come a very poor second to the procedures and logistics of putting on four weddings in one venue on one day.

At properly posh venues, the organisation of weddings has legs paddling furiously under the water while the swan glides gracefully across the top, and the guests only get to see that swan. At the Hardwick Hall, the guests not only get to see all the staff rushing around to get things done, they often find themselves in the way of clearly under-pressure people racing around a venue simply not up to doing the job invisibly.

I had never been to the Hardwick Hall Hotel before. I didn’t know where the additional parking was, I didn’t know how the myriad suites related to each other and, being mildly disabled, I didn’t know how far I would have to walk and if I would encounter any steps. The glass doors of the external entrances were plastered with A4 sheets of paper with instructions for XX & YY wedding party to use ZZ suite etc, but without any knowledge of the layout of the hotel, they weren’t very helpful and just made us feel like orders were being barked at us.

The bedrooms lived to up to expectation for this type of venue, but the again polite-but-brusque receptionist didn’t tell me about the lift, despite my crutch, and I struggled up and down the stairs a couple of times before I spotted it. The wedding reception had a lot of faults that one would forgive a local pub for but were a bit shocking from a specialist wedding venue (eg forks with bent tines, the wine and water not brought to the table till after the first course was cleared, the head waiter shouting instructions across the room). The soundproofing was excellent and we weren’t aware of any other weddings going on while we were in ours, but it did become evident with the queues for the loos and general crowded milling around in communal areas.

The rooms are luxurious and excellent value for money, and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. But sadly the brusque attitude and the general air of the guests getting in the way of the real business of putting on weddings means that isn’t ever going to happen. And speaking to the bride (my new sister-in-law) at breakfast, she was made to feel so un-special during the build up and on her big day, I suspect I’m not the only one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squueezebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I booked this hotel via LateRooms.com, as it was close to North Tees Hospital. What a little gem of a hotel. The room, whilst small, was beautiful, with good quality furnishings, a more that adequate sized bathroom, a full size bottle of mineral water, and fruit. It was the kind of room to which you would retreat on a cold, windy day, and just bury yourself in the duvet.

I ate in The Grill restaurant, which is in the hotel basement. Veggies beware, as they pride themselves on the fact that their locally-sourced beef is properly hung, as demonstrated by the meat locker near the entrance. However, this care to quality really shows. I ate a fillet steak, which was cooked just right for me. The meat was tender and delicious.

When checking out, the receptionist did admit that they had a lot of repeat business, because people seemed to like what they found. I am not surprised. This is definitely one to remember.

One word of advice, if you are heading to North Tees, don't take the 'Racecourse Road' if it has been raining recently.

Room Tip: Right side of hotel is accessed by stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoPilsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

we couldnt have asked for a better hotel
omg we booked this on the superbreak site a fantastic offer for 1 night deluxe room inc evening meal and wat a fabulous offer it was
we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who told us where everything was we went to our room and wowzers . we have stayed in many hotels but this was by far the best room we have ever had. the bathroom was as big as my house lol a huge free standing bath . his n hers sinks and a spe tioet and sep walk in shower . i was there 1 night and had 3 bubble baths loved it
bed was enormous and really comfy and we had a lovely view over lake
the evening meal was fantastic it was 3 course and could have anything on menu . food was abs gorgeous on the evening couldnt really say that about the breakfast the next day as it was a bit of a free for all in the breakfast room no greeting a door was a bit like find a table if you can and grab what you can nothing like id expected after the fabulous meal the evening before in the grill restaurant i would say as well the breakfast room is far too small for a hotel this large.
this is all easily forgiven tho as we had such a lovely time at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone . one of the best in england we have stayed in
.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
9.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
7.6 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
14.0 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
Address: Sedgefield, Sedgefield TS21 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful County Durham countryside, just off the A1(M), and surrounded by the magnificent Hardwick Country Park, The Best Western Plus Hardwick Hall Hotel is 4 Star AA rated and Winner of a Trip Advisor Excellence Award 2013, 2014 & 2015. Our luxury Sedgefield hotel offers Deluxe and Premier bedrooms with exceptional standards of comfort, quirky-clever decor, and first class traditional attentive service. With boutique style, lavish and individually designed spacious rooms, all with large baths, walk in showers, luxury furnishings and huge ultra comfortable beds you'll never want to get out of. At Hardwick Hall Hotel weddings are our speciality. From tasteful and traditional to unique and original, gorgeous reception rooms, quirky hotel interiors, beautiful boutique style bedrooms and unique surroundings, our country house hotel in Sedgefield County Durham is the perfect setting for all your family celebrations. Whether your visit to the North East is for business or pleasure; traditional attentive service, beautiful decor and good living will always be part of Best Western Plus Hardwick Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sedgefield
Best Western Durham
Sedgefield Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel Sedgefield, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing