We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday stroll”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hardwick Park

Hardwick Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hardwick Park is a country park with a difference. Now a Visit England accredited attraction, it has survived since the 1750s when its then owner, John Burdon, created a sprawling ornamental park. Today, the remains of some of the original buildings he created can be seen throughout the park, which suggest the area has a richer story to tell. Hardwick Park is a great place to spend the day. Stroll through the park and admire the natural beauty of the lake, woodland and wildlife. The visitor centre also has excellent facilities including an interactive display, education room, cafe and toilets.Throughout the year there are a variety of events, activities, walks and workshops for all to enjoy.
Aldbrough St John
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday stroll”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Its a beautiful well laid out park with lots of wide open spaces and woodland walks, lakes, ruined castles follys. Play area is bit restricted and not much there.
There are loads of water fowl, swans geese ducks and even a heron. Definatlley go back

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicklecheffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    105
    12
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Blaydon on Tyne
Level Contributor
207 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gen For A Family Day Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This park maybe well known to those living in the local area but to any one else, its a hidden gem. There are plenty of walks, open spaces and trails to explore, I'm sure that on our next visit we'll notice something that we missed this time!,

We could not believe the number of ducks and just how much they are used to visitors getting quite close. You'll see a lot of visitors strolling around with their camera's because there are just so many place to take good photographs.

The only real negative is that some of the ponds and lake have been left for far too long and have started to become overcome with algae which is removing the oxygen from the water.

That said, definitely worth a visit and if you forget your picnic, there's always the park cafe which is a cut above the norm we've experienced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlaydonBlunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“a pleasant place for a stroll in the sun.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lovely place with a grand lake and lots of birdlife. Nice walks and plenty of seats to relax. Nice wooded area with picnic benches and lots of wildlife. We were there for a wedding but ive also been there for a dog show which was a good day out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank durhamlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great family walks - shame about fee for parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Lovely dog walks and picturesque however the fee for parking is a bit steep when you are only going for a walk. I understand the upkeep of the park needs to be maintained however £1 is in my opinion enough to pay to park - you can walk many places for free and it has put us off a few times

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank jocka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Level Contributor
179 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“relaxing place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

we took our gandson for a stroll around the park, Young Jake emjoyed his first excursion their but he slept most of the way. he is only seven months old.
the cafe was very nice and not overly expensive.
i dont agree with paying £3 to park for more than two hours but thats the way of the world these days.
the park is enjoyable to wlak round, only small but very well looked after, perhaps those car park charges aint so ad after all.
i do like the way a lot of the land is kept for the wildlife and we saw lots of birds etc.
we shall go again when Jake is a bit older.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pickybeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hardwick Park also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
 
Bishop Auckland, County Durham
 

Been to Hardwick Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing