We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place for a day out.”
Review of Hardwick Park

Hardwick Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hardwick Park is a country park with a difference. Now a Visit England accredited attraction, it has survived since the 1750s when its then owner, John Burdon, created a sprawling ornamental park. Today, the remains of some of the original buildings he created can be seen throughout the park, which suggest the area has a richer story to tell. Hardwick Park is a great place to spend the day. Stroll through the park and admire the natural beauty of the lake, woodland and wildlife. The visitor centre also has excellent facilities including an interactive display, education room, cafe and toilets.Throughout the year there are a variety of events, activities, walks and workshops for all to enjoy.
Seaham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a day out.”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

You can spend all day here, they have a great outdoor play area and also fab indoor play areas for the kids. The displays are always lovely but today our food was cold - Yuk ! Known locally as Highly Priced ! so I have been told.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    107
    12
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely clean park”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Great relaxing place to have a stroll with the dog (must be on a lead)
Lovely views and wildlife, a great place to take the camera

Never been in the coffee shop or visitors centre although appears to be very clean and more importantly OPEN everytime I've been! (an important factor that sadly many of the local parks with "facilities" fail to deliver on)

Helpful?
Thank BigMidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Walk in the rain.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We decided the week after xmas we needed to stretch our legs, we vivited Hardwick Park, unfortunately when we arrived it was pouring down. However that did not stop us walking around the lake and it was lovely, kept very clean and tidy. We decided to visit the little coffee shop and were really pleased to see they were serving hot soup and sandwhiches. We both had soup which was sweet potato and butternut squash it was one of the best soups we had both had. We had sandwhich to go with it and again lovely, value for money was very good, will definitely be re-visiting very soon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank judy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“One of our favourite places”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Each visit starts with a coffee and one of the homemade cakes or scones!! The visit then continues with a lovely walk around the lake and amongst the trees. The ducks always love to be fed and follow you like the Pied Piper!! Plenty of other wildlife to be seen and photographed. Don't forget a £2 car parking charge - otherwise free entry.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant for family”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Brilliant for familiesas there is plenty to do. The kids park is good for the little ones, theres statues to look at (or climb on for kids). there are plenty of animals about, theres a nature walk, picnic fields, an info centre, a small cafe which serves a reasonable amount of food etc etc. The park used to be free, however is now pay for parking. This is a huge down fall of the park. Last time I went there were a few people with tickets on their cars as they were unaware it had changed to pay and display. Apart from that it is excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank misskmjames87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hardwick Park also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
 
Bishop Auckland, County Durham
 

Been to Hardwick Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing