We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I've ever stayed in...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedgefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hardwick Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel I've ever stayed in...”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I booked a night at the Hardwick Arms as a surprise for my partner for our anniversary - and what a hotel! I had some special requests which I had rang ahead for and the staff went out of their way to exceed our expectations!

We spoke to some locals who raved about the hotel and they couldn't be more proud to have such a fantastic hotel in their village! We could see why! The room, the food and the building were stunning and the staff were amazing - they made us feel like we were the only guests in the hotel.

I couldn't recommend this enough - even if you live in Sedgefield, book a night at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elainetheviolinist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    39
    19
    14
    21
See reviews for
33
75
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had a lovely weekend and enjoyed staying in this hotel. We were shown to room by manager. Room was very tastefully decorated and had tea, coffee and bottled water. Bathroom was very clean and had nice fluffly towels. Water was extremely hot but manager had already warned us to be careful. We had a meal in the restaurant the first night, It was really nice as was the excellent breakfast with good quality bacon and sausages. We had a curry in the indian restaurant next door which we also really enjoyed. Would definatley recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz19611963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2011

From start to finish a great weekend. From having the door opened for us to leaving. The staff were so welcome and friendly- they could not have done anything more to make us feel at home. We were shown to our rooms and shown how everything worked and were everything was. There was a plentiful supply of tea,coffee,etc. there was great toiletries in the bathroom and the towels were very white,soft and fluffy. Fantastic cotton bedding and super comfy beds. The room was extremely quiet. The attention to detail was impressive as was the decor. Room a great size as was the ensuite bathroom. From the waiters/waitress right up to the owners everyone was polite and keen to please. Dinner in the restaurant and breakfast were tasty, plentiful and well presented. Bar area relaxing. Prices good.Thank you for a great weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2011

All-round enjoyable experience. Would recommend the restaurant and hotel bar. Most pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reme121643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Warmly greeted on arrival. shown to our rooms. the hotel has a general warm atmosphere from the manager, staff and decor of the hotel. the rooms were warm,very clean,well equipped tea making facilities, toiletries. the bathroom was immaculate and towels fluffy and very white. beds very comfortable with lovely white linen. restaurant was friendly and food was excellent. well done guys and thanks for a great weekend

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badsassendorf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We had a lovely weekend and enjoyed every minute . Starting with a warm, almost personal welcome followed by a lovely meal in the cozy restaurant and a good sleep in a very well decorated and clean room. Had a full English breakfast this morning. We will come back !

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeed by a very pleasant member of staff who after booking us in showed us to our room and was very helpful in answering any questions we had. Room very tidy spacious and clean as well as bathroom. There was a function on this night which we were told about when booking so wasnt a problem. We ate at a pub nearby which was very nice. After having a few drinks in the village we returned to our room and although the function was in full swing on closing our hotel door you could not here the party and were not disturbed. The breakfast was also very nice as well as the coffee. All in all would recommend and would certainly visit again and try the food at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickc7893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
0.8 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection
8.7 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Sedgefield
Travelodge Sedgefield
#5 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#13 of 19 in Durham
218 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,044 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton on Tees/Hartlepool Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton on Tees/Har...
#1 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hardwick Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hardwick Arms Hotel

Property: Hardwick Arms Hotel
Address: 1 North End, Sedgefield, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Number of rooms: 286
Also Known As:
Hardwick Arms Hotel Sedgefield, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing