We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedgefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hardwick Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel on monday night. We arrived and were taken to our room by the very helpful owner. The room was beautiful, obviously alot of care, attention and money has been put unto this business.
After settling in, we decided to go down and have a meal in the restaurant. We both had a main and a dessert. The whole meal was gorgeous!. Fresh vegetables, tender meat and attention to detail.
I had a lovely nights sleep. The bed was super comfy!
The breakfast was all freshly cooked and very tasty!
We would definately recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahLegender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    39
    19
    14
    21
See reviews for
33
75
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Everyone at the Hardwick Arms deserves to do well. From start to finish everything was perfect. If there was a problem it was dealt with straight away. We ate in the restaurant and the food was great.
Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinksMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Following our Groupon booking last week my wife and our two children thought we would visit the Hardwick Arms to experience the great reviews we had read about, prior to my wife and staying at the hotel at some point in the near future. We visited the restauraunt for Sunday lunch on 9th October 2011.We were also very impressed with the visit for many reasons. Firsty we were greeted by a very friendly gentleman who took our order prior to being shown to our table. We thought the decor in the restaurant was very appealing to the eye. I have always loved restaurants which have real linen on the tables, which this had. The linen was immaculatly clean and crisp and it was noticed that after every cover the linen was changed. This is so different to a lot of establishments who opt to have polished and sticky uncovered surfaces. The food arrived which was excellent. Between us we had a selection of Sunday roasts which were very tasty. The platter of vegetables was delicious and obviously freshly cooked. This is as opposed to warmed up and soggy stodge which we have experienced in some restaurants. I had the lamb and when i requested the mint sauce i was initially told by the waitress that they had ran out of this. I noticed that the gentleman who initially greeted us overheard this and was amazed when i became aware that he had sent someone out to purchase some more. How fantastic was that!! We are now really looking forward to our overnight stay where we will definitely be dining in the same restaurant. I am confident that the accomodation will be of the same standard.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We are local to Sedgefield, there are a few Restaurants in the village but The new revamped Hardwick Arms has by far the most welcoming warm and relaxed atmosphere and to top it all very good food ! The owner Wayne seems to have brought a little bit of class to Sedgefield
Well done to the owners and staff of The Hardwick Arms .

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SAYERS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

After arriving early at the hotel, as we were attending a wedding. We were greeted by one of the owners, who promptly checked the room was ready. He then showed us to our room. He explained where everything was and how it all worked. The room was stunning, very clean and well equipped with everything you need. We attended the wedding and on arriving back at the hotel ask for a taxi to be called to take us a mile or so, to the reception. The owner would here none of it and had us driven to the wedding reception. At the end of the evening we retired to the room. It was very comfortable and quiet. In the morning the shower etc all worked as wall as it looked. The breakfast was excellent and well presented and even the checkout was pleasant and easy. If you are looking for a great place to stay where you really feel like a guest, not a customer then this is the place for you. We will certainly be making this hotel a regular stop when we head north.

Room Tip: room 1 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This restaurant is easily the best in Sedgefield. I have dined here several times with family and friends, and the starters - I usually have the mussels, and the mains - often the pork medallions, sometimes the venison - are as flavoursome and carefully prepared as their presentation is attractive. In fact, I remember when my favourite restaurant (in London) closed down I was distraught, but have since luckily discovered that the Hardwick Arms is the only other place I've been since in that can match it for the (nearly) unique and exquisite flavour of its sauces. The prices - though largely all well on the way to twenty pounds for a main - are justified by the quality of food.
The dining area and bar area (open to diners only) is extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated and lit, and the staff have excellent and friendly customer service (a skill which, one discovers by dining in other restaurants, seems unusually hard to master for some). A wider range of real ales and imported (not UK simulated) lagers would make the bar more varied. I heartily recommend this restaurant and hope that Sedgefielders appreciate what they have here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrHickory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed here for one night with friends and can't praise this hotel enough. The rooms are immaculate and decorated to a very high standard as is the rest if the hotel. Breakfast was lovely, the owner (Wayne) is very welcoming and friendly and can't do enough for you. Already planning another stay and a visit to the restaurant, would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zzxcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
0.8 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection
8.7 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Sedgefield
Travelodge Sedgefield
#5 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#13 of 19 in Durham
220 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,046 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hardwick Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hardwick Arms Hotel

Property: Hardwick Arms Hotel
Address: 1 North End, Sedgefield, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Number of rooms: 286
Also Known As:
Hardwick Arms Hotel Sedgefield, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing