We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Algonquin Motel

Algonquin Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algonquin Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South River
Mississauga
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

A long overdue review of this. Stayed there for two nights for a event that y was going at the nearby Chocpaw. I assumed that this was going to be not a good two nights and was pleasantly surprised by the motel. The check in & check out was prompt and courteous. The rooms were a big surprise - nice, clean, roomy, good beds and bathroom. The breakfast coupons for a near by restaurant were worth it. The grounds were clean as well. Would recommend this motel to my friends and family

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 1 and it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatelSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul T, Owner at Algonquin Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very very much PatelSR :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
13
16
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We arrived very late, retrieved the key from the office, and were awed by the feel of the place. From the bikes on the roof, to the painted rainbow above the office door, and groovy glass beads, plus beautiful murals inside the room. We stared at a grizzly bear from our bed, and there was a black bear somewhere else in the room. Most important the beds and mattresses were excellent, and we had a great night of sleep. This is a place I would glady return to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobcatnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul T, Owner at Algonquin Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very very much Bobcatnorth :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

i stayed in room no 6 and it was nice jacuzi and fire place in it.The nice view of lake...omg...awsm experience...will come again such a nice place...good service

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rushit g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul T, Owner at Algonquin Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very very much Rushit G :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmertown
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Links that don't work. No pictures of rooms. Are you right on a snowmobile trail? How about a map? What's in the area? Rates? Less 'cool' talk and more information. Thanks.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank regboulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul T, Manager at Algonquin Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hi Dear,
Thank you very very much for let us know about links and other improvement about our website
we are working to get better
without our customers help we really cannot get it better
thanks again
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Love this place. The management is amazing and we always feel like we are well taken care of. Stayed twice and a third time this coming week. The walls murals are different in every room and may be weird but gives it a certain character you aren't about to find anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Good value, convenient, clean, good customer service: what's not to like? Stayed here twice, for three nights each time. Our hosts in the area were leery of the place, both because of its unusual decor and new, untested ownership/management. It was fine. Spare, simple, plain, dated, few amenities, and the weirdest wall art & exterior office decor you'll ever see. It appears that the previous review about cleanliness was a previous management. I'll be back, both because it's less expensive than the alternatives and because it's close to my work there (the alternative is an extra hour each way, each day!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

From the first smile of your front desk employee ( Owner) to the final smile of your front desk employee (Owner), this was the perfect stay. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The front desk staff both PM and AM were friendly, helpful and a joy to converse with. Although this is not one of the newest examples of Algonquin Motel, it is a refreshing example of what originally brought us to be repeat customers of your brand.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhaveshkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South River
8.8 mi away
Northridge Inn & Resort
Northridge Inn & Resort
#1 of 1 in Sundridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
19.7 mi away
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
#1 of 2 in Magnetawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
10.1 mi away
Warbler's Roost Country Inn
Warbler's Roost Country Inn
#1 of 2 in South River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Algonquin Cottage Outpost and the Algonquin Log Cabin
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Motel

Property: Algonquin Motel
Address: 81N Highway 11 | halfway between Hunstville and North Bay, South River, Ontario P0A 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > South River
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Algonquin Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A groovy funky Motel! Summer or Winter, we are at the heart of your next outdoor adventure. Our rooms are very well appointed and extremely well maintained. Your comfort is our first concern. Come and enjoy the best of the 'Great North Woods' from your room with us. We know all the spots to see, even the ones that know one else will tell you about...... Yup...... even there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Algonquin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Motel & Restaurant Hotel South River
Algonquin Motel And Restaurant
Algonquin Hotel Park
Algonquin Motel South River, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing