We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other than the food and crisp sheets, disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northridge Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundridge
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Other than the food and crisp sheets, disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

We attended a wedding at the resort, and was a little taken back by the condition of the room, considering the cost per night. Very dated wallpaper and carpeting, bathroon clean, but tiny. The window to the dock was too dirty to get a real view. The public areas too, were well worn, nothing to write home about.

The dinner was very good, the presentation was very impressive. The wait staff were efficient.

We didn't get much time to enjoy the grounds (beach, pool etc), so I can't comment on those.

I found the owners to be quiet, not warm and fuzzy and very difficult to contact, at the resort, on the phone and by e-mail. We unfortunately left some important items in our room, and were promised they would be put in the next days courier (COD), and after 48 hours of calling, leaving messages and e-mail, I found out they were too busy to do so. I drove over 2 hours to reclaim, and didn't so much as get an apology.

  • Liked — Food and linen
  • Disliked — decor and lack of return phone calls, or reception.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OntarioTravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    38
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
60
88
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

After researching the reviews, my wife and I expected to find an upscale resort at the Northridge Inn & Spa. Instead we found an incredibly nice staff (especially the owners) on nice grounds but with a dated physical structure.

The rooms at the Inn were musty smelling with faded carpet and peeling wallpaper in the bathrooms. Given the cost and the reviews, I was quite disappointed. The word "Spa" should definitely be removed from the name (no spa services, no gym, no concierge, no room service, the only real amenity is an outdoor pool).

The food and service do live up to the billing. However, if you stay longer than a few nights then you will quickly tire of the menu choices (the evening kitchen is on a 2 or 3 day meal plan but the desserts and breakfasts change much less frequently).

  • Liked — Owners
  • Disliked — Room quality
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueBear64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

What a fantastic place and resort!!

I'd booked Northrige Inn as part of our honeymoon in Canada and it didn't half deliver as per it's reviews on trip advisor!

This place does not promise to be 5 star resort and in terms of decor etc, it is not. My only one criticism is it could maybe do with a lick of paint. However, for what a plush resort may have in immaterial decoration, this place delivers so much more in terms of service, pure tranquillity and delicious food!

We stayed for three nights and loved our time. Brenda, Michael and Adrian are a wonderful family and made us feel at home from the minute we arrived. (Actually, for months beforehand booking our package and getting directions from Toronto was excellent service too.) Our bedroom was huge with two double beds and a nice bathroom. We has the meal package and the breakfast and dinner was lovely, real hearty yet good quality food. It’s worth a trip to the bistro for lunch in Sunridge (recommended by Brenda), it’s a great little eatery.

Getting to the resort by any other means but car might be tricky but when you get there - wow. Tennis court, a tremendous DVD collection, nice bar/restaurant, hot tub, beach, long pier to the lake (great for beers at sunset), kayaks, bikes and loads more - a great all round package.

At a time when hotels like retail stores are looking, smelling and delivering the same bog-standard service wherever you go in the world, this place is a real gem in delivering genuine and personable service - with good facilities etc. A great middle bit between Toronto and Niagara for what was an amazing honeymoon. The Sheraton in TO was impressive, but this wiped the floor with it in reality – not bad from a family run resort!

Highly recommended - I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!!

  • Liked — Exceptional servive
  • Disliked — Quality of decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern ontario
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

Peaceful and tranquile stay at the Northridge Inn....
The cleanliness of the Inn and friendliness of the Innkeepers, Michael, Brenda & their son, Adrian made for a great getaway. The Pasta and Sunday buffet were our favourite meals with a lovely quality of dessert choices that ended our dinners with a special note.
The natural beauty of the surrounding lake and soft sandy beach area at sunset were extremely beautiful.
We would definitely recommend it to those wishing for a nice, quiet and picturesque getaway....and Im sure that in the fall the colours will be glorious.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and beach
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank northerntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

My Husband & I just returned from our second stay at the Northridge Inn. As before the hospitality & the atmosphere were beyond words. We were astounded by the service, the friendliness and the commitment of satisfaction from Brenda & Michael. The Northridge Inn comes highly recommended, it has the beauty of the country and the atmosphere of home. The meals are wonderful porpotioned and the staff are very willing to please.

The breathtaking views of the grounds are not justified by pictures, it's something that has to be experienced. Our last night there we were lulled to sleep by the breathtaking sounds of the rustling of the leaves, and the waves crashing against the sandy shores.

Brenda & Michael are very hands on hosts, and you couldn't ask for a better get away. Packages are very well priced and once again we cannot stress enough, to experience this Inn for yourself. A little piece of Heaven can be found at the NORTHRIDGE INN.

Scott & Renee Kitchin

  • Liked — The Astounding friendliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Saphyre_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

Enjoyed ur stay at the Northridge. This is about an average 3* hotel\inn. The rooms are a little dated and tired but kept clean. There is only 1 sink in the bathroom area. Carpets are tired. It is a great place to chill out & the food is 4.5 star standard (great Elk, Venison etc.). Not much to do in the area though and after 3 days we were glad to move on. Probably a nice place to stay in Autumn (Fall) & just cruise around.

Trevor & Lusia. London UK.

  • Liked — Very good food
  • Disliked — Tired rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Capt_Duckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

Rooms: We stayed in a cabin. It was sufficiently large, but was in dire need of a update. The carpet was very old and really needed to be changed. The washroom had mildew on the wall tiles around the bath. There was a nice jacuzzi tub, but mildew was present around the base of the outside of the tub. We were invited to another cabin and found they had the same problem. The shower in the washroom also had very little pressure. The whole cabin was musty our whole trip despite opening the windows day and night. The beds were comfortable, but again in dire need of attention. The frames on all three beds were partially broken.

Food: Only ate at the restaurant once. It was a buffet and was just ok. It was $35.00/person. They had chicken ,beef and salmon. Beef and salmon were overcooked. The desserts were delicious. There were 2 large groups at the resort when we were there so that is probably the reason for the buffet.

Property: FYI, definition of resort changes once you get north of Hunstville. Resorts north of Huntsville are much more rustic. The property was nice. They had a nice beach and it was sandy and shallow, great for kids. They had a few kayaks and a couple of canoes. It is a large lake, but has no little inlets or islands so canoeing is done along the shore, somewhat scenic, but not terribly interesting. Being a large, deep lake it is not advised to go out in the watercrafts if it is windy. They have a outdoor pool that was warm, but not super clean. The water was clear, but lots of bugs around the inside rim of the pool. . There was a tennis court and I saw lots of people playing. My kids enjoyed chasing frogs and chipmunks are plentiful and friendly.

If you are interested in star gazing this is a great place. We all went out on the dock/pier and enjoyed the clear sky and view of all the stars.

Overall i would not return. The resort really needs a re-vamp.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DyeKap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sundridge
8.8 mi away
Algonquin Motel
Algonquin Motel
#1 of 1 in South River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
24.0 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#9 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
15.6 mi away
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
#1 of 2 in Magnetawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Arrowhead Inn
Arrowhead Inn
#11 of 22 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
17.9 mi away
Algonquin Cottage Outpost and the Algonquin Log Cabin
81.1 mi away
Carriage Ridge Resort
Carriage Ridge Resort
#10 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northridge Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northridge Inn & Resort

Property: Northridge Inn & Resort
Address: 712 Lake Bernard Rd S | Ontario, Sundridge, Ontario P0A 1Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sundridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northridge Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate lakefront Ontario resort just 2.5 Hours north of Toronto. Specializing in weddings and four season getaways. Exceptional dining and lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Northridge Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northridge Inn And Resort
Northridge Hotel Sundridge
Northridge Hotel Muskoka
Northridge Resort Muskoka
Northridge Inn & Resort Sundridge, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing