We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lake perch the old fashioned way”
Review of Knechtel Foods

Knechtel Foods
Ranked #15 of 40 Restaurants in Port Dover
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Lake perch the old fashioned way”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit back to Port Dover in 35 years. Was a very young boy last time fishing with my dad. It was tough knowing which place was best to get fish and chips. The service was pleasant and efficient and the young lady serving helpful and recommended the fresh perch as her favourite. Very nice serving size for the snack meal. Was more than enough for lunch. The batter was an old fashioned ontario style rather than a light tempura. It was such a beautiful warm September day and sitting out on the beach front tables was enjoyable. Recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philipbneqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    52
    24
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
208 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fish - YUM”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great place to get some haddock, pickerel or perch! French fries were good too. I had a milkshake - more milk than ice cream, which made it easier to sip. They are a little overwhelmed on Friday the 13th, but every order gets filled. It was hot, and they have every condiment available. Love the old Coca-cola signs everywhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSchu's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Freshwater Fish done right!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Knechtel's is a local favourite, so be prepared to stand in line for a few minutes. The crowd is après beach, so no need to dress up. This is a diner, so expect deep fried food. The perch and pickerel is out of this world good! We ordered the Dover combo--comes with perch, pickerel, fries and salad bar, but if I were to go again, I'd order the fish platter--fish only. The fries are OK, the salad bar isn't good, except for the dilled cucumber salad--just skip all that and go for the fish. Price is very reasonable. Our kids don't like fish, so they ordered hamburgers, which were also excellent. The service was great--as would be expected in this great little town. We will definitely go to Knechtel's again--I highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohsweken, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Delicious Fish & Chips!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I were here last week, looking for some good fish and chips. Love the way the restaurant is set up. Nice wooden tables and lots of character. The server was very attentive and quick to take care of us. I ordered the 2 piece haddock & chips. Once our order was placed, we were told to help ourselves to the all-you-can-eat salad bar. It's not big like most, but the salads are home made and very fresh. Love the cucumber salad, and the pickle tray.The food came up quick, and was very hot. Some of the tastiest haddock I have had in some time. We will most definitely be returning again real soon. It doesn't hurt that the beach is right there, either!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish and Chips mmmmm”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great fish and chips! Close the the lake and you can eat outside a picnic tables provided.Too bad about all the styrofoam waste though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cyclists10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knechtel Foods also viewed

Port Dover, Norfolk County
 
Port Dover, Norfolk County
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 
Port Dover, Norfolk County
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 

Been to Knechtel Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing