We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dover House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Port Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Dover House. From the moment I contacted Jane via email she was helpful and friendly. She welcomed us into her home as if we were longtime friends or family. Her home is beautiful and tastefully decorated and our room was great. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious with coffee and fresh fruit available early for those who are up and around. We had a great visit with Jane over our breakfast and she was very helpful providing us with maps and other local information. We will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamarush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Dover House was an excellent experience. The property was beautiful and very peaceful. Jane was awesome and a very gracious host. Very helpful on where to go and great places to eat. We had the added pleasure of her mom joining us for breakfast Sat. morning. The house was extremely well decorated with pictures and wall hangings. We stayed in the blue room which was very spacious and comfortable. We will definitely be going back and would recommend Dover House to all our friends.

Room Tip: Master Bed Room has a Bay window with a great view and the Blue Room is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailormanGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Dover House B&B is a wonderful oasis in picturesque Port Dover, a town on Lake Erie. We booked the suite on the main floor with the private bath. It was a very comfortable room (great bedding!) with a lovely view of the gardens at the B&B. Our breakfasts both days were superb (thanks Jane!) and we enjoyed meeting interesting guests each day. We'd go back anytime we need to stay anywhere in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Jane was very prompt and efficient with responding vis emails, I contacted three other B & B's and she was the only one whom responded - so she got my business. She is very friendly and accommodating, she went the extra mile in reserving me a table at the local Bistro ( as during theater season reservations are reccommended). Stayed ground floor double, the set-up is a little unusual, as private bathroom is not ensuite, and you are close to the kitchen/dining room. The bed was very comfortable & sheets were wonderful. The grounds were beautiful and location was very quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikeorhike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We've been to Port Dover before, we didn't stay over so wanted to explore a little more. We found the Dover House B&B on booking.com and thought the prices were very reasonable.

We booked, Jane contacted us by email to confirm arrangements which was a nice touch. We were heading to the beach for the day and were able to park up right outside the B&B.

We checked in around 4.30 or so: Jane invited us to the patio for cocktails (we had our own wine). We were joined by several of Jane's friends - it was a lovely couple of hours. Jane has done a fabulous job of making the place feel cosy yet it's spotless and pristine. The gardens are tranquil and the patio is great.

We stayed in the Blue room - very comfy bed; pity it was so hot (not really) there's a fireplace in there we simply did not need but would be welcome in the cooler shoulder seasons.

And breakfast... wow. Muesli, fruit, Jane's home baked fruity loaf and a frittata made with cheese - and great coffee. What's not to like!

Room Tip: for couples choose the Blue room (only three rooms in the B&B this one is the best for couples)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you are looking for a Bed and Breakfast in Port Dover the Dover House B7B is the one to go to. Jane the host is a warm and wonderful person. She is a very welcoming host who makes you feel like part of the family! The home is comfortable and clean...newly renovated. Our beds were very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Jane's location is great an easy walk to down town for the local Port Dover perch dinner. Highly recommend you check this B&B out.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master bedroom on the main floor was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate789456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dover House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dover House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 17 Morgan St, Port Dover, Ontario N0A 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Norfolk County > Port Dover
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Port Dover
Price Range: $113 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming lakeside home in luxe cottage décor for your home away from home. Three beautiful bedrooms await you - two full sized baths (Master Guestroom has private bath), and a delicious 3-course breakfast. Open 7 days/week from June 1 - October 15 and every weekend year round or phone for special arrangements during the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dover House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover House Bed And Breakfast Port Dover, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing