We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere great....food and service average”
Review of Schofields Bistro

Schofields Bistro
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Port Dover
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Since 2011, Schofields has offered Casual Gourmet with a Norfolk Flavour. A recently renovated historical space, art deco inspired with local art work, hardwood floors and a postcard view of downtown Port Dover bring a warm ambiance only matced by the warth of service.
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Atmosphere great....food and service average”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have been there one time previously this year but I wanted to give them a fair chance before reviewing. The first experience was so so (very average food and service). Anyway, the atmosphere is great. It is right on Main Street near the Port Dover Lighthouse where we were headed to later that evening. The owners and staff are trying hard and the server did her best. However, one of the 7 meals was really late (it was given to someone else apparently) so that was a major issue with the rest of us chowing away (no point in letting the rest of us us have our food go cold). I suggest you go in without high expectations.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    40
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Here are some facts:
Ordered t-bone 12 oz - recieved 8 oz new york steak
Ordered medium - recieved 1 well done and 2 rare
Lamb was overcooked and dry
Instead of baked potato i recieved mashed. The chef who is the owner obviously doesnt know how to cook. Avoid this place as u'll eat whatever the "chef" will fill like making for a premium price of what was ordered and convience u that salmon is another type of lamb. U may enjoy the romantic ambience of turning off the lights while u are having a dinner to rush u out of the restaurant ... The worst experience I had in port dover

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Makosh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
449 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Many times we go for a nice drive to Port Dover and we generally have a snack or a meal there. After looking at Tripadvisor we decided to go to a restaurant with a good rating but they were closed. And so we decided to just go for a walk and see what we can find when we came across Schofield’s Bistro.

The place looked really rusty and homey so we did not know what to expect. But we always love to try someplace new and different and we are glad we did. I must say that I had walked by the place over the past few weeks many times and never went in.

Our server Lisa warmly greeted us and let us sit right next to the window. On Tripadvisor it talked about the wonderful and delicious Sunday special… the Prime Rib. We both ordered it and I must say that it was one of the best Prime Rib that I had. It was tender and juicy and delicious. The vegetables were also to our liking as they were prepared just right, not to hard and definitely not to soggy.

We enjoyed our meal so much that we stayed for desert, deep dish apple pie and coffee. I know one thing we will be back again and try some of their other specials.

http://schofieldsbistro.com/

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AcapulcoFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sunday night prime beef..”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

we had a great dining experience.. the wine was great, the prime beef was so tender, The service was good. Cant wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank destination13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Large Lunch”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We just had lunch at Schofield's, a few people had recommended it to us and it was good. Large, airy restaurant with large, appetizing selections.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schofields Bistro also viewed

Port Dover, Norfolk County
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 
Port Dover, Norfolk County
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 

Been to Schofields Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing