We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Davids Restaurant

Davids Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Port Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: An upscale and contemporary dining room and lounge featuring local, seasonal fare in unique and freshly prepared ways. All items prepared from scratch from bread to pasta, dressings and sauces. Three separate rooms for private functions two with gas fireplaces all over looking the lake. The Double Olive Lounge features relaxed lounge seating, its own night time tapas menu, a detailed martini list and weekend live entertainment. Private garden and lawn is a great location for weddings followed by a fabulous evening in the restaurant. Open year round with adjusted hours in the winter months. Unique weekly and seasonal promotions - for more about David's Restaurant visit our website. All of this accompanied by a full service day spa from the walk out ground level on the lake side. Spa features a salt water infinity pool, dry sauna, men's and ladies' change/locker rooms, manicure, pedicure, relaxation and RMT massage service. For more about Elements Day Spa visit our website
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Terrible restaurant-thought it would be good based on the lakefront and building ambience. Was I wrong. They initially couldnt find my reservation. And when I asked for well-done, it was bright red rare all through. Very seldom saw the young waiter-had to wait and wait. I also ordered fries and it wasnt until half way through the meal that the waiter came down and told
me they forgot them-did I want them now as a side. They did offer free dessert for the screw-ups, but by that time I just wanted to get out of there. The attitude of the waiters was very removed-could care less. The were fast when they came to pick up the payment.

For a restaurant that has a very limited menu and very small portions, unless you want to just
give money away for overpriced meals and service (or lack of), I would definitely recommend staying away from this place. It's terrible!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    46
    19
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food, view= A true hidden gem in Southern Ontario”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been to Davids a few times in the past year. It is THE total dining experience -- exceptional service,view, atmosphere and food/drink. The prices are extremely reasonable given the top notch quality of the food. We have dined there during the day for lunch- the brie burger is maybe the best burger I have ever had . Additionally, the beet salad is terrific. The perch sushi appetizer was also beyond belief. Basically, we have enjoyed anything that we have tried.. The new menu is innovative and should appeal to a number of different tastes. The daytime server , Zanella, is always a highlight and we look forward to her service as much as the food.
More people need to know about this place. The atmosphere is classy yet very comfortable. And it is 100% worth the drive from the city. We attended a nighttime function in the upstairs "Double Olive" bar as well and the attention to detail and quality was evident there as well. A total dining experience. We will continue to return!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tommy12345tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had not been to David's in over a year and we were pleasantly surprised with our experience. The service was perfect... attentive but not rushed. The new menu is a nice change offering quite a varied selection which is sure to please everyone. Our table enjoyed the surf and turf, the beef tenderloin and two of us had the perch and fries with a delicious dip. We were all very happy with our meals. We found the prices to be more reasonable than they have been in previous years. We will definitely not wait another year before returning!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port dover
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“food not so great now”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

hubby and i had couple drinks and appetizers yesterday in the Double Olive , upstairs, the quality of their food has gone dowhhill. Christine our waitress was great, but the lobster/scallop in philyo tasted like a Presedent's choice appetizer, and the burger and fries , well the Norfolk Tavern does better

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank animallooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great View with Great Food”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The food is great. I had the beet salad appetizer and salman for my main course.....outstandingThe view is spectacular, be sure to reserve a table by the window. After dinner go upstairs to the Double Ovive Lounge and enjoy the entertainment. Not sure of the Singers name last time we were there but she was from from the Stoney Creek area. It was a very enjoyable evening. Good food, good entertainment with good friends. Where ever you are from it is worth the drive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davids Restaurant also viewed

Port Dover, Norfolk County
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 

Been to Davids Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing