We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!”
Review of Edgewater Restaurant - CLOSED

Edgewater Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Canadian
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We've been cottage owners on Manitoulin for over 20 years and no one had ever even suggested the Edgewater until the new management took over this summer. We made the half hour drive last night, and are sure to do it again! The food was great, and the staff was very pleasant in spite of being a bit overwhelmed by the crowd. Nice enough atmosphere inside, but next time we'll make reservations and sit outside on the deck.

From what I've learned, the new management has made it a totally different experience, so TripAdvisor reviews prior to May 2012 are really not relevant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheguiandah, ON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Farewell Dinner - Excellent”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Wonderful dinner to Bon Voyage our colleague/friend. First time I've eaten there in years and I'm so impressed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maanii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food but slow service”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice waterfront patie, very pleasant staff, excellent food, but SLOOOOOW service.

Take a book to read, no kidding.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sami I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great north channel view, pricey for the quality of food”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We sat on the patio under an umbrella in the rain watching the swing bridge open to the north channel boats. The atmosphere can't be beat. We ordered beer, Caesar salad, lamb chops, prime rib and apple pie made by the waitress's mom. The supposed to be medium rare lamb were blue and chewy. The salad dressing was not house made. The prime rib was quite good. The bill came to $85 for 2 including tips was a bit pricey.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dogontheno11bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food On The Water”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

After a great day exploring the island by motorcycle, we enjoyed a great meal on the patio overlooking the marina. The food was excellent. The service was great. Nice and informal atmosphere. We didn't see the prices or the final bill ( our friends took care of that ), but assume it was reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgewater Restaurant also viewed

Little Current, Manitoulin Island
Little Current, Manitoulin Island
 
Little Current, Manitoulin Island
Little Current, Manitoulin Island
 
Little Current, Manitoulin Island
Little Current, Manitoulin Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing