We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Family vacation ”
Review of The Hawberry Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hawberry Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Certificate of Excellence
North Bay
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Family vacation ”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this awesome motel on our first visit to Manitoulin Island. We booked a family room, and it was clean, and comfortable. Beds were comfortable, towels were great, plenty of soap provided! Both sides of our family room had air conditioning, fridges and T.V's as well as a microwave on one side. The owner was quite helpful with areas to see. He told us where to go to get the most beautiful view we've ever seen. It's right near grocery stores, gas, hospital and drug store. Just a short distance to the beautiful waterfront area, and swing bridge. Staying at the Hawberry Motel added to our amazing vacation to little Current, and we will be spreading the word back in North Bay! Highly recommended and we will be back! Thanks so much!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPrincessCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter g, Owner at The Hawberry Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much, were happy to help and really glad you had great time on island. Hope to see you all again in future.

Thank you,
Peter and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    47
    30
    4
    8
See reviews for
37
38
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2014

As a professional engineer involved in construction projects across Ontario I stay in a lot of motels and have stayed many times at the Hawberry over the past year. The rooms are always extremely clean, the owners/hosts-a young couple- are very personable and friendly. I would strongly recommend the Hawberry.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter g, Owner at The Hawberry Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for great review. We try our best to get compliments like this but end of the day trying is the best we can do, rest is on you.

Thank you
Peter and stuff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Hawberry is adequate. No more. No less. We were passing through Manitoulin Island and just needed a place to sleep and it filled the bill nicely for that.

This is a motor inn. You pull your car up to the door, stay for the night, nothing more. Zero frills. No coffee in the lobby. (Actually, there's no lobby.) No breakfast. No morning newspaper.

If you want fancy, keep looking. If you want inexpensive, the Hawberry should suffice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OnTheRoadAgain1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter g, Owner at The Hawberry Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Hello,

We thank you for your stay at Hawberry Motel.

Thank you,
Peter and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

this was a nice, clean place in Little Current. It was a great place to start off on day trips on our motorcycles....the Island has lots of adventures and good roads. The only thing that wasn't good was Little CUrrent closes up at 7:00 p.m. and there was not much night life there...

Room Tip: nice clean place to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank debrawmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter g, Owner at The Hawberry Motel, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to write review for Hawberry Motel. Hope to see you again in future.

Thank you,
Peter and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

During the past several years, we have stayed at this motel many times and have nothing but good things to say. Clean, comfortable accommodations with friendly and respectful owners and staff. Rates are affordable. Very convenient to downtown Little Current and close to the harbor. Owner is making upgrades regularly and maintaining the property. All of our stays at the Hawberry have been 2-3 nights both in the Spring and Fall.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms are "drive up" style, you can usually park right in front of your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter g, Owner at The Hawberry Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello,

Thank you guys, it's always pleasure having you here. Thank you so much for your support. See you both in fall. Take care and enjoy the summer.

Thank you
Peter & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I'm a pretty generous reviewer, and in a couple of dozen reviews for Tripadvisor I've never rated anything below "average", so my report on the Hawberry breaks new ground. We reserved two rooms with a credit card two nights before we arrived. I chose it because the first reviews on Tripadvisor that I came across were pretty positive, and I didn't go beyond them to the cooler and more critical reviews later on. The property is fairly unattractive on the outside, though that wouldn't have been a big negative. Then we saw one of the rooms. And we could have put up with its small size, the mildewy stench, the substandard maintenance, and the wires dangling from the air-conditioning unit. But the toilet was placed in a tiny space between sink and wall, facing the wrong direction, making it very hard for even a normally abled person to use it, but our party included someone with a disability. We asked for a different room, but the manager said they were fully booked (there were only three vehicles in the parking lot). We said that we'd probably have to go somewhere else, and the manager said that everything in town was booked (the next place we called was almost empty -- this was off-season). We asked for a refund, but they said their policy was to require 24 hours notice (they hadn't informed us of this when we made our reservation, and this isn't the policy stated on their website). In some of management's responses on Tripadvisor they give the impression that they explain to callers that no one should expect too much from "standard" rooms, but this definitely wasn't our experience. Both the property and the management's idea of customer service were a disgrace.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter g, Owner at The Hawberry Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
No comments or explanation to be given on this review.
We are happy to offer our guest neat and clean accommodation. We would like to advice one thing to our future guests that please check our website and tripadvisor reviews before making reservation with us.Most important suggestion to our guests is, do notify your special needs (disable person, etc...) to any accommodation place upon your reservation.



Thank you
Peter & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our travels. Would stay here again. The place was clean, convenient and friendly helpful staff.the price was reasonable for the time of year. The bed was very comfortable also.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tropicalgirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter g, Owner at The Hawberry Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello Lynn & Bruce,

Thank you so much for wonderful review and do apologize for late reply. Hope to see you in future and have a wonderful summer.

Thank you,
Peter and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Current
0.2 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
20.2 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
61 reviews
20.1 mi away
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Killarney Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Killarney
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
162 reviews
16.9 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
41 reviews
17.8 mi away
Massey Motel
Massey Motel
#2 of 2 in Massey
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hawberry Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hawberry Motel

Property: The Hawberry Motel
Address: 36 Meredith St., E | Po Box 212, Little Current, Ontario POP 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Little Current
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hawberry Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard room with 1 Queen bed and three piece bathroom.Deluxe room with 1 Queen bed or 2 Double bed with four piece bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Hawberry Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hawberry Hotel Little Current
The Hawberry Motel Little Current, Ontario - Manitoulin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing