We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and basic accomodation”
Review of The Hawberry Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hawberry Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean and basic accomodation”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We learned that hotel has recently changed hands. had nice conversation with couple that had taken it over. The room was basic. Were were 4 people and they added extra towels. windows opened to the outside. But it was hot enough we needed to turn on AC which worked fine.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Smagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    47
    30
    4
    8
See reviews for
37
38
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Listowel, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The room was clean and nice enough. Had a t.v. and small fridge. A microwave would have been nice. A/C did not work. Bathroom was only supplied with two bath towels, we had five occupants. Staff at check-in was nice enough. Had much difficulty getting to sleep due to hearing t.v.'s from other rooms and folks "visiting" outside. A working a/c would have likely drowned out some of that noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annaed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Hawberry Inn for the August long weekend, 2012. This weekend is also known as Haweater Weekend in Little Current, and it is a great time to visit the town. There are lots of activities going on and things to see and do, and the town is PACKED.

For this reason, local hotels are able to charge top dollar for this time, and our room at the Hawberry was $99/night. This is vastly over-priced for what you get, but I guess the market determines prices, and the hotel was fully booked. We had a basic room, and there are bigger, re-furbished units that were about $130/night I think.

The rooms here are extremely small, but very clean and met our needs. I do believe other hotels in Little Current are similar in room-size. The only other hotel we’ve stayed at is the Bridgeway, and the Hawberry is much, much cleaner than that place.

Our room had a small fridge that we couldn’t get to work, and a window air-conditioner that, while loud, cooled the whole room off in about 5 minutes. There is a queen-sized bed, which is a little on the hard side, but the linens and pillows are clean and relatively new, if not top-quality. Free wi-fi was spotty, but quick when not disconnecting randomly from my netbook. There is also a small, older TV with pretty much all of your basic cable channels.

The bathroom is extremely small, but clean. There is a tiny shower stall, sink and toilet. The only improvement I would add is a couple of shelves for toiletries would be very helpful, and perhaps a hook or two on the back of the door to hang wet towels. The hotel supplies tiny soaps and shampoo packets, which were replenished daily. The towels are not great quality, but they are clean and well-stocked.

I think this is the only one of the Little Current hotels that has air-conditioning. The Bridgeway did not have air when we stayed there last year, and at the height of August heat that is a make-or-break amenity in my opinion.

The room was clean, not smelly, and met our basic needs, so I would stay here again. They may have to lower their prices when the new Circle Trail Hotel and Conference Center opens next year, which will provide some much-needed competition in this town. Depending on pricing, that will probably be my first choice of accommodation next time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in this lovely, well maintained motel. We had a deLuxe room which contained 2 beds , 2 clubs/table , writing table and chair, lots of storage (hanging and drawers), 4 pc bathroom, TV with lots of channels,fridge with small freezing compartment . Airconditioned.
Peter and Divya were perfect hosts who went out of their way to help and assist me when my husband unexpectedly had to be hospitalized. We will try to visit Manitoulin Island again, hopefully under better circumstances. Guess where we'll be staying?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferwerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed there 2012 07 28. Nothing fancy but clean. Would stay there again if in Little Current. Easy to find on Hwy 6. Beer store and LCBO close. Peter is a friendly host. Dated decor and a smallish room but I place emphasis on cleanliness and this place was clean. Peter stayed up to meet us after last Ferry from South Baymouth.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are harder to find parking if you arrive later. Stay on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColindeBain241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Peter & Divya
Thank you for accomodating us!!
Your place is very BEAUTIFUL, the flowers are coming along very nicely, you set us up in a temporary room when we arrived late at night (midnight or so)
Then moved us to the room on the second floor closest to view of water!
We slept great!! A/C was welcomed after our long hikes and Garry's Restaurant across the road was perfect for breakfast, thanks for telling us about that!
Peter & Divya I hope you enjoy your new business!
And your little boy is going to LOVE growing up in this beautiful community!
We will definitely spread the word to all we know to come and stay with you!!
God Bless, we enjoyed meeting you both
Take Care
Sherry & Norman Cadeau
July 29/12-->Anniversary Day!!
CHEERS!!
;))

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123GetFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I reserved a basic room, 1 bed , air tv.
90 buck including tax.
It's nothing special just a mom and pop.
the guy at check in was pleasant.

I'd be concerned that what ever first nation run multi story motel/hotel that's being constructed next to the ice cream joint...might put a crimp in all the mom and pop motels if they decide to price their rooms...79 to 89 for single/double.

It would be new, probably include some sort of continental breakfast ...be adjacent to the ice cream joint and the upper floors would have views of the town harbor and probably the bridge that ties up traffic every hour.

Get ready to see this place either under cut the new joint or wither and die next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willdriveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Current
0.2 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
20.2 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
61 reviews
20.1 mi away
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Killarney Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Killarney
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
162 reviews
16.9 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
41 reviews
17.8 mi away
Massey Motel
Massey Motel
#2 of 2 in Massey
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hawberry Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hawberry Motel

Property: The Hawberry Motel
Address: 36 Meredith St., E | Po Box 212, Little Current, Ontario POP 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Little Current
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hawberry Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard room with 1 Queen bed and three piece bathroom.Deluxe room with 1 Queen bed or 2 Double bed with four piece bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hawberry Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hawberry Hotel Little Current
The Hawberry Motel Little Current, Ontario - Manitoulin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing