We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyclist Friendly”
Review of Anchor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Current
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cyclist Friendly”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stopped here on our circumnavigation of Lake Huron. Good Bar with excellent beer selection. Strawberry daiquiri with fresh local strawberries was top notch. These folks know how to make a cocktail. Good burger too. They let us store our bikes on the lower level next to the barbershop. If Hollywood needs a late 30's hotel, this would be a perfect set. Sure it doesn't have A/C, but you're on Manitoulin Island...do you really need A/C? I'm looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
31
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SUDBURY
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I LOVE fish tacos! I have tried them at many places, including a few high end restaurants in Kelowna and Calgary. Anchor Inn has THE BEST fish tacos! GEt TWO orders! ..... We did and were in heaven! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHANTAL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in one of the 3rd floor apartments during the Canada day weekend. Suffice to say that this is not the most high-end hotel you would be looking for( no A/C, no elevators) but has a very friendly staff and a good atmosphere. The noise was a botheration during the weekend but the hotel staff were kind enough to advise us about it before I made the reservation. Location was spectacular as it is by the waterfront. The bar and restaurant are well maintained and we enjoyed our last dinner at the Islands in their excellent restaurant. I would definitely recommend this hotel for someone not looking to spend much on accommodation but to enjoy good food and a friendly atmosphere!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie_M4956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We think your review is fair and balanced. We have replaced the microwave and now have another new on in inventory for the next time someone's popcorn catches fire and burns one. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungendore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The Anchor Inn is in a great location, but our room was quite peculiarly hot all night. No air conditioning (no dramas there for us), but even with the window wide open and a desk fan going all night, out room remained resolutely hot. The bed was very comfortable, but the rest of the room and fittings could really do with a bit of a makeover. It's not an expensive hotel, but even so........

We ate in the bar/restaurant and the food was quite good, the wine good too. The menu was quite varied and the kitchen staff were able to make asjustments to cope with our preferences for seasonings. Our barman/waiter was very friendly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank motomoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your right, on hot nights our rooms can be warm for sleeping. We don't have air conditioning, and go to great lengths to tell everyone, from our web-site, to the e-mail response we send people inquiring, to when guests arrive and check-in. Our rooms start at $50 per night and the kitchenettes are $90. We like to think we price our rooms reasonably as compared to some of the more expensive alternatives in the neighborhood.

Thank you for your kind comments on the staff and food in our bar and restaurateur. We are very proud of our staff and find it very humbling that people take time to recognize their efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliot, Maine
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I have a summer cottage on Manitoulin and we get up to Little Current fairly often. On every trip we stop at the Anchor at least once and have never had anything but a great time along with terrific food and service. What makes it even better for us I am mostly vegetarian and my wife is vegan. Despite the fact that they do not have a large list of vegetarian options, the servers and the chefs are totally willing to work with the special requests we make and, in every case, they served us great tasting meals. Also without fail, all of the staff are friendly and very helpful. If you are looking for a modern, Applebee's setting, you're in the wrong place. This building is very old with tons of history and character and to my taste, much more enjoyable. So don't judge the book.... Go in and meet the locals and have a great time along with really good food at more-than-fair prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I is so nice to hear our guests have had a great experience at our Hotel. We do have a couple vegetarian options on our menu and will always try to accommodate our guests special needs and requests. We can't always meet every request, but we will always try.

Our building is old, built in 1888, but we have been working on it for the last 20 years, while attempting to maintain the character and charm. We like Applebee's, but will never try to be like them.

Always nice to hear such positive comments on our staff. They make us proud :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Favourite restaurant ! Rather eat here then anyone else ! PLUS THERE LEAF FANS AND THEY PLAY EVERY GAME ON BIG SCREEN ! GO LEAFS GO . Fish ,pasta , steak, you name it . Great food . If your into fishing or sledding in the winter this is the place to be .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fortunately, we looked at the room at this hotel before we signed on the dotted line. Dark, dank, bad smell, small. Seedy is the overall descriptor. Bar downstairs. They also have "apartments" in the building. Not sure who is living in those rooms?!

Room Tip: Drive right pass this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank JPchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Current
0.5 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
20.3 mi away
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Killarney Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Killarney
212 reviews
20.3 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
133 reviews
17.1 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Property: Anchor Inn
Address: 1 Water Street, Little Current, Ontario P0P 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Little Current
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Little Current
Anchor Inn Little Current, Ontario - Manitoulin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing