We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here....Looks like there will be a new hotel down the road soon!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Current
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Do not stay here....Looks like there will be a new hotel down the road soon!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This place was nothing like we expected. We have stayed in bar inns before and they have always been an enjoyment until we stayed here. We booked a single room with 2 beds...when we arrived they tried to upsell us a suite which we looked at and it looked like it was falling apart. So then we were shown our room #4 down the hallway right above the bar. This was was just as sad looking but smaller and cheaper. We stayed in #4. It was awful the screen on the window was popped out so I put it back in although anyone that can climb a ladder can go into your room anytime the window is open (kinda creepy) and you will need to keep the window open since there is no AC and it's hotter then hades. On their website the photos are very misleading. The website also says "All of our rooms have been recently remodelled and are both comfortable and modern." Well if modern is 1980 then they are right.

The rooms are loud in the evening and in the morning as they are moving chairs around. Good thing they provided ear plugs! The room looked like it was falling apart molding coming off, wires just hanging from the ceiling. Needs updating.

I would not recommend staying here. The good thing is it looks like there will be a new hotel being built down the road soon.

Room Tip: How to choose a good.....go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Regislive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. Conveniently, I think I was the fellow who showed you the rooms. To begin, we don't so much attempt to up-sell people looking at our rooms. We do let people look at different rooms, particularly on weekends when we know noise from the bar can be an issue. The kitchenette was located on third floor and is much quieter than the room you choose. Keeping things in perspective, the room you choose, after looking at it, was $60 per night. We are certainly not the Fairmount, but then we don't claim to be.

Your right we don't have air conditioning. The web-site photos are pictures of our rooms. I took the pictures. Not sure how they are misleading. I am not a good enough photographer to take a misleading picture.

The 1980's comment is a bit tough to understand. When we say modern, we are referring to the LCD tv's and free hi-speed, in room coffee and in room fridge. Granted, coffee and fridges have been around since 1980. The wire hanging out of the ceiling is simply not true. Perhaps you are referring to the cable for the tv...behind the dresser?

Yes there is a new Hotel being built. We think that is a good thing, and have supported the project for years. We honestly believe it will be good for tourism.

Again our thanks for contributing to the trip advisor forum.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
29
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
404 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in here today for a poker run on the motorcycles. We had approx 50 people, fast service and good atmosphere. We did not eat at all but the beer service was fast, lots of selection. Friendly service. I would go here again for sure

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Motorbragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We have motor-cyclists stay with us most night during the tourist season. It is always nice to see your group stop in and visit and we look forward to hosting you and your traveling companions again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The food is really good, especially the whitefish salad & burgers. The dessert was delicious and the staff extremly friendly. Unfortunately we were not satisfied with the room. It was not that the room was not clean or anything like that BUT the bar is just downstairs and EXTREMLY loud. On the website they say that some of the rooms are not good for "light sleepers" but believe me I am not a light sleeper and we are both young people who thought that the music wont disturb us but we both could not sleep until 2 am so if you want to avoid this make sure that you don't stay anywhere near the bar because " light sleeper" is DEFINATELY an understatement! Oh and WIFI does NOT work in the room( at least not on 2nd floor).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laraoz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your comments are fair and balanced. We make an effort to tell all guests that on Friday and Saturday nights the bar is open until 200am and will disturb peoples sleep. Most of the year we simply don't rent the rooms on second floor above the bar. In the summer when we and everyone else is sold out, it is difficult to turn people away. Sorry about the internet. We have 2 routers and occasionally we have to re-boot the one that covers the second floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nice home from home, went there last year and going back again this, paid for several nurses to stay there and they love it. Great Staff and hands-on management team. The only let down is no A/C but the do provide fans.

Good clean rooms and GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRreat resturant

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyjhc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Keeping in mind this is Manitoulan Island and not Manhattan Island, this small hotel is a very nice place to stay, in Little Current. True, there is no air conditioning but being close to the water, there are nice breezes and the in-room fan helps. I had no trouble sleeping.
The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. It was like a small apartment with a full kitchen although none of the appliances were utilized. There is no elevator. To check in, you must go into the Bar so as long as you know this, it's no big deal.
There is a very good restaurant on site with a patio from which you can see the water.
Familiarize yourself with the hotel and call and ask questions as they are very helpful over the phone. By doing this, you will know what to expect and will not be surprised.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a historic property having been built in 1888. Kind of like being in a Philip Marlowe movie. Charming and mostly up to date. We had a 2 br "apartment" on the 3rd floor. The bathroom had been updated recently, and was very nice, as was the paint and flooring in the room. The furniture however was not goodwill quality! Near record heat made it tough with no A/C, but they did supply a fan plus the one we brought, so we did fine. Great bar, and we had a fine dinner on the deck overlooking the street. The location is great, right across from the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The only reason I gave them very good was because they didn't have air conditioning, but the rooms were clean, well taken care of and comfortable. I was a little concerned about noise on a weekend as they often have a dj or bands in, but we didn't hear anything out of the ordinary. The staff was absolutely amazing on both the hotel side and restaurant side. The servers were attentive, kind courteous and were all smiles, while the the management staff was top notch. Watching some of the "local" happenings and how they deal with problems (1 local bounced a cheque) was a good experience as they handled anything that came up with finesse and professionalism. I look forward to our return here this coming September and would like to thank the Anchor Inn for handling my group of 13 scuba divers with the greatest of ease. They even kept the kitchen open late for us in case we needed it, you can't beat service like that.

Matt Mandziuk/Dan's Dive Shop, Inc.
www.dansdiveshop.ca

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive choose 3rd floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hello Matt and thank you for the kind review. It is always a pleasure to have you and your group in the Hotel. We tend to focus a lot on marine tourism during the tourist season, so it is nice to have a group of divers come up to explore the wrecks of the North Channel. We look forward to seeing you and your group in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Current
0.5 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
20.3 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
20.3 mi away
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Killarney Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
17.0 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Property: Anchor Inn
Address: 1 Water Street, Little Current, Ontario P0P 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Little Current
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Little Current
Anchor Inn Little Current, Ontario - Manitoulin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing