We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant amazing room horrible!”
Review of Anchor Inn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Current
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The food is really good, especially the whitefish salad & burgers. The dessert was delicious and the staff extremly friendly. Unfortunately we were not satisfied with the room. It was not that the room was not clean or anything like that BUT the bar is just downstairs and EXTREMLY loud. On the website they say that some of the rooms are not good for "light sleepers" but believe me I am not a light sleeper and we are both young people who thought that the music wont disturb us but we both could not sleep until 2 am so if you want to avoid this make sure that you don't stay anywhere near the bar because " light sleeper" is DEFINATELY an understatement! Oh and WIFI does NOT work in the room( at least not on 2nd floor).

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laraoz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your review. Your comments are fair and balanced. We make an effort to tell all guests that on Friday and Saturday nights the bar is open until 200am and will disturb peoples sleep. Most of the year we simply don't rent the rooms on second floor above the bar. In the summer when we and everyone else is sold out, it is difficult to turn people away. Sorry about the internet. We have 2 routers and occasionally we have to re-boot the one that covers the second floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 62 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nice home from home, went there last year and going back again this, paid for several nurses to stay there and they love it. Great Staff and hands-on management team. The only let down is no A/C but the do provide fans.

Good clean rooms and GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRreat resturant

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyjhc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Keeping in mind this is Manitoulan Island and not Manhattan Island, this small hotel is a very nice place to stay, in Little Current. True, there is no air conditioning but being close to the water, there are nice breezes and the in-room fan helps. I had no trouble sleeping.
The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. It was like a small apartment with a full kitchen although none of the appliances were utilized. There is no elevator. To check in, you must go into the Bar so as long as you know this, it's no big deal.
There is a very good restaurant on site with a patio from which you can see the water.
Familiarize yourself with the hotel and call and ask questions as they are very helpful over the phone. By doing this, you will know what to expect and will not be surprised.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a historic property having been built in 1888. Kind of like being in a Philip Marlowe movie. Charming and mostly up to date. We had a 2 br "apartment" on the 3rd floor. The bathroom had been updated recently, and was very nice, as was the paint and flooring in the room. The furniture however was not goodwill quality! Near record heat made it tough with no A/C, but they did supply a fan plus the one we brought, so we did fine. Great bar, and we had a fine dinner on the deck overlooking the street. The location is great, right across from the harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The only reason I gave them very good was because they didn't have air conditioning, but the rooms were clean, well taken care of and comfortable. I was a little concerned about noise on a weekend as they often have a dj or bands in, but we didn't hear anything out of the ordinary. The staff was absolutely amazing on both the hotel side and restaurant side. The servers were attentive, kind courteous and were all smiles, while the the management staff was top notch. Watching some of the "local" happenings and how they deal with problems (1 local bounced a cheque) was a good experience as they handled anything that came up with finesse and professionalism. I look forward to our return here this coming September and would like to thank the Anchor Inn for handling my group of 13 scuba divers with the greatest of ease. They even kept the kitchen open late for us in case we needed it, you can't beat service like that.

Matt Mandziuk/Dan's Dive Shop, Inc.
www.dansdiveshop.ca

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive choose 3rd floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Hello Matt and thank you for the kind review. It is always a pleasure to have you and your group in the Hotel. We tend to focus a lot on marine tourism during the tourist season, so it is nice to have a group of divers come up to explore the wrecks of the North Channel. We look forward to seeing you and your group in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

After reading some of the more unfavourable reviews, I feel compelled to add my 2 cents worth.
We stayed as a group in late June and experienced some great Manitoulin hospitality.
The rooms were clean and well appointed, the staff friendly and accommodating.
With a great location and ammenities like a bar and restaurant on the premises I can't think of a more congenial experience.
And lets not forget the more than reasonable room rates.
Some of the more recent comments in my opinion have been overly critical, comparing it to the baseline of a five star hotel.
It is a fine example of yesterdays charm in small town Ontario.
The complainers seemed to have missed the point and sadly the experience.
Thanks for making my trip an enjoyable one, I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank embassy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce and Kelly, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. We think you summed up staying at our Hotel very well and it is appreciated. We agree, some people do arrive with undo expectations. We are an older( built in 1888) property that doesn't have air conditioning or an elevator, and never will. We feel that charging between $60 and $90 per night based on double occupancy in high season offers fair value. Trip Adviser is very useful planning tool that we use ourselves when we travel. Reviews are subjective and sometimes need to be taken in the proper context of the authors expectation. We think most people are reasonable and enjoy their stay, and that's the best we can hope for. Please say hello next time you are at the Hotel and again our sincere thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great location, love the Anchor Inn:

WeBooked the Anchor Inn because I wanted to be near the water and restaurants. We planned on tripping around the Island. Here is my write up:

Accommodations: Staying on the 3rd floor of the Anchor Inn hotel - Apt. 5. This is an old building and full of rustic charm. Our suite was spacious and clean. Not sure about the previous woman's experience/standards. This suite was fine. It wasn't perfect, but I didn't expect it to be for the price. It had a renovated bathroom, lots of towels and a great view of the water. It was clean and spacious.

Restaurant: We stayed at the Anchor Inn and ate there too. On Tuesday we both ordered the White fish dinner. It came with perfectly steamed vegetables and a very nice salad. We ate here again tonight. The service and food are excellent.

The wings are one special Tues. & Wed. - very good wings, cooked to perfection.

We are from Toronto and we wanted to come and experience Manitoulin Island. We were not expecting downtown Hilton Hotel accommodations and we didn't even want that. What we got was a nice place, run by nice people in a nice town.

BTW: Got some nice tops at the clothing store beside the Anchor Inn.

And....when we got here we asked people on the boats where to eat - they all said "The Hotel .... aka Anchor Inn the only hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DonnafromTorontoOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce and Kelly, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. We think we summed up our place pretty well. We are not a 5 star property, and make a effort not to come across that way. Sometimes reviews are so enthusiastic that people get unreasonable expectations. We do have nice clean rooms at a reasonable price, a great location, and we do have a great restaurant, with acommittedteam of staff working hard. Yes, we are very fortunate to have a great following people that visit our port by boat, as do about 50% of our customers in the summer. It was kind of you to mention their referral. We will be sure to pass on your favorable comments to Rena next door at Dreamers Cove Ladies Wear. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Current
0.4 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
20.3 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
64 reviews
20.3 mi away
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Killarney Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Killarney
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
144 reviews
17.2 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
179 reviews
17.1 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Hotel

Address: 1 Water Street, Little Current, Ontario P0P 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Little Current
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Little Current
Anchor Inn Hotel Little Current, Ontario - Manitoulin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing