We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Keep Coming Back...”
Review of Cedar Gables Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Gables Lodge
Bala, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Keep Coming Back...”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed with Darcy and Joanne for our first and last night of a great snowmobile circle tour into Northern Quebec from Muskoka. As usual they are wonderful hosts, cooks and locally knowledeable people. Downstairs rooms were recently completed and were perfect for 4 trail-riders to relax in before Joannes usual wonderful dinner.
We will be back again.
Bob McTavish

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarGablesLodge, Owner at Cedar Gables Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We always look forward to seeing the guys and getting the latest scoop on your snowmobile adventures. We pride ourselves with our “feels like home” setting and Joanne’s exceptional cooking. We do our very best to ensure guests have everything they need to enjoy their stay. Make sure to email us before your next stay for a copy of our most recent dinner menu options. Have a great summer and see you next time. Darcy and Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a very fine B and B and resort. Recently established by enthusiastic owners. Very comfortable rooms, and extremely well set up services. Close to the highway, yet not exposed to it. Quiet bedroom. We did not try the dining room across the highway, since we had our meal in Mattawa, but the hosts recommend it. We shall use it again on our frequent trips across Canada

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunars T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarGablesLodge, Owner at Cedar Gables Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Cedar Gables. As an added convenience, you now have the choice of dining out or staying here to enjoy the several menu options we offer to our guests. Just send an email or call and we will send you a copy of our dinner menu. We look forward to seeing you again. Darcy and Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Cedar Gables Lodge. My finance and I stayed at the Lodge the night before / the night after a canoe trip in Algonquin Park (Kiosk Lake access #29) - minutes away. The owners Joanne and Darcy are awesome! Breakfast was included within the very reasonable room rate. We were provided with a breakfast menu upon arrival to be served the next morning whenever we wanted it. A proper breakie was prepared for us nice and early before our decent into the wilderness. I highly recommend staying here. Canadian hospitality at its absolute finest!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarGablesLodge, Owner at Cedar Gables Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for staying at Cedar Gables Lodge! You along with others have acknowledged our location as a excellent accommodation choice when visiting Algonquin Park. We appreciate your kind words and are really glad you enjoyed your trip. Hope to see you again. Darcy and Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have had a number of groups stay here on snowmobile trips in the area, the review is the same time and time again! this is the perfect location to stay and ride from! The trail is directly in front of the lodge and provides great access East, West, North or South. It is a short 15 minute ride to all amenities in north bay including the Portage Restaurant and a few hour ride to scenic Mattawa. The Bonfield SC does an amazing consistent job of grooming the trails so you are almost guaranteed to have a smooth ride. Cedar Gables Lodge offers indoor overnight parking for the sleds in the barn which is a huge plus compared to other hotels. The rooms here are very comfortable and home like! the lounge is perfect for groups and is awesome to relax and have a beer or drink at the end of the day. The food at the lodge is 5* and is perfect for sledders as the portions are huge. Joanne and Darcy are fantastic hosts and always have the latest trail reports directly from the clubs - if they say conditions are good, great or awesome they really are! ** Best day loop from this location is to Mattawa and around - make sure you visit the Mica Mine on A112A and the lookout and devils canyon on BF205. See you on the trails!

Room Tip: Ask about the new suite that they have built!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucrestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarGablesLodge, Owner at Cedar Gables Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for the great review and special thanks to all our new snowmobile friends for making this our best season yet! As mentioned in your post, we’ve been told again and again that our location is a perfect snowmobile destination. We are located in the heart of OFSC District 11 and are surrounded by an exceptional group of snowmobile clubs that pride themselves on great trails. Snowmobilers use the Lodge as a home base for long trips (lots of parking) and some use it as a stop on the RAP or RAN tours. Snowmobilers frequently stay for the night when travelling through and some come for several days so they can enjoy the diversity of our trails and check out the local trailside attractions. Once your here, just relax... We will take care of the rest. Whether it’s your first time to Cedar Gables or you’ve been here before, we will do our very best to ensure you enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Conveniently on the trans Canada just 10 min. from North Bay but yet amazingly quiet and peaceful. Watched the deer out front while eating a delicious wholesome breakfast. Joanne and Darcy friendly and informative on area. Definitely will be back when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarGablesLodge, Manager at Cedar Gables Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for the kind words, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Gables. We really appreciate the business local families bring and hope we will have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Darcy and Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonfield
14.2 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
14.2 mi away
Best Western North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
14.2 mi away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#8 of 26 in North Bay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Le Voyageur Inn
Le Voyageur Inn
#1 of 2 in Mattawa
79 reviews
21.6 mi away
Valois' Motel & Restaurant
14.3 mi away
The Canadian Ecology Centre Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Gables Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Gables Lodge

Property: Cedar Gables Lodge
Address: 43 Line 3 N, Bonfield, Ontario P0H 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Bonfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bonfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Darcy & Joanne Watson, would like to welcome you to Cedar Gables Lodge which is conveniently located in Bonfield, just 15 minutes east of North Bay. Each of our rooms have been renovated and offer private bathrooms, queen size beds, satellite TV, wireless internet and more. Enjoy our guest lounge where you can read a book, watch TV, have snacks, or chat with other guests. Maybe you want to just sit outside and have coffee on our covered porch that overlooks the property. Rest and relaxation topped by a hearty breakfast will give you that boost you need before you head out for a day of travel or to enjoy local activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing