We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good food with good service”
Review of L'Ecuelle d'Or

L'Ecuelle d'Or
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Clairac
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good food with good service”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We arrived as a family towards the end of lunchtime after a long cycle. We were given a very warm welcome and had an excellent, tasty and well presented meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Just Delicious”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Really welcoming and elegant restaurant serving fabulous food. The supreme de pintade I had was probably the best I've ever eaten. Good wine, delicious puddings. Well worth a visit. Children well looked after too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SirGeorge61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stumbled on this place whilst biking the lot valley. Escaping the drizzle and having a fantastic lunch menu. Great old building with funky decor. The lady who served us was completely charming and helpful, we speak no french! The meal would have cost twice as much in the uk and of a standard that would have been hard to find.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and wonderful food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

8 of us had a table at L'Ecuelle d'Or for my 50th birthday celebration. The owner was very accommodating, despite our poor command of the French language! .Very warm welcome, seemed genuinely pleased to meet us (we have recently purchased a holiday home in the village). The food and service was excellent and we had a wonderful evening. The menu is quite varied and traditional French food. The food was well presented and simply delicious. The owner of the restaurant even made me a birthday cake! Also, for the standard of the food and wine, reasonably priced. We will certainly be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank APL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A delightful experience...”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Great food, didn't go home hungry. Excellent. kind relaxed and helpful staff, didn't laugh at our poor French! This place is the real deal, if you want the total French experience, spend an evening here. We will visit again and again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ecuelle d'Or also viewed

Clairac, Lot-et-Garonne
Buzet-sur-Baise, Lot-et-Garonne
 
Marmande, Lot-et-Garonne
Laparade, Lot-et-Garonne
 
Aiguillon, Lot-et-Garonne
 

Been to L'Ecuelle d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing