We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Grande Eperviere
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Barcelonnette
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good quality B&B”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A fine property with pleasant rooms and a nice garden. An easy walk to town. Very good breakfast selection. Recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed one night, and received a very friendly welcome from the lady proprietor. Nothing was too much trouble for her. The rooms are fine - not luxury, but this is an Alps village hotel. They were clean and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the front garden. Lots of parking including an indoor garage which would fit about six cars. It is a 500 yd walk into the town where there are plenty of good restaurants to choose from. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed a night in la Grande Eperviere coming up from Nice and going back to Paris and we did not regret it. Warm welcome, large and clean room, quiet place and good breakfast. The hotel is nicely decorated and a few minutes walk from the centre of Barcelonette.
This hotel is really good value and worth a stop.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haren
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We found this hotel garni through our TomTom. We were warmly welcomed by a kind lady, who showed us the comfortable and spacious rooms. The hotel has a garage, which may be necessary, because it can rain and snow quite heavily here. The breakfast was good and with plenty of choices. A truly sympathetic place.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lodewijk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

On a recent ski trip to Pra Loup, my family stayed at La Grande Eperviere for 2 nights. Overall the experience was very pleasant. The staff and reception was warm and friendly, the place was clean and the breakfast was particularly excellent.

There were really only 2 issues, first is that the mattress was somewhat worn and slanted and both nights there seemed to be a shortage of hot water for showers. The hot water returned after waiting awhile, but after a long day of skiing you really want a hot shower right away!

Guests should know that if it's winter or bad weather you will probably need to drive to restaurants. We walked down to the city center the first night which wasn't that far, but was quite miserable in the cold with young children.

Room Tip: The two rooms we saw seemed equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal C, Propriétaire at Hotel La Grande Eperviere, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Hello,
First of all, thank you for your comment.
Regarding the problem of hot water, we had a trouble with the boiler. Came into the heating time and the problem has been resolved.
Unfortunately, a water tank of 2500 liters does not heat up in 1 hour but the next morning, everything was back to normal, contrary to what you say.
As for the journey to the center of Barcelonnette, nothing prevents you from taking your car ...

[--]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelonnette
0.5 mi away
Hotel Azteca
Hotel Azteca
#1 of 5 in Barcelonnette
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la placette
Hotel de la placette
#2 of 5 in Barcelonnette
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Barcelonnette
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Villa Morelia
Villa Morelia
#1 of 3 in Jausiers
319 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Sans Souci
Le Sans Souci
#3 of 3 in Jausiers
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Cheval Blanc
Hotel du Cheval Blanc
#5 of 5 in Barcelonnette
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Grande Eperviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Grande Eperviere

Property: Hotel La Grande Eperviere
Address: 18 avenue des 3 Freres Arnaud, 04400 Barcelonnette, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Barcelonnette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Barcelonnette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Grande Eperviere 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel Grande Epervière welcomes in a park surrounded by the mountains Ubaye. We offer spacious and luminous rooms, extended by a balcony overlooking the park of the hotel and the mountains of the Ubaye. The generous size rooms and the comfort of quality bedding contribute to the pleasure of your stay. TV and WiFi access. A buffet breakfast (in season) await you when you wake up for a continental breakfast, abundant with local products. At the gates of winter sports resorts and Parc National du Mercantour.Many sporting and cultural event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Grande Eperviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing