We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”
Review of Cascina Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cascina Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This B&B has a great location and beautiful views, but having read the reviews on here, I was expecting so much more. Our room wasn't particularly clean, the grounds looked like they needed a bit of love and we had a wasp's nest right outside our window, which meant we couldn't open it. We didn't get a chance to try the pool, but it looked very nice.

Breakfast was good and Sabina was very welcoming.

Maybe we were expecting too much after reading so many glowing reviews or maybe we just caught it at a bad time, but we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivingintheLanghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voglioandarealmare, Proprietario at Cascina Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hello Mr Richard from Milano, Italy

thank you for remembering me and my first name after such a long time ( you were here in September and you write your review just now in march, incredible  !)
I’m really sorry that your experience here was not so good, I really hope to have you as guests in future for a better emotion.
Anyway, I think, speaking directly with me about your doubts or eventual complains would have been the better way to solve problems and live relaxing moments in my b&b
best regards
Sabina Matz
cascina rosa b&b

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

What a little gem this b+b was! very comfortable and sympathetically restored,whitewashed walls,solid and old fashioned furniture,modern bathroom.Our hostess was very pleasant and my 12 year old daughter and I felt at home. The views over the hills were just as you might see them in films,staggeringly beautiful,one rolling hill after another,with a village on top and a chuch,like a cherry on the cake.we went out to a local town for supper and were not dissapointed,lovely Italian fare and attentive waiters.
I was sorry my husband and older daughter were not with us as I am sure they would have enjoyed the stay.I was also sorry that I didn't have more time to stay but will definitely return soon!
Only downside: the pool was a bit cold and put some anti-mosquito lotion on! However,the good vastly overweighs the not so good.

Room Tip: anti-mosquito needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milena37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Cascina Rosa is a little slice of heaven in the Monferrato hills. Sabina and Enrico were spectacular hosts--warm, friendly, engaging, and extremely helpful with recommendations about the area. Our room was gorgeous, spacious, spotless and comfortable. The experience of relaxing in a hammock under their beautiful fruit trees, with a warm wind gently blowing and surrounded by the most unbelievable panoramic view, is hard to top. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDamiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We found the most beautiful view of the the Monferrato countryside we have ever seen. We were immersed in the Monferrato atmosphere by the view, the restructured farmhouse and the owners. If we go to NY we stay at the Carlyle to feel the upper East Side, and the same here to feel Monferrato unruined by tourism, the difference is you can stay one week for the price of one night. At the Carlyle the waiter brings you breakfast in the morning and says "good morning my friend" and seems sincere. Here they say they are happy to have you and they are sincere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samMadrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Upon arriving Sabina was there to greet us at the gate of her lovely location. What a spot with rolling hills and vineyards spreading beneath your feet and to the right a glimpse of Mte Rosa. After asking about our trip we were shown to our room, country style warmth and color and neat as a pin! We had a little nap in total silence and seeing that it was still sunny and pleasant decided to try the pool. It is nestled below the house in a cluster of bushes where we could swim and bask in the peaceful landscape. Towards evening we received plenty of tips on where to eat and how to best spend our time in the countryside. We had a fine dinner Piedmont style with lots of antipasto. Although we weren't exactly starving the next morning, we couldn't resist the array of cakes, breads, fresh cut fruit, yogurt, you name it all set on a lovely table outdoors. Sabina came to pour coffee and was curious to hear about our evening. We were so sorry to leave such a tranquil paradise, but then we will certainly be back, maybe in Autumn to experience the wine harvest!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebdiComo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We wanted a charming B&B where we could get-away from city-life and 'just' relax for a week; and this place looked perfect from its website. But as we all know, websites can be misleading!

We had initially booked a room for six days, though, checked out after staying for less than 20 hours. We had a walk-out garden room; however, unfortunately, the room was in desperate need of a deep-cleaning (!!), not to mention, it was dark and musty. Needless to say, our room was not advertised on the website. The garden was not well maintained (i.e. the grass was in serious need of a watering, the fruit on the trees was rotting and my favourite, there was cat-poop everywhere), as well, the pool was unusable, due being overly chlorinated and there was a problem with wasps. Yes, wasps!! It seemed that the wasps were attracted to the over-ripening fruit on the trees. The breakfast was fairly basic. Not a place for a family with a toddler, or anyone who is looking to relax.

On a positive note, the owner was quite helpful and understanding (when we decided to cancel our reservation), as well, the B&B is superbly located with an incredible view ... it has great potential, just not yet recognized!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spatzl_Spatzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Nice location, on the top of a hill not far from the center of the town Cascina Rosa welcomes you in a sort of small paradise for quiet+food+wines lovers. Sabina will pamper you in her beautiful house. Excellent breakfast, spacious clean rooms partially newly refurnished and partially preserved with the old origial furniture. This makes the place and your stay more interesting and fascinating.
Have been there 2 times, during the summer a nice swimmingpool is available in the garden, during the fall/winter time don't miss the Truffles Fairs in the small villages all around Grazzano B.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grazzano Badoglio
1.3 mi away
Spinerola Charme & Relax
1.5 mi away
Relais di Tenuta Santa Caterina
Relais di Tenuta Santa Caterina
#1 of 3 in Grazzano Badoglio
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Albergotto
Albergo Albergotto
#1 of 1 in Grazzano Badoglio
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascina Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascina Rosa

Address: Viale Pinin Farina 33, 14035 Grazzano Badoglio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Grazzano Badoglio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Grazzano Badoglio
Price Range: $68 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascina rosa is an ancient typical farm in a peaceful, isolated panoramic position surrounded by countryside. A big garden with swimming-pool and barbecue is available for guests. It's an ideal base for gastronomic wine tours, and the perfect place for those who love peace and quiet, good food and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cascina Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing