We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
Nearby Hotels
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel(Tulbagh)(Great Value!)
$98
$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Riebeek Kasteel)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riebeek Valley Hotel(Riebeek-West)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ridgeback House(Windmeul)(Great Value!)
$97
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
159
117
36
18
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
117
36
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape dutchchurch streetbygone erahistoric buildingcountry guest houseyellow woodelectric blanketshoneymoon suitefour postercentral locationwent the extra mileold world charmenjoyed our staywine tastinglovely placea lovely staycape town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 348 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed by Jayson and shown to our beautiful, spacious room looking out on picturesque Church Street in Tulbach. After one of the best night's sleep we have ever had thanks to the giant, comfortable bed and total quiet, we were treated to an incredible breakfast.

With its helpful staff, lovely setting and fantastic brekkie, we can't recommend The Quarter highly enough.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Recently spent three wonderful days and two nights in Tulbagh staying at The Cape Dutch Quarter situated in historic Church Street but within a couple of minutes walk from the Town. What a beautiful place and as I walked up the front steps flanked by two old canons one could sense the history all around. The room was huge as was the four poster bed and the bathroom en suite had bath and separate shower. The breakfast served in the beautiful dining room furnished with Cape Dutch antiques didn't disappoint. There is an incredible atmosphere; homely, peaceful, friendly, welcoming and totally relaxing but with all mod cons.
The staff were wonderful and they made me feel as if I was an old friend.
I was traveling to Tulbagh with friends this trip but certainly plan to return with my husband - it will be just up his street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomencuffley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaysonClarkTulbaghZA, Owner at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for the stunning review on Trip Advisor and thank you for loving Tulbagh as much and as long as you did! We look forward to hosting you in the not too distant future. Regards Jayson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Cape Dutch Quarter is an anomaly..... What appears to be stopped in time, a museum, an old fashioned sense of self ..... is juxtaposed with the experience of the finest hospitality, care, and personal attention to detail that the hosts of this little gem extend to their "guests". I deliberately accentuate this word as in no way do you feel like "guests" but rather, you leave feeling as if you had left home. No matter if you stay a minute an hour or a few days of well earned "RNR" the whole experience is refreshing. On a more practical note..... It is close to town but peaceful so you get to choose to "Get up and Go" or..... indulge in the seriously lazy....... without disturbance.....thing.....

I do have one word of caution.... Choose to be lazy and you will miss out on the very best of South African Wines... I will not hold it against you... Thank you CDQ and the hosts of this "home from home"

Room Tip: Just take the time to explore something other than "The Usual"
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummitPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaysonClarkTulbaghZA, Owner at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thanks for your fantastic review of Cape Dutch Quarter and for choosing Tulbagh to fall in love again. We loojk forward to hosting you in the future. Best regards Jayson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

WOW what a fantastic opportunity to stay in beautifully restored historical houses in Tulbagh. We only had time for the one night, but will never forget the four poster and amazing knowledge and love of the stunning village demonstrated by Jayson and Marcel. They both love the houses and cannot do enough to make your stay the best possible. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in - so comfortable we overslept and nearly missed our next appointment!! I lay awake for ages imagining the history these houses had enjoyed, and what their walls and ceilings had seen over the years. Cannot recommend it enough. We will be back.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah59732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaysonClarkTulbaghZA, Owner at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thanks for your living in history at the Cape Dutch Quarter and for choosing tell everyone about your wonderful experiance in Tulbagh. We loojk forward to hosting you in the future. Best regards Jayson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wittedrift Manor House, 24 Church Street, Tulbagh - a group of 12 stayed over for the Xmas in June weekend in Tulbagh. A charming old manor which easily accommodated 12 in comfortable surroundings, large kitchen and dining room with a great veranda at the rear. Super for a large group and reasonable rates. We did the self catering option and had the whole place to ourselves for a home away from home experience for the whole weekend. We had the full run of the place and enjoyed the experience. Large rooms and comfortable appointments old school style. Large fireplace in the living room and a piano to entertain - we did not even know there was a TV kind of place. Lots of interesting art and antique furniture abounds. One comment would be that the gardens and exterior need some maintaining and upkeep, plenty of parking and a great place for a winter stay over though. And Tulbagh and the surrounding area is very very charming. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaysonClarkTulbaghZA, Owner at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Although it seems that you had a very good time, I am very dissapointed that you found the house to be slightly run down and only gave an average 3-star review. We have recenlty painted two bedrooms which were a bit shabby as well as the cappings and gables and I trust you would be much happier on your next visit to Tulbagh. Regards Jayson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews