We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
Ranked #4 of 19 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in Little courtyards self catering cottage in Tulbagh this weekend.It is beautiful ,old and filled with antiques!Unfortunately very run down and slightly dirty.The bath water was cold and we had to hunt for the geyser switches ourselves to switch them on.We had a cycle race the next day and returned to find our cottage not cleaned.We were never given an option of cleaning or not... The hair dryer did not have a plug and I was told that clients steal them! The credit card payment system is slow and unreliable and archaic! Very poor management for a place that could be superb!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindalex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaysonClarkTulbaghZA, Manager at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Linda. Thanks for taking the time to write a review as shocking as it might be. We are saddened that you had such a terrible stay in at the Little Courtyards in Tulbagh.

Little Courtyards is one of of our most successful and popular properties. The house was painted, thatched and cleaned up in March and early April. In addition to re thatching the entire roof, we had repaired all the external joinery and repainted three of the rooms. The house is currently looking better than it has in years, so your comment that the house is 'run down' leaves me more than a bit confused.

The invoice cover letter which all guests are emailed when booking, states that a housekeeping service is available on all our self catering properties, and this service was not selected.

The credit card facility is operated by Nightsbridge and used by thousands of SA guesthouses. It is highly efficient, but does not operate if our internet connection is down. Unfortunately the connection was down at the time and we are sorry you were inconvenienced.

It is regretful that we slipped up in turning on the Geysers of the house and I have had a staff meeting about this issue this week. I am again very sorry about your disappointing stay.

Regards
Jayson Clark
Director

We stayed in Little courtyards self catering cottage in Tulbagh this weekend.It is beautiful ,old and filled with antiques!Unfortunately very run down and slightly dirty.The bath water was cold and we had to hunt for the geyser switches ourselves to switch them on.We had a cycle race the next day and returned to find our cottage not cleaned.We were never given an option of cleaning or not... The hair dryer did not have a plug and I was told that clients steal them! The credit card payment system is slow and unreliable and archaic! Very poor management for a place that could be superb!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 342 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent two relaxing days in Tulbach with CDQ as my base. Very "quaint" rooms and beautifully furnished dining room. Really something totally different! Wonderful full breakfast and friendly staff. Good pool to cool down in after a walk to the museum, along Church Street and up the hill to look out over the town. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived in Tulbagh on a whim and found the information shop run by Jason. In minutes we were equipped with suggestions and itineraries for two days - Jason's enthusiasm for Tulbagh is so infectious. We stayed in the main guest house. We were offered the honeymoon suite but preferred a twin room - which was perfect. Beds draped in snow white netting and just the right amount of very comfortable furniture, including a table and chairs outside. The room was full of books and precious things which added to our pleasure. The shower was awesome and there was everything a traveller could ask for in the bathroom.
Breakfast was served at a huge communal table in the dining room. Again we were surrounded by objects of beauty from the table setting to the pictures on the walls. The breakfast was fabulous and the service was wonderful.
We very much enjoyed the pool when we came back from our sight seeing.
All in all we couldn't rate our stay highly enough. The welcome, the advice and the service offered by Jason and his team is the very best that South Africa has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived in Tulbagh at 6pm during a recent road trip along Route 62, without having booked accommodation for the night. We knocked on a few guest house doors and then found this gem on Tulbagh's historic Church Street. Though on their way to their staff Xmas party, Jayson and his team made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the stunning family suite in the manor house, which has its own street entrance and two stylish, traditionally furnished interleading rooms. The dip in the plunge pool was most welcome after a long, hot day on the road and the breakfast next morning was excellent. Definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a combination of old Cape Dutch charm and professional hospitality.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was by far the worst place I stayed at during my recent trip to SA,. I booked the Garden Room online. Avoid at all costs!! It is horrible. The owner admitted that they rely on wedding business at weekends and are rarely booked during mid-week. Since I appeared to be just about the only guest, I wonder why they didn't offer to upgrade me to a nicer room even if it meant me paying a supplement. The best thing was the breakfast which was made by a very friendly lady who I assume was the housekeeper. Otherwise, nothing to recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DeanOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaysonClarkTulbaghZA, Manager at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Dean.

Firstly huge appologies for your unplesant experiance in the Garden Shed of the Cape Dutch Quarters. This room is advertised as a small budget room, ideally suited to single occupancy. The rooms is half the price of the top 4 star rooms and consequently is often heavily booked.

On arrival we usually offer to upgrade guests into the main house for R100 extra. I dont know why this offer was not extended to you. It is a pity that the guest did not just request to see a bigger better room.

We were VERY busy right through December month, including the mid week days as well.

Glad you enjoyed the breakfast.

Regards
Jayson-CDQ Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Found a great deal online for my anniversary, saw the website, booked it and never looked back. I had no idea how amazing it would be from first welcome at the reception, telling me all I needed to know, see and do in Tulbagh (so I didn't have to do any researching!) to our first lie down at the pool.

You feel like you have gone back in time and are living in the Victorian era with all the houses in the streets being national monuments a huge breakfast table set for Royalty with the finest china and silver. Fun filled days of zip-lining and wine tasting could not get better in the summer heat. Then sundowner's in your room (which has a fridge that conveniently fits a small bag of just enough ice for 3 days) or at the pool or on the little terrace overlooking the mountain.

Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite. All the places are very central though and very well kitted out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoStone24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed in Witterdrift Manor House it was fantastic a cape Dutch experience that was amazing the rooms are stunning a big four poster bed and lovely bathroom. We would highly recommend it Enjoy Tulbagh a great town with fantastic people. Thanks Jayson

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Racheldaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.1 mi away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#7 of 19 in Tulbagh
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Tulbagh
77 reviews
1 mi away
Manley Wine Lodge
Manley Wine Lodge
#6 of 19 in Tulbagh
196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 19 in Tulbagh
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters

Address: 24 Church Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range: $40 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A collection of ten historic properties, nestled between the restaurants, museums, sights and shops of Church Street. Cape Dutch Quarters, Tulbagh Country Guest House is the jewel in the crown of our heritage collection, where guests experience the authenticity of 18th century colonial architecture, original features and period/antique furnishings, while enjoying our traditional Cape hospitality. In addition, our seven self catering properties accommodate between two and twelve people each, so that groups of up to 60 can be accommodated. Enjoy our famous breakfast, lovely gardens, local reserve and other facilities. Tulbagh has a rich cultural history, unique wine farms, and wide open spaces and is well located for Route 62, West Coast and Cederberg.The Wagon Shed, Coach House and Barn are our executive self-catering units that each sleep two in a Double/Queen-sized bed. All units are unique, with open plan living room, kitchenette and en suite bath/shower room. The Coach house and Barn enjoys a private veranda/garden and the Wagon Shed has off street parking. Guests have full use of the Quarter’s pool and facilities. Breakfast is optional.Yellow wood, Toll House and Little Courtyards are all smart self catering houses dating from the 1700s. Each house sleeps between 4 and 6 people in 2-3 en suite bedrooms and feature large living areas, lounges and full kitchens. The houses all have lovely courtyard gardens, although Toll House and Courtyards also have private pools.Wittedrift Art Manor is a fully equipped self-catering mansion that was built to impress. Sleeps up to twelve in three double family suites. Each of the three wings consists of a large King room with a separate twin room and private bathroom. Large entertaining rooms and banqueting hall that seats twelve, make for a perfect party venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing