We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay plus the best massage you are likely to get anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
Ranked #4 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay plus the best massage you are likely to get anywhere”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Spent a relaxing couple of days in the family room couldn't have asked for anything better suited for a small family. A first class massage is rare these days but Chantelle at Cape Dutch Quarter is an exceptionally good masseuse. All in all a real find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    99
    33
    14
    15
See reviews for
57
159
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was beautifully decorated and spacious. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are plentiful and tasty. Complimentary port in your room and wonderful home made rusk to have with your tea in the morning. We booked their winter specila and I feel it really is a GOOD deal.....I would definatly recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is beautiful and ion the main manor house on Church street, so easy walking dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantia, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Booked an executive room 3 months ago, a month ago we were kicked out of that room, downgraded, and went from king sized bed to sardine tin sized bedroom, which had minimal heating in the heart of winter. No offer from the owners of a small refund, which would have been nice, so from booking a Executive Suite @1000 rand and being stuffed into a freezing self catering barn, i am not overly impressed with that, if that's SA hospitality and business protocol then so be it, anywhere else in the world this would have been dealt with in a more professional manner with more respect shown to the paying customer.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank asmwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Wittedrift Manor was the perfect house to cater for all 15 of us, it is full of charm, character and artwork! The food hamper was so Tulbaghian...local dried fruit, olive oil, wine... The guided tour was so interesting - thank you Jayson! The Saturday dinner was spectacular! The decor was stunning and the food was divine - thank you Marcel! On the Sunday, the Spa placed the cherry on the top for our Mom, giving her a moment just to relax and be pampered!
We will definitely return!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cherylleigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at the Cape Dutch Quarter in February this year, with our three children aged 6, 4 and 2. The accommodation, food and service were truly fantastic, and we found the staff warm, friendly and inviting. Also has laundry facilities on site if needed.

We did feel a little concious of our children making too much noise in the pool following a number of comments by some staff, which made us slightly on edge, but this didn't ruin our stay.

The village setting is simply beautiful, plenty of restaurants to choose from, BBQ facilities on site, and supermarkets nearby to purchase essentials if needed.

We were made especially welcome by the wonderful ladies in the kitchen, who served a delicious breakfast each morning with homemade breads, and who kept our room immaculately clean during our stay. Would definately return!

Room Tip: Ask for garden rooms to the far right of the property, very quiet, spacious and tucked away with dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellies_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We rented one of the old cape dutch houses in April. It was clean and comfortable and we had an amazing wonderful weekend. Jayson and his staff are friendly and helpful. The houses are beautifully furnished with old solid wood furniture. You feel like an old duke/earl living in your estate mansion. Not a cheap stay but well worth it.

Room Tip: Wittedrift Manor House for a group of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rocape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

CDQ was fantastic, from the friendly, informative staff to the well appointed rooms to the period furniture. The honeymoon suite is large and beautifully fitted out with yellow-wood and stinkwood furniture, and opens out onto the Cape Dutch heaven of Church St. Beware the noise of the numerous feral peacocks early in the morning though! In the back is a shaded, cobble-stoned courtyard; a perfect spot for a relaxing read. Especially fun is the lookout deck at roof level that allows one to survey the sun dipping behind the surrounding mountains in the distance, and the thatched roofs below.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarthSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.1 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.8 mi away
Montpellier De Tulbagh
Montpellier De Tulbagh
#6 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters

Property: Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
Address: 24 Church Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A collection of ten historic properties, nestled between the restaurants, museums, sights and shops of Church Street. Cape Dutch Quarters, Tulbagh Country Guest House is the jewel in the crown of our heritage collection, where guests experience the authenticity of 18th century colonial architecture, original features and period/antique furnishings, while enjoying our traditional Cape hospitality. In addition, our seven self catering properties accommodate between two and twelve people each, so that groups of up to 60 can be accommodated. Enjoy our famous breakfast, lovely gardens, local reserve and other facilities. Tulbagh has a rich cultural history, unique wine farms, and wide open spaces and is well located for Route 62, West Coast and Cederberg.The Wagon Shed, Coach House and Barn are our executive self-catering units that each sleep two in a Double/Queen-sized bed. All units are unique, with open plan living room, kitchenette and en suite bath/shower room. The Coach house and Barn enjoys a private veranda/garden and the Wagon Shed has off street parking. Guests have full use of the Quarter’s pool and facilities. Breakfast is optional.Yellow wood, Toll House and Little Courtyards are all smart self catering houses dating from the 1700s. Each house sleeps between 4 and 6 people in 2-3 en suite bedrooms and feature large living areas, lounges and full kitchens. The houses all have lovely courtyard gardens, although Toll House and Courtyards also have private pools.Wittedrift Art Manor is a fully equipped self-catering mansion that was built to impress. Sleeps up to twelve in three double family suites. Each of the three wings consists of a large King room with a separate twin room and private bathroom. Large entertaining rooms and banqueting hall that seats twelve, make for a perfect party venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing