We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything that we had hoped for”
other traveler has booked this property
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2 Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
56 reviews
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage Great Views of Mountains
Mont Rouge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WavesEdge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything that we had hoped for”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What an awesome spot. We spent 3 days on the farm and never felt the need to go into town... Absolutely brilliant spot for a bit of r&r. Marisha was amazing and went out of her way to accommodate us at the last minute. The location and setting are beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed ambling around the farm through the orchards, along the dams and up and down the rivers and tributaries with our dogs (with one of the farm dogs acting as our competent daily tour guide). We will most certainly be back!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Thank you so much for the great review.
So glad you could have had a chance to enjoy the farm and get a bit of rest in . It is that time of the year , we all need a get away.

Yes Flappie dog is a real hit with the guests . Always entertaining and making as if he is in charge., or he was just trying to inpress the girls.

It was a great pleasure to get everything sorted for you.

Hope to see you again.

kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrialau...
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Gorgeous cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Loved our stay here even though it was only one night. Loved the little touches like the two muffins included on the tea tray. Cosy and has everything you need. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Thank you so much .. glad you liked the muffins , i have to be very strong not to eat them .. while baking and packing them.

We do hope to see you again and hopefully it will be for a bit longer..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CammieWat...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in cottage 3.
Absolutely stunning.
Facilities were excellent, impeccable personal touch.
We loved every minute of the weekend we spent there. We've already booked to return again.

I recommend it to everyone.
There's a stream right outside, the views are breathtaking.
So worth every cent.

Also the attention we received from Marisha (the property owner) was 5 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Thank you

So glad you were happy with your stay.

The views are breathtaking. I can still not stop to look at everything around us..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madels_88
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“weekend break away ~ absolute bliss”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The perfect place for a weekend brake away from the city hustle & bustle :) A beautiful cottage with a personal touch in décor and attention to fine detail. Waking up every morning with majestic mountain views was an absolute bliss. A late Sunday afternoon braai on the outside deck was the perfect end to the weekend. We enjoyed our stay so much and will surely recommend to family and friends. Thank you Marisha

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Thank you for the review.

I am always so glad to hear that someone enjoyed the time on the farm and just recharge your batteries .

hope you will come again and stay longer.

kind regards
marisha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Maree...
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“what a beautiful place!”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A getaway to a quiet place to work on my masters thesis- perfect! Tranquil surroundings, beautiful views- fresh air. The free wifi was an unexpected bonus. Thank you Marisha for a hositable stay. Will certainly consider this the 'go to' place when in Tulbagh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
I do hope the Masters Thesis did go well. Please come back to write the next one.

Marisha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliaMcCa...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful little getaway”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My stay at Mont Rouge was short of just a few nights, but nevertheless, it was the most tranquil, beautiful little cottage I have ever stayed in. Very private and cosy, surrounded by birds and nature, a perfect getaway from the city. The cottage was very clean and beautifully made up, I recommend Mont Rouge to any solo traveller or large family looking for a peaceful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Hello

Thank you for the great review. Our place is great just to get away form the City. Every time I drive out of the City I am so happy to know I am on my way to this little peace of earth (heaven for me)

hope you will come and visit us again . bring all the family and friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpjoppie
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were a group of 4 families and rented all 4 cottages. The accommodation and facilities were much more than one would expect from farm cottages with everything you need, comfortably and beautifully built and decorated. All the cottages were built next to a stream with great views.The working farm and surrounding area was very scenic with a relaxed atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and design/decoration of the cottages
Liked least: The outside braai area of cottage 1 was next to the main bedroom
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am so happy to hear that you and all your friends had a great time. I do hope we will see you all here again. With even more things to do on the farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing