We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other traveler has booked this property
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2 Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
60 reviews
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage Great Views of Mountains
Mont Rouge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dpjoppie
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were a group of 4 families and rented all 4 cottages. The accommodation and facilities were much more than one would expect from farm cottages with everything you need, comfortably and beautifully built and decorated. All the cottages were built next to a stream with great views.The working farm and surrounding area was very scenic with a relaxed atmosphere.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and design/decoration of the cottages
Liked least: The outside braai area of cottage 1 was next to the main bedroom
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am so happy to hear that you and all your friends had a great time. I do hope we will see you all here again. With even more things to do on the farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phyllytji...
1 review
“Peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A lovely quiet house amongst the fruit trees nestled in a valley between the mountains. Tastefully decorated and very clean. This with a little stream of water flowing pass the house. An ideal place to recharge.

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2015
Hello thank you so much for writing us a review. It always makes us happy to hear that people had some time to recharge and take in the beauty . That stream sounds even better in the winter. Hope we will see you here , please bring the family next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennie S
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is it! Book it!”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely cottages, beautifully decorated and well equipped for self catering. A comfortable king size bed ensures sweet sleep and large glass sliding doors offers a STUNNING mountain view framed by beautiful orchards. Private, but not secluded, it offers the perfect accommodation for those who just want a break, to relax and bath in nature's beauty. It is ± 10 min drive from Tulbagh and surrounded by wine farms. The host, Marisha, is a lovely young woman and makes you feel right at home. A complimentary fruit bowl and muffins just adds that personal touch. Tulbagh area offers plenty of accommodation options, but if self catering is an option, choose Mont Rouge cottages! The cottages even offer free wifi. We stayed in cottage 3 and enjoyed every moment of our stay.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole experience
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2015
Hello

Sjoe thank you so so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased we could have made your stay here so nice and worth your wild. Great to get the feedback and it is such a nice one. Thank you .

we hope to see you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WES240578
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Dash of awesomeness!”
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a very pleasant experience, Marisha and her husband went out of there way to accommodate our some extreme request as a cycle team. Helpful ,kind, clean rooms, great food .. only good things to say.
And the view of the Boland Mountains!! Thanks Marisha for your efforts!

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Alles was lekker
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2015
Hello

Thank you so much for the nice review. it was a huge pleasure to have had you here and that i could have been part of your Tour de Boland. So glad the food was great. must say now i have a new favorite pasta dishes i can make...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes...
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
“Luxury Rustic Getaway”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The accommodation - I loved the thought that went into the decoration and the simple engineering that made this stay unforgettable.

The Solitude - We had such a nice time away from everything and everyone.

The People - The hosts are true South Africans that made us feel welcome like only South Africans can - we came as strangers and left as friends.

The Facilities - enough hot water and super comfortable beds. We chose to switch off the technology but the prospect of Wi-Fi was strangely comforting

All-in-all a well thought out concept (green building) and a place I would surely recommend.

Well done guys!!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The buildings and the way it was executed
Liked least: Mozzi's - but they also need to eat :) - some repelling candles did the trick. I only write this because there is a block for it. No moans to note.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
So wonderful to read this great review. Thank you for all the compliments and we here on the farm just want our cottage friends to have the best time and enjoy our surroundings. We are blessed to be situated were we are and that you can still enjoy the benefits of modern technology if you really want. But best is to put off all the cell phones and listen to the river and the birds..

Hope we see you soon , even if it is in winter. when you can light up that fireplace.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilie T
Riebeek Kasteel, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic rustic family fun”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

What a peaceful quiet setting beside a bubbling brook, right in the cranny of the Groot Winterhoek Mountains. The views form the stoep were absolutely exquisite and with the hospitality of our local host, who can ask for more?? Marisha's warm farm welcome made us feel right at home. Plenty of space for the children to explore, be noisy and playing in the little stream.( Do not forget the free wifi, to even keep the teens connected and happy!)
Mont Rouge is a working fruit farm and we had the opportunity to educate the kids about the path of fruit from the farm to the fork.
Tulbagh village is a quint little weekend retreat from the city, with plenty of small shops to stock up on treats and a great variety of restaurants if you do not feel like using the well equipped kitchen in the cottage on Mont Rouge.
Well done to Marisha and her team, for making our BREAK-OUT weekend so special. We will be back!!!!

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
Hello

Thank you so much for this lovely review of our farm, town and all its surroundings. Keeping teens are not always a easy job.. so glad the kids could learn something on the farm. Always nice to see how they suddenly see fruit does not just come form the shop. Like all things it needs to be loved and lots of care go into them.

We are truly blessed with little brook and then the Big Mountains on the other side.

We are truly happy that your time and experience was positive. Please come and visit us and we will try and keep the kids happy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmarieR1
1 review
“Perfect for any occasion.”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Mont Rouge is the perfect location fot any occasion, from wedding venue, family and friend get togethers to romantic getaways. The location next to a stream, with views of the mountains and orchards are amazing anytime of the year. Cottages are wonderful and the service is always friendly and truely welcoming.

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
Hello thank you so much for our lovely review.

We get often get complements about our friendliness , we always say it takes nothing to be friendly. And it was so nice meeting you and all our wonderful guests, makes the job easy.

see you soon. i do expect you will be here soon again this year..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing