We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Gerard's Country Grill - CLOSED

Gerard's Country Grill
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were staying at Manley and this was the on site restaurant where we had our morning breakfast which was very good. Had the best burger ever here and the staff are so friendly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Country lunch”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The restaurant at Manley was not what I expected, in that it was a little more "country" and pubby than I though we would find on an estate like Manley's. However, we had a lovely lunch with amazing staff who, even though they were at the same time getting ready for a huge wedding at 15h00, looked after our every need. My yellowtail had a lovely flavour, although sadly a bit dry, but my husbands home-made chicken pie was yummy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KrazyCat_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

There's nothing better than a good schnitzel and if the accompanying cheese sauce is hand-made with real cheese, real butter and real milk, then Bob's your uncle. Took my brother and his family there for lunch. Well done guys

Helpful?
Thank Reint G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hearty South African food!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great friendly staff, great South African food, LARGE portions, great wine from the estate (Manley). Decor could do with a little uplifting, but other than that we Will definitely be back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Raine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Turned away at the door”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We went to the Christmas in Tulbagh festival this weekend (end June) and were looking for somewhere to eat. One of the only listed restaurants on the map we had was Gerard's so we decided to give it a try. There were loads of tables open out front but the waitress turned us away at 2pm with claims that they were simply too busy and the kitchen was a mess. How do you have your restaurant on a map for a massive festival and then not even have enough staff and management to cater for your capacity (not that they were anywhere near it!) This was a very very disappointing experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DominiqueHerbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClydeGerard, Owner at Gerard's Country Grill, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Thank you for your review.

My apologies that the waiter that greeted you did not explain the situation properly on the day.
We were fully booked for our Christmas in Winter buffet dinner from 5pm that afternoon and had to close the restaurant for walk-in guests in order to set up for our 105 reservations and prepare our Christmas Buffet.

I do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Sincerely

Clyde Gerard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerard's Country Grill also viewed

Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing