We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The cottages are neat, clean and spacious with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. The perfect spot to just go and relax. The winery itself is also a must see.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laurika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Laurika

It was great having you at the farm and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    94
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
86
110
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great mountain views, lovely self-catering cottages, friendly staff and modern, inspiring winery! Although very small, Tulbagh is definitely worth a trip. Love to return...................................

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Travelnista11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! The Saronsberg team is looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stenungsund, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Thank you for a wounderful hospitality and a graet Place we will get back for sure . The trip in the wineyard was perfect and all the activitis you planed for us was awesome . Thank s for a fantastic time in Tulbagh

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Torbjoern S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Torbjoern

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you and your family back soon.

Keep well

Kind regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Because of the excellent wines and beautiful website we chose Saronsberg cottages, the location is beautiful but accommodation dirty and inadequate. Especially the showers was terrible with just boiling, ice cold or no water at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nelda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Nelda

We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to apologies again for the cottage not being ready and tidy on arrival. We did clean your cottage immediately after you pointed out the flaws. The water issue you only mentioned to us upon check out.

Kind regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

While accommodation was very good... even though it is totally self-catering tea coffee and milk or creamer would have been nice. One sachet of coffee and two tea bags with no creamer was a little sparse.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PamP248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Pam

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments! The Saronsberg team wishes you a merry Christmas and hopes to be able to welcome you again in the new year.

Kind regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very, very basic accommodation. Got blasts of cold water in the shower, I think that the "neighbours" were trying to shower at the same time.
Coffee provided but no creamer. I don't like black coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Meryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Meryl

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. My apologies for not providing creamer in your cottage. It normally is provided by us and it should have been in your cottage on arrival.
Kind regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Relaxed atmosphere with real farm life experience. Staff was helpfull and friendly, we also booked/bought a couple of bottles of wine, which our hostess Sarah place in the fridge to be chilled for our arrival.
Staying amongst the vineyards has a special atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Herman & Desire... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you Herman & Desiré for the positive review! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
2.9 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#5 of 19 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.6 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages

Property: Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Address: Waveren Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, cosy and well-equipped 1 or 2 bedroom self-catering cottages, most with en-suite bathroom, spacious open plan kitchen, lounge and dining area with a high, arched ceiling invite to relax and unwind with friends and family. All units are fully equipped and have their own built in fireplace/BBQ that makes both winter and summer the ideal place to enjoy the breathtaking views of our stunning valley over a glass of award winning Saronsberg wine. We provide all linen and towels as well as complimentary amenities. Most beds can be changed from King-size to single beds to best suit your individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing