We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moonlight rides are a must do!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horse About Trails

Horse About Trails
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Tulbagh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horse About Trails offers magnificent horse trails and activities in the Western Cape. Just over an hour from Cape Town, situated in the majestic Witzenberg Valley, we are conveniently located between the towns of Tulbagh, Wolseley and Ceres, with Riebeek Kasteel and Worcester within easy reach and en route to Citrusdal and the Route62.Take a step back in time on one of our scenic trails in the foothills of the majestic Witzenberg Mountains, through vineyards, forests and farmland, set against a backdrop of arresting beauty.Our horse riding trails are suitable for all levels of rider. Experience the magic of a moonlight ride or book a romantic picnic after your horse ride. Ask about our Horse Riding Holidays.
Wolseley, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Moonlight rides are a must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful experience! Stunning evening ride, horses very well mannered (!)and looked after a novice like myself! Jo and John are very professional and cater for all levels of riders and their needs. A wonderful, unique experience and very special to be able to experience it with my daughter and mother, three generations under the African Moonlight!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolseley, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful personal experience and asset to our beautiful valley.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We are owners of the White Bridge Farm Accommodation. We have been part of many beautiful rides with Jo and John from horseabout from sunset to full moon rides and even a swim in the dam on horseback on a very hot summers afternoon. We have experienced fireflies, seen the traces of a leopard and simply enjoyed the amazing surroundings, sunsets and moon rises - always with a beautiful glass of wine and snack to complete the experience.
As guest house owner this is such a wonderful asset to our valley. This weekend we had a wonderful French family consisting of a Mom, Dad, Granny and five children, all of which joined horseabout for an adventure. Some had never been on a horse before, but all had a fabulous experience and will highly likely visit our valley again due to this happy event. Thank you Jo and John and your wonderful horses for sharing your expertise and surrounding beauty with us and our guests.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank White Bridge Fa... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful outride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I am an experienced horse rider and went on an outride with my partner who is not an experienced rider. I can definitely recommend Horse About to anyone. The horses are very well trained and you will have a comfortable and stress-free ride even if you are scared. The scenery is breathtaking and our guide was such a pleasant person to ride with. The horses are beautiful and very well cared for. All in all it was a great experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrizDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The nature and the serenity!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

If either you're a beginner or experienced rider, there's something for everyone. Ask the guide for different options.

We did a chilled afternoon ride (1h30, cost R200). As an adrenaline junkie, it wasn't too exciting to ride so slowly (as beginners you're only allowed to let it walk or slowly trod), but for first timers who hasn't been on a horse or for a couple looking for a romantic sunset ride, I'd say go for it. The mountain, dams, small forest and vineyards scenery is breathtaking. The horses are well-trained and suitable for family trips. A relaxing Sunday type of activity.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbums302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseAboutTrails, Owner at Horse About Trails, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for joining us for a Horse About adventure and sharing your experiences. We are indeed fortunate to be situated in one of the most scenic areas in the Western Cape. And whilst we might be somewhat biased, believe that our horses are incredible partners! :-)

You are correct - our 1,5 hour trail is principally for novices or guests who woud like to enjoy a scenic meander. We do recommend that experienced riders book our Witzenberg Trail which is aprox 15 kms and includes some great trot and canter stretches. This trail is only suitable for riders comfortable at trot and canter on varied terrain and is very popular with experienced riders.

On behalf of the Horse About team, thank you once again for joining us and we hope you enjoyed your visit to the Witzenberg Valley! We look forward to seeing you here again soon!
all the best Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I can highly recommend Horse About trails in Tulbagh. There were five of us on the outride, two of which had never been on a horse before. John has a way of making one feel at ease and his passion for the horses is evident. The trail itself is great and varied. Although I own my own horse and ride regularly, I am still a nervous rider, but the horse (Commander) was a perfect gentleman and behaved himself impeccably (even though I heard he could be a little naughty at times) as did all the others. Even my son, who at first had not been so keen on riding a horse, enjoyed himself. Warm Regards, the Bell family

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JennyBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseAboutTrails, Owner at Horse About Trails, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear JennyB, we loved meeting your family, and it is always so special to see the smiles of the initially "less convinced" when they return from the trail ride. I believe "Pedro" has a new fan :-)
yes indeed Commander can be mischievous, especially when we knows we are on the faster trail, but as you saw, he will also meander along on the scenic route!

We hope to see you again soon in the Witzenberg Valley for another Horse About adventure!
Thank you for feedback, our guests experiences are important to us!

All the best from the Horse About Team
John, Jo & the Ponies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse About Trails also viewed

Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 

Been to Horse About Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing