We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most amazing way to experience this amazing valley in an adventurous way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Horse About Trails

Horse About Trails
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Tulbagh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horse About Trails offers magnificent horse trails and activities in the Western Cape. Just over an hour from Cape Town, situated in the majestic Witzenberg Valley, we are conveniently located between the towns of Tulbagh, Wolseley and Ceres, with Riebeek Kasteel and Worcester within easy reach and en route to Citrusdal and the Route62.Take a step back in time on one of our scenic trails in the foothills of the majestic Witzenberg Mountains, through vineyards, forests and farmland, set against a backdrop of arresting beauty.Our horse riding trails are suitable for all levels of rider. Experience the magic of a moonlight ride or book a romantic picnic after your horse ride. Ask about our Horse Riding Holidays.
Wolseley, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Most amazing way to experience this amazing valley in an adventurous way.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Horse About is an extremely well run organisation. They offer a variety of ways to enjoy this valley from the back of a horse. You can enjoy sunset trails, full moon rides and general trails of different lengths. Jo and John Lister make it their business to know about the environment and nature and educate their guests on the surroundings whilst enjoying the most amazing views and experience. This is a must for anyone visiting the area and a reason to visit if you were planning a weekend away.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank White Bridge Fa... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Winter horse ride with a view”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What prefect winter weather for a beautiful horse ride in Tulbagh! Absolutely loved our sunset ride, breathtaking view from the look out point over the dam, vineyards and mountain range. Thanks to John & Jo and your well behaved horses for this soul rejuvenating experience. I would recommend this to anyone traveling out Tulbagh/Ceres way for the long weekend!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best first horse ride ever! Sarah & Michael”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A huge thank you to John and Jo who made my first horse ride a fantastic experience. Michael is a more experienced rider and it had been years since he'd been on a horse. We loved the scenery and the guidance given. We'll certainly be back soon for a longer ride!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSpaShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I went horse riding for the first time with a friend at "Horse about". It was great! We rode through the forest and vineyards and the scenery was so stunning. The horses are so well trained and well cared for. I would definently recommend it for anybody!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoofinabout, Owner at Horse About Trails, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Pamela thank you so much for your kind words. Feedback from our guests is invaluable! The winters days are absolutely stunning and so glad that the weather behaved for your ride! We hope to see you back here again soon - next time for a horse trail in the moonlight!! All the best Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolseley, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful reasons to visit the Witzenberg Valley”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Horse About offers the most wonderful outdoor experiences for the whole family whatever your riding capability. You can experience wonderful sun downer or moonlight outings with the most stunning views and guided by the wonderful Jo and John.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank White Bridge Fa... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse About Trails also viewed

Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 

Been to Horse About Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing