We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food”
Review of Manley Wine Lodge

Manley Wine Lodge
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Tulbagh
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 5, 2018

Ordered a caprice salad which was 3 disgusting pieces of sliced aubergines with giant chunky sliced half ripen tomatoes and suspect mozeralla cheese drenched with vinegar and dried Robertson’s basil. Really ...they clearly don’t know what a caprice salad is and the waiter never apologized or called the manager when I complained, it was vile.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Agonyaunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 25 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2017

We have no level of prce we are willing to pay for good food, bust as with so many restaurants, Manleys believe price represents the quality of the restaurant they wish to portray. However, it sets them up for failure and when they fail to deliver anywhere near the bar they have set themselves. As a customer,disappointment is sure to follow. Venue has potential, they just need to work on unlocking it now. Two choices that face this restaurant, raise the standard of food, or lower the prices till they get it right.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank surfverbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017

We had the most incredible lunch for my mother's 80th birthday. The food was fantastic and Michael an absolute treasure. Thanks for singing to my mom! Really special day.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank snoopy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

Wonderful cosy restaurant. Personal service by the owner and chef. We both had steaks, cooked to perfection, with generous servings of veg. Breakfast omlettes great too!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank GaryvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Gorgeous breakfast by very friendly owner and attentive waiter Wesley.. Hopefully you like opera whilst eating because it plays all the time. Also had dinner there which was super. Great fillet steak

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manley Wine Lodge also viewed

Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 

Been to Manley Wine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing