We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Olive Terrace

The Olive Terrace
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Tulbagh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Olive Terrace Bistro at the Tulbagh Hotel: open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner. The a la carte menu is a celebration of South African flavours and locally sourced seasonal fruits and vegetables and we cater for vegetarian, vegan and gluten free diets. All our dishes are prepared in our own kitchen. We also have a wood fired pizza oven. The restaurant supports many community initiatives, buying produce from the Tulbagh Community Garden and sponsoring young people through the City and Guilds Catering course.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two lovely days at the Tulbagh Hotel and dined at the Olive Terrace a lot. The food was fantastic and the portions were more than generous!! What rounded everythnig off was the fantastic friendly service which was very refreshing. The prices are very good and I'd highly recommend a meal under the shade tree on the terrace. Time flies by as you relax with a chilled bottle of wine and watch the world go by.

Highly Recommended !!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for your review Ian.
Great to have you returning to the Tulbagh Hotel and the Olive Terrace Bistro for the fourth visit!
You seemed to make the most of the South African sun dining by the pool and under the White Karee tree, and savouring the Tulbagh wines! Nice break from the UK winter!
Hope you will return again next Christmas?
Take care
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    132
    29
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suider-Paarl, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wish we booked”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

i wish we booked an outside table at the olive terrace, but wait we did. they forgot about our reservation and thus we did not feel welcome waiting to be seated and served something to cool down, we were a little dissapointed and left...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hi Louis
Thanks for your review and highlighting the problem.Our Tripadvisor reviews often mention the friendly and helpful nature of the staff, so I was particularly concerned about your comments. I have made enquiries with the staff, and you are quite correct that you made a reservation for an outside table. The reservation was taken by Natasha who is 6 months pregnant and by her own admission is struggling at times to maintain her attention to detail. She informed me that she personally apologised to you, informed the duty manager, Heidi, who also apologised to you. At a staff meeting on 21 December it was re-emphasised that reservations must be properly noted and the table reserved. Please accept my apology for your disappointment. Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraaifontein, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Every order we placed - was exquisite!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Liked everything.
There honestly wasn't anything not to like.
The lattes were good.
Best curry and creamy pasta and dessert. My heart and belly were content.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank valentinaradisic86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hi Valentina
Many thanks for your kind review. Our summer menu has dropped the curry for a few months, but we have some exciting new dishes including an pork, apple and sage burger, and a seasonal salad incorporating local fruits and vegetables which are now in season.
Best wishes
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bubz2005
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The olive tree provides lots of shade. The terrace faces the main road, and unfortunately a lot of poor people hang around in this street, almost looking the food of your plate and plundering the garbage bins in front of the restaurant, this doesn't make having lunch here the best expierence.
The food was okay, although i had to wait for my simple burger for 30 minutes. The burger was to juicy, soaked up all my fries. There are better places to eat in Tulbagh.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bubz2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Our stoep shaded by the White Karee tree, sits higher than the main street and many guests and locals alike, enjoy watching the world go by from this vantage point. Tulbagh is a busy South African market town, but like so many places is not immune to unemployment. We have tripled the number of local people we employ over 4 years and invest heavily in staff training and skills. We have dedicated staff who I am very proud of.

We have alternative dining areas, our air conditioned indoor restaurant and our secluded courtyard with water feature and balcony. If the staff had been aware of your discomfort, they would have happily moved you to one of the other dining areas.

I apologise for your 30 minute wait for the lamb burger, and your comments about the juice. As with all of our menu we endeavour to use local produce and 'make our own',and cook freshly to order. Our lamb burger patties are made in our own kitchen, and as they contain lean fresh meat there are meat juices when it is cooked. Our French fries are also hand cut and cooked to order. I hope you will give us a second chance with a return visit as we are introducing our summer menu incorporating local fresh seasonal fruits and vegetables.

Kind regards

Alasdair McRobbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Away
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return visit to this excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I ate at the Olive Terrace again during my recent stay at the Tulbagh Hotel in September 2012. I'm pleased to say they have maintained or improved their standards. The menu is interesting, the service attentive without being intrusive and the food delicious. During my stay I sampled breakfast, lunch & dinner - all were to the same high standard.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kilmore_Keynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Terrace also viewed

Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 

Been to The Olive Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing