We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rijks Country House
Ranked #3 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed two nights last week, but would have loved to stay longer.

The staff and front of house were incredibly attentive and no request was too much for them.

The hotel is in very good nick, and the calm and tranquility offered, in the cradle of 360 degree mountain views was phenomenal.

Even in the heatwave conditions (upper 30 celsius), our stay was more than comfortable, thanks to the beautiful pool and super-efficient aircons & fans.

Our two young daughters loved to explore around the grounds, and were delighted when hotel staff took the time to make home-made lemonade with them.

Cherry on top was the surprise car wash we were treated to before leaving - wow!

Great food, top-quality service and wonderful location only 1.5 hours from Cape Town: highly recommended.

Room Tip: They all looked equal - there are 12 double (couple) rooms and 3 family units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    78
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
43
174
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We arrived for just one night, but decided to stay another night as it was all so relaxing! The things we loved were the glass of cold white wine on arrival, and the genuine welcome from Trevor, Louis, and Freda with her lovely smile. It was a hot day, but when we were shown to our room the aircon had already been put on. The little note on the vine leaf on the bed was a very nice touch, as were the subsequent notes when the room was turned down each evening. The room was perfect, nothing had been forgotten, the bed was so comfortable, with lovely pure cotton sheets and fluffy towels and bathrobes. The bathroom was beautiful. It was nice to have the choice of the aircon or the ceiling fan. It was all so peaceful and quiet that we just chilled out most of the time. Two more things really stood out, one was having our car washed by the gardener just before leaving, and also the little bag of refreshments for our journey home. We are already looking forward to returning to this lovely place. Thank you again to all of you at Rijks, you are doing a wonderful job!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a family gathering for 3 days. The staff were fantastic, friendly, helpful and charming. The food was excellent and scenary was spectacular. The rooms are big and very comfortable and always cool in for the hot summer days and nights. Make use of the big bath and the double headed showers. Take a stroll through the beautiful grounds and vineyards and see a large variety of birdlife. For parents is also a great area and outdoor venue for all children. If you are into fishing make sure you take bait or lures for carp and not bass fishing! Thanks again to all the staff from the gardeners to the kitchen staff for making it a very memorable and relaxing weekend! We definitely recommend this venue for business, couples, friends family or solo

Room Tip: All rooms are great and are equal - there are bigger rooms for parents with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My family and I shared a wonderful, relaxing weekend together at Rijks! The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The meals were delicious and the scenery is spectacular! The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Its the perfect place to relax within beautiful, peaceful surroundings. If going during summer time, the pool area a great spot to spend some time at! There are also lovely walks, mountain bike trails and wine tasting available!

Room Tip: There are rooms for couples and families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a wonderful stay, they really go the extra mile in making you welcome and always having that personal touch that makes such a special weekend. From a rose and vine leaves on your bed when you arrive to a little chocolate on your pillow when you go to bed. Also a great place to ride your bikes in the area. The aircon is amazing and the linen really soft. Will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capetown22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a lovely weekend break away! Stunning setting, Friendly staff, Outstanding food, Fantastic value for money. Will be back and most certainly be recommending to all family and friend to take a trip and stay over!!!!

Consistent attentiveness from management, who ensured that the weekend was without fault, is not something you find often - made us feel like kings!

THANK YOU for the great weekend!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Rijks this weekend. Friendly helpfull staff!! I believed new Management.> and the new Menu is great!! The view from our beautifull modern bedroom was magnificent and the pool a big bonus for the heatwave that hit Tulbagh the weekend when we were there. Can't wait to see what they are planning for Valentines Day!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mientjie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, One of the Owners at Rijks Country House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Mientjie S, Thank you for this very positive feedback. Yes, it was a big weekend for us as we launched the new menu and also welcomed Trevor and Louis into their new management roles at Rijk’s. We are very excited about the positive changes we are making at Rijk’s and please check our website and Facebook for upcoming details on Valentines Day. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Very best wishes, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulbagh
16.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.5 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
0.9 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
1.4 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rijks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rijks Country House

Property: Rijks Country House
Address: Van der Stel Street Ext. | Winterhoek Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rijks Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful Tulbagh valley, this exquisite four star country house offers travellers and day visitors an exceptional experience in both service and facilities with remarkable attention to detail and a graceful elegance. Rijk's Country House is situated on the eminent Rijk’s Wine farm, home to Rijk’s Private Cellar, five minutes from the centre of Tulbagh. High trees and an abundance of Iceberg roses welcome you onto the Estate from where you can see hills of vineyards set against the Obiqua and Winterhoek Mountains. Restored Cape Dutch style buildings are the frame-work within which you will experience classic furnishings and a warm and relaxed ambiance. Should you wish to sample or purchase wines from the Estate, enjoy the Polo wine bar and tasting room where visitors can sit around a large restored wooden table, or outside on the terrace with its incredible views of the valley. Otherwise, relax in the charming lounge where you will find a library of reading materials and a cosy fireplace. International and traditional cuisine coupled with impeccable service can be enjoyed in the hotel’s intimate restaurant, Que Sera, or at a high table in the private dining area, Mon Ami. Alternatively, the outside Iceberg terrace is the perfect place to relax whilst having a decadently large cup of coffee, a glass of wine or dining al-fresco overlooking the dam or under the stars. Luxury and Superior rooms and Family Cottages - evident of innovative design and stylish fittings – have their own private terrace overlooking a river - along which you will find a swimming pool, braai and lapa area, the French game of boules and hundreds of beautiful roses. In the evenings you can sit on your terrace and watch the sun set behind the surrounding mountains, leaving the vineyards and trees silhouetted by a brilliant pink and orange sky. Picnic on the banks of the river or enjoy a romantic walk through the vineyards and rose gardens. Explore the town with its quaint shops and restaurants, travel the surrounding wine routes, or – for the more adventurous – go hiking or horse-riding through the vineyards and up the mountains. An all-encompassing luxurious experience with a beautiful view out of every window, Rijk’s Country House is sure to leave you feeling rejuvenated, relaxed and like you have discovered a little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rijks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing