We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the vines”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rijks Country House
Ranked #3 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“in the vines”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I was given 2 nights in this lovely little hotel as a birthday present during my recent holiday in South Africa. The drive from Cape Town took about 1 1/2 hours passing Paarl and welllington. The countryside changes through vineyards and fynbos,wheatfields and cattle meadows. The surrounding hills and mountains are so lovely and then after the little town of Tulbagh we came across Rijk's Country house down an avenue of trees about half a mile from the town. The buildings are of Cape Dutch style and fit seamlessly into the landscape and totally surrounded by vines.
We were given the most courteous and friendly of welcomes and asked wether we would like tos settle into our rooms or have luncheon first. When we said we would like to move into our rooms we were asked if we would like some refreshment and large glasses of the most delicious chilled wine were given to us. Just my type of welcome!
Our room was spacious with no ceiling just space up to the beams and thatched roof ,aircon and ceiling fan, really comfortable beds, and proper useable bedside lights, superbe bathroom with two types of shower as well as bath, two washbasins and enviable toiletries. The loo was in its own room with washbasin. Very civilised indeed.
The cottage also had a large flat screen TV with satelite conection, choice teas, hot chocolate and the most delicious packets of ground coffee (with caffetiers), real milk in the fridge with full supplies of drinks. There were comfy seats and up to date magazines. Outside there was a magic view of the rose beds and vines stretching up the hillside and flowers and vines all around us- so peaceful. In the evening we sat on our veranda sipping local wine and watching the sun go down behind the hills after an afternoon lying by the pool on very comfortable loungers and having the occasional dip to cool down as it was about 35C.
The outdoor dining room was so pretty and the food and wine as imaginative and delicious as the general ambiance had suggested it would be. We ate all our meals at the hotel as there seemed no point in going elsewhere when it was all so good. Any comment or enquiry was promptly and happily with.
There are vineyards and tastings all around with very different characters but it was lovely to come back to stay where we were so warmly welcomed and so well looked after. We left reluctantly and will certainly go back when we can. Rijk's is a lovely place with charming staff and very reasonably priced- do add Tulbagh to any SA adventure and eat and stay at Rijk's.

Room Tip: all rooms look out over the vines and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    78
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
44
177
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

What a wonderful suprise to have found this jewel tucked away on a working farm just outside of of Tulbagh. Great and helpful staff for which no effort is too much. A Beautiful setting overlooking the roses and vines on to the mountains. The accommodation is special indeed. We really enjoyed our short stay and will without a doubt return.

Room Tip: All equally pretty and well situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We had a awsome time, It was Ian's birthday and we had a special 7 course meal with accompanying wines on the Friday evening, A birthday cake with magic candles , beautiful food and incredible friends and even better wines, made on the estate. The plus was, we could let our hair down, have fun, definitely finish all the wine - oh yes - and walk , or should I say stagger down the pathway to our rooms! We did champaigne tasting, which was a experience on its own, had lotsa fun at the bar in the afternoon , watching rugby and once again, getting into the party mode ! I would love to return to Rijks again and make more special memories., definitely an experience that i would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. What a fantastic place. The food was out of this world and the pairing of wines was phenomenal. I would say that the food out-classed any restaurant in the gourmet capital, Franschhoek. The staff were very friendly and were on the ball at all times. They also had a great sense of humour.

The rooms were very spacious and clean. Could not believe the showers they had. They were fantastic. The rooms had great views of the mountains and vineyards.

Please do yourselves a favour and visit this place if you are in the area. Also visit the "champagne" farm called Krone. Very, very interesting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My wife and I discovered by accident this rustique guesthouse, hidden between the warm hills of Tulbagh in 2009, when we stopped for lunch on our long road to the west coast. We were immediately surprised by the beautiful view overlooking the winelands and lake, the warm welcome and the exquisite food. So surprised even that we came back a few days later to enjoy the absolute peace and quietness... and their sunset with a glass of one of their price winning white wines. The rooms are a delight and well equipped with air-conditioning. Unique is the double (!) shower to shower separately but together at the same time. In 2010, after proposing to my wife at the deck by their lake, we experienced for the first time that 'second home'-feeling, which we would, from then, experience at every visit and which prompted us to organize our wedding in february 2011 on their grounds. An absolute unforgettable experience, due to the kindness of the staff, their exquisite service and the organization talents of the management team !

If you are looking for a place to relax and getting spoiled by a staff who's objective is to make you feel at home, if you like enjoying delicious wines and food, then this is the place for you to watch the sun go down over the vineyards of Tulbagh... Thanks to CJ, Louisa, Heinrich, Dany and the entire Rijks team for all those magical moments ! We'll be back soon !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe_Herman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We have stayed here on numerous times and found the staff very friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. I never get fed up of looking at the view to the mountains and and down through the roses to the dam and looking at the birds. The pool area is very relaxing and peaceful. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable.

The food is tasty and the ability to tweek the dishes to accommodate is not a problem. It is also good to see other wines on the menu as there are some fantastic choices in the Tulbagh area.

It is also nice to get free wi fi.

Such a wonderful town as well to visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms look over the roses and the dam so any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Rijks Country House was the most wonderfull place you can imagine. The people are so friendly and make you feel at home. I am from Holland and my husband and I got married in this fantastic hotel. They treated us like family and not just us, our entire entourage! The food was amazing, the wines even better (if possible). We will certainly go back there to celebrate our first wedding anniversary there this year!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulbagh
16.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
665 reviews
1.5 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
1.3 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
2.3 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rijks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rijks Country House

Property: Rijks Country House
Address: Van der Stel Street Ext. | Winterhoek Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rijks Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful Tulbagh valley, this exquisite four star country house offers travellers and day visitors an exceptional experience in both service and facilities with remarkable attention to detail and a graceful elegance. Rijk's Country House is situated on the eminent Rijk’s Wine farm, home to Rijk’s Private Cellar, five minutes from the centre of Tulbagh. High trees and an abundance of Iceberg roses welcome you onto the Estate from where you can see hills of vineyards set against the Obiqua and Winterhoek Mountains. Restored Cape Dutch style buildings are the frame-work within which you will experience classic furnishings and a warm and relaxed ambiance. Should you wish to sample or purchase wines from the Estate, enjoy the Polo wine bar and tasting room where visitors can sit around a large restored wooden table, or outside on the terrace with its incredible views of the valley. Otherwise, relax in the charming lounge where you will find a library of reading materials and a cosy fireplace. International and traditional cuisine coupled with impeccable service can be enjoyed in the hotel’s intimate restaurant, Que Sera, or at a high table in the private dining area, Mon Ami. Alternatively, the outside Iceberg terrace is the perfect place to relax whilst having a decadently large cup of coffee, a glass of wine or dining al-fresco overlooking the dam or under the stars. Luxury and Superior rooms and Family Cottages - evident of innovative design and stylish fittings – have their own private terrace overlooking a river - along which you will find a swimming pool, braai and lapa area, the French game of boules and hundreds of beautiful roses. In the evenings you can sit on your terrace and watch the sun set behind the surrounding mountains, leaving the vineyards and trees silhouetted by a brilliant pink and orange sky. Picnic on the banks of the river or enjoy a romantic walk through the vineyards and rose gardens. Explore the town with its quaint shops and restaurants, travel the surrounding wine routes, or – for the more adventurous – go hiking or horse-riding through the vineyards and up the mountains. An all-encompassing luxurious experience with a beautiful view out of every window, Rijk’s Country House is sure to leave you feeling rejuvenated, relaxed and like you have discovered a little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rijks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing