We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms, friendly staff, relaxing, romantic stay”
Review of Tulbagh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tulbagh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely rooms, friendly staff, relaxing, romantic stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Even though the hotel is right in the middle of town, our room was quiet and very comfortable, with a great range of mini bar wines.
The staff were very friendly and gave great suggestions as to what to do in the area.
Fantastic anniversary getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleMacnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Michele many thanks for leaving your review, and very pleased to hear you enjoyed your anniversary. Tulbagh produces a great range of wines and we happily support our local wine makers.
Hope to see you back in Tulbagh soon.
Best wishes
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    151
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
115
345
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had at the Tulbagh Hotel. Heidi was wonderful with the initial reservations & Danelle & Liane were efficient & friendly once we arrived at the hotel. Tulbagh Hotel is situated in the heart of the town, so we parked on Friday afternoon and did not use our car until Saturday evening. Everything is accessible on foot and the staff at the hotel were happy to assist us with things to see & do around the town.
The dinner on Friday night was really scrumptious. I would highly recommend the springbok carpaccio & the lamb burger. Wesley was very pleasant, attentive & knowledgeable.
Breakfast was ample served with both strawberry jam & a marmalade, so all tastes are catered for. Wilmarie & Simone made breakfast a real treat by ensuring that the first coffee/tea is served piping hot & quickly.

We stayed in the Rijk Tulbagh room which is across the street from the main hotel. It was wonderful & quiet & the room was glorious, with a king size bed. The bathroom has both a shower and massive bath fit for two people.

We had such a wonderful time that we are wondering how soon we can return to Tulbagh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puppy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi
It was very nice to meet you both and have the chance to chat. Very pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing break with us in Tulbagh. A very special thank you for the donation of pet food for our local group of volunteers who ensure all pets in Tulbagh are taken care of and found new homes when necessary. Thanks for mentioning the staff by name, it's much appreciated by all. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, FL
Level Contributor
186 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Delightful little place in the Golden Valley - but we did not stay here only had a very nice evening dinner. Will recommend this English Style dining room with good food and responsive waitress to visitors in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Many thanks for calling by for dinner. Our new spring menu is now available, and features smoked snoek pate, local salmon trout salad, yellowtail fishcakes, game fillet, homemade ice cream with local fruits and nuts and my favourite coconut pannacotta. Hope you will come and stay with us next time you visit.
Best wishes
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

What a great start to our holliday! Restaurant is really good staff are super helpfull, friendly and accomodating. Would highly recommend to everyone. Free wifi and mountain bikes to rent an absolute bonus!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenceh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Pleased to hear you ventured out with the mountain bikes. As the town sits on the floor of the valley there are some very easy rides out to the vineyards. And for the more adventurous you can follow in the tracks of the Cape Epic with some routes through orchards and along side the majestic mountains.
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Disa Room.
The room was amazing - the most comfortable king size bed, awesome shower and bathroom....all pure luxury.
The service was fantastic and the food was excellent.

We will definitely be back soon.

The hotel is rated as four star.....but we think it could easily have a five star rating!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Jen
Thanks for your very complementary review. The staff were delighted to hear that we approach 5 star standards! The Disa room which you stayed in is our standard level room. We will have to try and tempt you with the Saronsberg suite on a return visit!
Best wishes
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

An amazing place to stay while doing the tourist thing in Tulbagh and surrounds. Centrally located in the main road with a beautiful swimming pool for the hot days, picturesque mountain views, beautiful rooms and a very good restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King Protea Family room - Big and spacious with a very nice bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeraTokai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Vera
Many thanks for the kind review. Now the weather is improving and spring is in the air we are looking forward to making good use of our pool again. The snow has melted on the mountains and the flowers and blossom are a picture.
Hope you will manage to visit us again soon.
Best wishes
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly and curtious. They succeeded in making our stay very very pleasant.
The rooms was neat and comfortable.
The food was very tasty and good value for money. The hotel is very well situated and all local wine farm is easily accessible from here.

Very Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Jaco
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am always delighted to read complementary reviews of the staff. We are fortunate to have a great team who are very proud of the hotel and the improvements we have made together over the years.
Kind regards
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulbagh
15.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.4 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
0.3 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulbagh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulbagh Hotel

Property: Tulbagh Hotel
Address: 22 Van Der Stel Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulbagh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tulbagh is centrally-located and conveniently placed to explore the town with its historic Church Street and many other attractions and amenities. The main hotel building dates from 1859 & offers a range of contemporary-styled luxurious rooms. The Winterhoek Manor(1813) and the Toll House(1809), opposite the hotel, are two of the heritage properties in Church Street, offering charming period rooms. Individual décor and fine cotton linen adorning four poster beds. Chandeliers on yellowwood beamed ceilings. Our Honeymoon Suite is the jewel in our crown. Crafted from the old wagon shed, this suite oozes romantic charm. Open thatch, two fireplaces, bath and shower for two. There are three pool areas, free Wi-Fi throughout and an in-house beauty therapist. All areas have air conditioning and there are cosy wood-burning fires for winter evenings. Tulbagh is just over an hours drive from Cape Town, nestled at the foot of the Witzenburg, Winterhoek and Obiqua Mountains in the heart of the Cape Winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tulbagh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing