We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tulbagh SECRET surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tulbagh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tulbagh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tulbagh SECRET surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a great little property - excellent modern rooms , fantastic bathrooms - attentive and very good staff offering friendly service - a don't miss HOTEL walking distance to all the must see places in Tulbagh including Historic Church Street. Food and ambiance GREAT , fire places - just a pleasant unexpected surprise - I hope to visit again soon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Travellingpete6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Pete
Thanks for taking the time to write the review, and very pleased to read your generous comments.
We continually strive to create the ambiance and facilities that we would hope to find in a hotel we were visiting.
Hope to see you back at the Tulbagh Hotel soon.
Kind regards
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    143
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
107
320
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellville, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was terrific - people friendly and kind - atmosphere cozy with the fires in the restaurant and living room - rooms clean and fresh everyday!! Lots of sight seeing and it was quiet so there is enough space to get your battery's reloaded after a good rest at the Hotel!! Loved the art in the room would have like to bought one or too, maybe a next time!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Anie
Many thanks for the review. You are quite right Tulbagh is the place to relax and recharge the batteries. I'm very pleased we were able to contribute. The art is all from the local art class,and it's a pleasure to be able to display their work.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great staff. Food great. Room is great. Lovely terrace on a sunny day. Definitely best service in town. Old character with modern features. Kingsize bed. Amazing toiletries to use in big shower. Supper in dining room with fire place which makes it very cosy on cold evenings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Elise
Many thanks for your kind review. Very pleased to hear you got a sunny day after the recent snow we had in Tulbagh. Still cold in the evening, so as you say it's cosy to sit in front of the log fire with a glass of Tulbagh wine!
Hope to welcome you back soon.
All the best
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Northern Suburbs
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

An hotel right in the middle of things; could not be more convenient. The room we stayed in - "the Disa" is very nicely appointed and comfortable. The staff are all most pleasant and helpful, the restaurant provides excellent meals coupled with a very reasonable wine list. Overall well worth a visit - there is plenty to do in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi David
Many thanks for your kind review and for your great photographs of the new staircase, the restaurant and the Disa room where you stayed. I tried taking some photos myself recently, but they were nowhere near as good as yours! Please come back again and take some more shots for us!
Best wishes
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Often stay in Tulbagh and the Tulbagh Hotel has a great restaurant. Very nicely refurbished, very good food at good prices. Highly recommended. Recently renovated but have not stayed in the rooms yet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynKadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi Robyn
Many thanks for your review of our restaurant, the Olive Terrace Bistro. We make a big effort to use local produce and make everything in house, including bread, chutneys and ice cream. As winter comes to an end we are just putting the finishing touches to our spring menu.
Hope you will come and stay in one of our rooms soon.
Kind regards
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent two nights here last week. We were greeted warmly by Heidi, who gave us a map of the area and pointed out all the interesting places to visit. She then showed us to our room. The room was spacious with a king size bed with a very comfortable mattress. The shower was huge and powerful. The area is stunning with all the trees in blossom. We had two days of exploring. We ate at the hotel on both evenings, and found the food excellent. I was surprised that the waitress was wearing a tracksuit top. It seemed a bit strange for a 4 star hotel, but she was pleasant and efficient, so it was no problem. I left my cell phone behind and the friendly staff have promised to post it back to me. It hasn't arrived yet, but I am hoping it will get here safely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank civharas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. I'm pleased you had an enjoyable stay in Tulbagh and that Heidi was able to help you plan your visit.
Regarding the staff uniform, we are currently waiting delivery of new uniforms. The original order was delivered with incorrect sizes, however, the correct sizes should be with us within the next couple of weeks, and I feel confident the staff will then look very smart. Thank you for your understanding.
Kind regards
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and myself and two friends and their daughter, enjoyed a wonderful weekend away at the Tulbagh Hotel, the staff were amazing, helpful and friendly. The rooms were veryneat and tidy and well kept, the bed was very comfortable. The food at the restuarant was really great and good value for money and so was the wine prices. We will most definately be back, when the weather warms up, but a great get away in winter as there is a nice fire place in the bar/restuarant area, Another thing, lovely artwork hanging on the walls all over the hotel. Heidi at reception must us feel at home and was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CidneyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Cidney
I was very pleased to her that your husband and friends enjoyed your weekend at the Tulbagh Hotel.
There has been quite a lot of snow on the surrounding mountains this winter, which is very atmospheric, but now it is time for spring!
The art work is all from local people who attend the Tulbagh art class. They have very generously agreed to hang their paintings in the hotel, and are available for purchase.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulbagh
15.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
16.5 mi away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
1.0 mi away
Manley Wine Lodge
Manley Wine Lodge
#6 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulbagh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulbagh Hotel

Property: Tulbagh Hotel
Address: 22 Van Der Stel Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulbagh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tulbagh is centrally-located and conveniently placed to explore the town with its historic Church Street and many other attractions and amenities. The main hotel building dates from 1859 & offers a range of contemporary-styled luxurious rooms. The Winterhoek Manor(1813) and the Toll House(1809), opposite the hotel, are two of the heritage properties in Church Street, offering charming period rooms. Individual décor and fine cotton linen adorning four poster beds. Chandeliers on yellowwood beamed ceilings. Our Honeymoon Suite is the jewel in our crown. Crafted from the old wagon shed, this suite oozes romantic charm. Open thatch, two fireplaces, bath and shower for two. There are three pool areas, free Wi-Fi throughout and an in-house beauty therapist. All areas have air conditioning and there are cosy wood-burning fires for winter evenings. Tulbagh is just over an hours drive from Cape Town, nestled at the foot of the Witzenburg, Winterhoek and Obiqua Mountains in the heart of the Cape Winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tulbagh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing