We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”
Review of Tulbagh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tulbagh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I paid a return visit to Tulbagh Hotel on 30 & 31 July 2013 and stayed in one of their luxury en suite rooms. We were very impressed with the refurbishments that have taken place since our last visit in October 2012. Everything was spotless and the staff very friendly and eager to please. Our room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable. We had breakfast on the morning of the 31st July. The granola and yogurt and fresh fruit was delicious and well-priced at R38 but we felt that the Early Bird breakfast at R60 was expensive compared to the full farm-house breakfast offered at another local winery for the same price.This is our only negative comment. Although we didn't make use of the outside pool or garden area, they looked excellent.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the luxury room, although the standard room is perfectly adequate for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Veronica
Many thanks for returning to the Tulbagh Hotel, and your kind comments about the renovations that we have carried out over the last year. I'm pleased it is now complete and our guests can enjoy the results, which we are delighted with. The breakfast you mentioned is priced accurately with the same margin as all our other meals. I guess other establishments may work out their costings differently. However, I am pleased you brought it to my attention. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    152
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
116
363
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Overall our stay was comfortable. The food was very nice and reasonably priced. It was the best place we had supper in Tulbagh. It was nice and clean and the service warm. The drawback would be that our particular room, Erica, was on the street and it was quiet noisy. Also we could hear the neighbours' whole conversation next door as well as their 2 year old daughter crying at night.

I would recommend double glazing for the rooms facing the main road and some sort of sound insulation between the rooms. Otherwise just ask for a room that is not on the street side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzaan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Suzaan Thank you for your review and highlighting some issues you had. Firstly, many thanks for the generous comments regarding our restaurant, the Olive Terrace Bistro. We are thrilled that it is rated the number one restaurant in Tulbagh, and we are always endeavouring to introduce new dishes and local produce. We will shortly be introducing gemsbok to our game offerings.
Regarding your Fynbos room Erica, in our recent renovations double glazing was installed and sound insulation above the ceilings and in the floor space, and tests were carried out to assess noise levels between rooms, and the results were good. I know that the sound of a child crying can travel more than the sound from a TV for example. We have tested the noise attenuation between the two rooms again, using the volume levels of the TVs as the source of noise, and the results were good . I can only assume that the sound of a child crying and the pitch of the sound is more difficult to attenuate. I do apologise to the disturbance you experienced. Kind regards Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a much needed breakaway in the Tulbach Hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom modern, clean with a big bath and shower. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and can really recommend it. Good food and wine and reasonably priced. The log-fire created a special atmosphere on a cold winter night. The hotel is very central. We visited some of the wine-farms in the area as well as historical sites recommended. Free Wifi also helped to keep in contact and find information about the area. We will definitely recommend a stay and will be back soon.

Room Tip: Something that the hotel cannot change is the noise in the main road especially over weekends. So if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stel_Swart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi many thanks for your review, and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and wine on offer in our restaurant, the Olive Terrace Bistro. The wood burning fires really help take the chill off a cold winter night, when there is snow lying on the mountains around the town. I pleased the staff were proactive in offering to assist you with your plans whilst in Tulbagh. I always feel it helps to be given so suggestions as to the things not to miss when visiting a new place. Kind regards Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much! Staff very very friendly, room nice & big and a lovely fireplace
in lounge where we spend the evening. There are many good restaurants and places of
interest very close by

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi Cari
Thanks for taking the time to write the review. The hotel is in town, but as you state is easy walking distance from a number of good restaurants, museums and historic Church Street. Hope you will visit Tulbagh again in the future. Best wishes Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Heidi was quick to respond to my online request for pet friendly accommodation, to accommodate our blind & diabetic husky, rather recommending one of Tulbach Hotel's self- catering houses with a huge private garden that would better suit our needs to have space to leave our 2 dogs while exploring the lovely town.
As Honey Oaks' property borders on its own vineyard and then the river that runs through the town, the property is not fully enclosed, Heidi informed me of this and offered to make a plan to secure the patio, in order for our blind husky not to get lost.
On arrival the maintenance team arrived with a door, that was used as a make shift gate, this was perfect to keep our babies save. They also brought a braai for us that we could use on the patio at night when we wanted to stay close to our 2 4-legged friends around a cosy fire. We were even offered to order dinner from the hotel, delivered to our house.
It was really a pleasure dealing with the accommodating and friendly Tulbach Hotel staff- thanks for making our stay very comfortable, we had a lovely time and will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Yvette
I was very pleased to read that Heidi was able to come up with a plan to suit you, and I'm sure Honey Oaks was a good solution, with the garden area for you to use. Heidi is a real asset to the Hotel and always goes out of her way to help out whenever possible. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for the festival weekend and enjoyed the hospitality. Your staff are wonderful, as is the dining room bar area on a chilly winters evening. We ate in both nights and the food was great.
We did have an issue with no hot water on our first morning due to the geyser having been left on solar, I believe, and did end up taking quick lukewarm showers due to the length of time it then took to heat up....not great on a cold Tulbagh winters morning.....
We fortunately do have another two nights due to a special deal bought, so look forward to another stay soon, maybe when there is some snow about.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank africanbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to write your review, and for your kind comments.

I have investigated the situation regards the lack of hot water. When you reported the situation the staff thought that the timer had probably malfunctioned which switches on the electric heating element in the early hours of the morning as the solar panels are unable to provide hot water first thing in the morning.
The staff switched the control to bypass the timer. However, as the morning progressed the sun and the solar panels heated the water which convinced the staff even more that there was a timer issue.
Only when the situation repeated itself the following morning did they believe there was an additional problem. The technician arrived and duly reported a faulty connection to the electric heating element. So when you return for your additional 2 nights stay with us I sincerely hope you will have plenty of hot water, and there will be snow on the mountains. Best wishes Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Booked a suite on new wing. Nice room with excellent bed but can you believe it, no blankets in room in middle of winter! Nice wooden fireplace. When we arrived in the dining room we were informed (in no friendly manner) that we cant have dinner there because we are not part of the "group". Eventually (after an argument) we were informed that we may sit down for dinner. We decided to leave and had a superiour dinner at the Readers Restaurant. The next morning we were offered a free breakfast (that was always include in the past). Compliments to the chef for a great breakfast. It willl be difficult to go back as many times before after the dinner experience.

Room Tip: New wing honeymoon suite but ask for winter specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Christo Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. However, after some investigation I feel your comments are somewhat disingenuous. I always strive to be objective and admit mistakes where they have been made. I shall address your comments individually.

We have purposely disposed of blankets. Your room had a log burning stove, duck down duvet and the latest air conditioning unit, which can heat the room to 30 degrees if required! Why would you need a blanket?

The hotel restaurant had been booked for a private pre wedding function. Your room only became available at the last minute as a wedding guest had to cancel. We omitted to inform you when you checked in that the restaurant was not open that evening due to the private function. Our mistake and I apologise sincerely for that. However, you did not ask to make a reservation for dinner.

When you came down to the restaurant, you were politely informed that there was a private function and asked if you were part of it. When you stated your desire to dine at the hotel, you were not denied, there was no argument, and indeed the staff made a plan to accommodate you, and were apologetic. Whilst the duty manager was informing the kitchen that you would be dining with us, you left the restaurant without informing the staff that you had decided to dine elsewhere?

Our rates are room rates only as you will see from our web site. This is intentional as it allows us to keep the room rate at a competitive level, and those who don't eat breakfast don't feel they are paying for something they don't require. So when you accepted the offer of a complementary breakfast and 2 complementary bottles of wine from the General Manager, you were not receiving something you had already paid for!

I feel we made a considerable effort to apologise for any inconvenience and to provide complementary breakfast and wine. It did not spoil your evening as you stated you had an enjoyable dinner at Readers Restaurant. Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulbagh
15.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
60 reviews
2.9 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
0.3 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulbagh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulbagh Hotel

Property: Tulbagh Hotel
Address: 22 Van Der Stel Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulbagh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tulbagh is centrally-located and conveniently placed to explore the town with its historic Church Street and many other attractions and amenities. The main hotel building dates from 1859 & offers a range of contemporary-styled luxurious rooms. The Winterhoek Manor(1813) and the Toll House(1809), opposite the hotel, are two of the heritage properties in Church Street, offering charming period rooms. Individual décor and fine cotton linen adorning four poster beds. Chandeliers on yellowwood beamed ceilings. Our Honeymoon Suite is the jewel in our crown. Crafted from the old wagon shed, this suite oozes romantic charm. Open thatch, two fireplaces, bath and shower for two. There are three pool areas, free Wi-Fi throughout and an in-house beauty therapist. All areas have air conditioning and there are cosy wood-burning fires for winter evenings. Tulbagh is just over an hours drive from Cape Town, nestled at the foot of the Witzenburg, Winterhoek and Obiqua Mountains in the heart of the Cape Winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tulbagh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing