We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Tulbagh Hotel in January 2013. What an awesome experience. The rooms are decorated beautifully with the most amazing showers. I also loved the shower gel, shampoo and conditioner that they had for guest use. So much that I actually drove to the Spa to buy some for my house. The service was great and we have found the staff to be so friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. Looking forward to visiting the hotel again in the near future. Absolutely awesome !!!! Lynette

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynettedeWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Lynette, many thanks for the review. It was particularly rewarding to read your comments as we have recently finished renovating all our rooms and bathrooms. I am pleased to say that the standard of the rooms consistently meets guests' expectations, and on occasion exceeds their expectations. We have incorporated many energy saving solutions in our refurbishment program.
Inverter heat pump air conditioning units, solar water geysers, LED lighting and double glazed windows. Hope to welcome you back to Tulbagh soon!
Best wishes
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 771 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Tulbagh Hotel. It's set right in the heart of this little village with beautiful surroundings. They were helpful in making things work for our family. Our room was really nice and the food at the restaurant was creative and tasty. We would definitely recommend this spot. There isn't a ton to do in Tulbagh, but that's part of the point of a getaway, right?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hi, pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your recent visit. We have a couple of options for families. We have a Cape Dutch architecture cottage,the Toll House, which sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms, with its own private and secure garden, with pool and braai. This can be on a self catering basis or meals can be taken at the Olive Terrace Bistro, at the hotel. We also have rooms in the hotel with a pull out sofa bed, so families with a young child can stay in the same room together, in comfort.
The children are also well catered for in our restaurant, and the hotel has a large pool area which is very popular with families.
Best wishes
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We loved our time at the charming Tulbagh Hotel. The staff was amazing and really catered to our family of four. The food was DIVINE at the restaurant and our room was gorgeous. Highly reccomend for couples or families. Beautiful place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hi Sarah, thanks for taking the time to post your review, much appreciated. We print off the reviews and hand them to our staff at our regular staff meetings. We take great pride in the complementary reviews, but also use the occasional constructive criticisms for discussion at the meetings. It really helps us maintain the standards and levels of service that we all aspire to, and our guests expect.
Safe travels

Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent two nights here in January and can really recommend it to anyone who wants to put their feet up and let the world go by.From check in to departure we were treated like royalty. Our room was extremely comfortable and well appointed, with the little extra,s that just add that personal touch that are so often lacking. The staff were courteous and efficient and went out of their way to make you feel relaxed. The menu selections we found very varied and the restaurant and bar area an ideal place in which to relax. We had dinner on the terrace at the suggestion of out waitress and the service, food and general atmosphere and surrounding enhanced a quite superb meal. The hotel is centrally situated and an ideal base for touring. Although the hotel does not have its own car park we had no problem parking in the well lit street at the front of the hotel, and with a noticeable police presence in the town felt quite relaxed about leaving the cart there.The staff can advise you on wine farms to visit along with other tourist attractions, restaurants etc. After a busy day it was a pleasure to relax by the pool and wind down. Colin and Steph

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffyStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Colin and Steph
It was our pleasure to welcome you back to the Tulbagh Hotel for your second visit. So many people don't realise that Tulbagh is only an 80 minute drive from Cape Town, and is ideally suited for a weekend get away. Hopefully it can become a permanent fixture in your calendar?!
You are right, it is a quiet town, ideal for winding down and relaxing, by the pool with a glass of local wine. However, for the more adventurous there is horse riding, mountain biking, some scenic walks through peach orchards and up to a waterfall with pools for cooling off in the summer sun.
Wine, olive, cheese and chocolate tasting. Museums and heritage architecture. Great restaurants, golf and a zip slide in the neighbouring town of Ceres.
Best wishes
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and i went with our 20 month old son for 2 days in December to the Hotel and we were quite surprised when we got to our room because the pictures on the website does not do the stunning hotel rooms justice.

Upon arrival we checked in and our key and everything was already at reception, our check in time were less than 5 minutes, they receptionist took us to our room which were not only modern after the upgrades at the hotel but it had aircon and a lovely balcony, which i dont think many of the rooms had.

The restaurant is more organic than anything else and have quite an interesting menu, including beetroot ice cream.. thats just an idea of how organic they are. I am not a big fan of organic meals, but enjoyed it though, the breakfast were quite big as well.

Other than that i loved it, especially the pool area which is very private, the staff even served us at the pool with drinks we ordered inside and we could also take our own drinks down to the pool.

There isnt much to do in Tulbagh so 2 days were perfect for us to just break away from the city.

Room Tip: The best room would be the rooms that have access from the street we stayed in number 3 on that side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandre-CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hi Chandre
Many thanks for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your relaxing get away for 2 nights, and that our staff ensured that you and the baby were well looked after. The beetroot ice cream was a novel idea from the kitchen! Interestingly it was very popular! We make our own ice cream and i encourage the kitchen staff to incorporate local and seasonal produce in their ice cream recipes. Some of my favourites recently have included pecan and macadamia nuts, local honey, plums and peaches. Tulbagh is surrounded by vineyards producing award winning wines, but also many orchards of apricots, peaches, plums, prunes, apples, nectarines, oranges and pears! So we are never short of local produce to experiment with, both with the ice cream and the rest of the menu.
Hope to welcome you back for another relaxing break in Tulbagh, in the near future.
Best wishes
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel has come a long way over many many years and as a couple who spent their first night married in this hotel 22 years ago, Oh My Word! It is universes away from what it was. The rooms are absolutely exquisite, comfortable and pleasant, the pool area is relaxing and the food can meet/better any standard internationally. The staff are absolutely fantastic and service of the highest I have experienced. A fellow guest we had only just met said he had arrived from one of the tope Cape Town hotels and it paled in comparison to the service he was receiving at Tulbagh Hotel.
Can seriously recommend this gem. Compliments to Alisdair, and his team for a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you so much for this feedback. We enjoyed hosting you over the festive season in 2012. Looking forward to seeing you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights over the festive season at this lovely hotel in the heart of the winelands and are so glad that we did. The newly renovated rooms are fantastic and the food and service cannot be faulted. We spent a lot of time in the beautiful pool and the friendly service from the waitresses and management was just amazing. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and the large showers are an absolute treat after a long day of wine tasting in the local area. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the wine regions of the Western Cape. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The newly re-furbished delux rooms are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you so much for this feedback - we really appreciate it. We enjoyed hosting you at the hotel and hope to welcome you again in this new year. Kind regards Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulbagh
15.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
0.3 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#6 of 18 in Tulbagh
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel

Address: 22 Van Der Stel Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range: $69 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The is centrally-located and conveniently placed to explore the town with its historic Church Street and many other attractions and amenities. The main hotel building dates from 1859 & offers a range of contemporary-styled luxurious rooms. The Winterhoek Manor(1813) and the Toll House(1809), opposite the hotel, are two of the heritage properties in Church Street, offering charming period rooms. Individual décor and fine cotton linen adorning four poster beds. Chandeliers on yellowwood beamed ceilings. Our Honeymoon Suite is the jewel in our crown. Crafted from the old wagon shed, this suite oozes romantic charm. Open thatch, two fireplaces, bath and shower for two. There are three pool areas, free Wi-Fi throughout and an in-house beauty therapist. All areas have air conditioning and there are cosy wood-burning fires for winter evenings. Tulbagh is just over an hours drive from Cape Town, nestled at the foot of the Winterhoek and Obiqua Mountains in the heart of the Cape Winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing