We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tulbagh Hotel Stay 23rd to 25th Dec 12”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tulbagh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tulbagh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tulbagh Hotel Stay 23rd to 25th Dec 12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel has come a long way over many many years and as a couple who spent their first night married in this hotel 22 years ago, Oh My Word! It is universes away from what it was. The rooms are absolutely exquisite, comfortable and pleasant, the pool area is relaxing and the food can meet/better any standard internationally. The staff are absolutely fantastic and service of the highest I have experienced. A fellow guest we had only just met said he had arrived from one of the tope Cape Town hotels and it paled in comparison to the service he was receiving at Tulbagh Hotel.
Can seriously recommend this gem. Compliments to Alisdair, and his team for a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you so much for this feedback. We enjoyed hosting you over the festive season in 2012. Looking forward to seeing you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    144
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
110
338
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights over the festive season at this lovely hotel in the heart of the winelands and are so glad that we did. The newly renovated rooms are fantastic and the food and service cannot be faulted. We spent a lot of time in the beautiful pool and the friendly service from the waitresses and management was just amazing. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and the large showers are an absolute treat after a long day of wine tasting in the local area. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the wine regions of the Western Cape. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The newly re-furbished delux rooms are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you so much for this feedback - we really appreciate it. We enjoyed hosting you at the hotel and hope to welcome you again in this new year. Kind regards Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyS73
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two days at the Tulbagh Hotel in December 2012. Like Tulbagh itself, the Hotel is a real gem. Excellent service, superbly appointed rooms (spotlessly clean and really comfortable) and a great restaurant as part of the hotel. We were made to feel really welcome from the time we checked in until the time we left. There's a lot to do in the surrounding area, but make sure you take in some of the excellent local wineries. (I'd recommend Saronsberg and Twee Jonge Gezellen as being the pick of good bunch). The food at the Olive Terrace was superb - we had a smoked trout rosti to start, followed by an excellent beef curry and a vegetable bobotie. All in all, highly recommended from start to finish.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayess1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We really appreciate it and would love to welcome you again in the new year. Have a fabulous festive season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Tulbagh not over endowed with hotel choice so ended up here....

Builders made rest during the day a non-event and forget a lay in beyond 07.30 for same reason.

To operate the TV you need 2 remotes and a degree in electronics. Even when you get it working most of the channel subscriptions have been allowed to lapse by hotel

Free wifi not such a bonus when you can't connect to it !!

Every time wind blows structure accommodation structure shakes

Won't rush back ....

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samtom1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi I am very sorry you were disturbed by the builders. This is the second review commenting on this and I take it very seriously. I will be offering you a complimentary return visit. Please contact the hotel directly with your details and your availability. I have tried to strike a balance between noise control and allowing the very professional and cooperative builders to proceed with the project, but we don't always get it right.
Regarding the TV controllers-it is standard in South Africa to have one control for the cable TV decoder and one for the TV itself. We are no different from other hotels or indeed homes.
The channels have not lapsed we pay for the channels are customers have told us they want. Namely all the SA sports ,music, movie, BBC World News and the local channels. I am sorry if our selection didn't suit you and would be interested to hear which additional channels you would have liked to see.
The free WIFI is available in all the public areas and most of the rooms. We also provide a computer and printer, connected to the internet solely for the use of guests.
Very surprised about the structure! the hotel dates from 1859 and during the earthquake of 1969, it was one of the few buildings that was not damaged and was used as a temporary hospital.
The walls are generally 50cm thick and the rooms have brand new double glazed windows.
Kind regards Alasdair McRobbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraaifontein, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Not only do they have great bathrooms and the menu in the bedroom! (which would be such great fun to page through just after a bath on lay in bed. The food was exquisite ~ everything from starters to dessert. The service so genuine and helpful. We'll most certainly return. Perhaps try all the rooms in the hotel. Recommend a visit! Felt like a princess!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valentinaradisic86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Many thanks for your generous review. I am pleased you were happy with the menu choice and the quality of the food. We are introducing our new summer menu now, incorporating much of the fresh local produce. Apricots, peaches and nectarines are just some of the local fruits we will be utilising.
Hope to see you at the Tulbagh Hotel again in the future. Best wishes Alasdair McRobbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I had a very pleasant stay at the Tulbagh Hotel on 29 and 30 October 2012. We stayed in the Peacock Room with bathroom en suite and it was extremely comfortable and well-appointed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we will certainly recommend the hotel to local and overseas friends alike. As the hotel does not have private parking and is situated in the main road of Tulbagh, one has to park outside the hotel. Terry & Veronica, Durbanville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Terry and Veronica
Many thanks for your review. I am very fortunate to have such a dedicated and motivated team of staff. We would greatly appreciate your recommendations.

As the hotel dates from 1859 it does not have provision for private parking. But as with the residential properties on Van der Stel Street, there are no issues with parking in front of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Tulbagh again in the future.

Kind regards
Alasdair McRobbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is somewhat frustrating. It has real potential to be very good, but it really isn't there yet. There isn't a carpark, so you have to leave the car on the street outside. Very warm welcome from the staff, but on arrival it became clear that there was very major renovations in progress, but we were told that we wouldn't be disturbed as the building work finishes at 5pm, and they should be able to open the hotel restaurant.
Our room was large and newly decorated, with a lovely bathroom. After a brief walk around the town (it's very small) we returned to have drinks by the pool. Garden has lovely setting and could be relaxing - the pool water was covered with a layer of builders dust though. To their word the building work did finish at 5pm but they deemed the kitchen too dirty from the builders to open the restaurant, so we went out.
Unfortunately, we were woken at 7am by the builders arriving for work very noisily, and by 7.30am it was so noisy I was driven downstairs to complain and express my frustration that despite having all my contact details, we weren't notified of the building work in advance. Having deemed the kitchen too dirty to cook the night before, it was now open for breakfast. I did question this, but was told it had been cleaned in the morning - we didn't risk it!
Although the shower was new, the door was broken. I mentioned this to reception who apologised and thanked me for advising them. It's little things like this that the hotel needs to address to really improve the standards - it should have been housekeeping, not a guest, that noticed this.
Having said all of this, throughout the staff were very friendly & helpful and I understand why the work is going on - to make all the rooms to the standard of ours, but as it's due to continue for a least a few more weeks, I would suggest that you contact the hotel directly before arrival to see how much work is still going on. When the work is complete, the hotel has the potential to be lovely and the restaurant should be the best in town.

Room Tip: Call before arrival to check about the building work and ask for a newly refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NkkLndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcrobbie, Owner at Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for leaving your review. We always appreciate comments and endeavour to improve our guest experience. To address your issues in order:

1. The hotel dates from 1859 and we have no private car parking. There is little crime in Tulbagh and have never had issues with cars parked in front of the hotel.

2. We do have a great team at the hotel who always try to go the extra mile, and make strenuous
efforts to maintain our high standards. We are currently concluding renovations that will see all our
rooms upgraded to a high standard. Air conditioning, double glazing, new lighting, new bathrooms and free wifi in all areas. We have tried to strike a balance with the builder, between keeping the time at the hotel to a minimum, the whole project is being completed within 3 weeks, and restricting the hours that the builders can operate. I apologise for not contacting you in advance with notification of the renovations.

3. The shower door is brand new, 2 months old, but appears that the hinge loosened and slipped as the house keeping staff closed the door as they left. This hinge has now been replaced. Again apologies for your inconvenience.

4. The dust from the renovations is sometimes hard to anticipate accurately. Hence, we hoped to have the restaurant open the evening in question, but the cleaning task took all evening, which prevented us serving dinner. We were fully prepared for breakfast. This has been the only evening we have been unable to open the kitchen.

5. The dust created that day, obviously created the film on the pool. As soon as we were aware of this the filter which is normally on a timer was switched on and the problem solved.

6. Despite our strenuous efforts we failed to provide you with a comfortable stay. I will be contacting you to offer our sincere apologies and offer a return complimentary stay. All renovations will be completed by 26 November 2012.

Kind regards

Alasdair McRobbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulbagh
15.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
0.3 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulbagh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulbagh Hotel

Property: Tulbagh Hotel
Address: 22 Van Der Stel Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulbagh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tulbagh is centrally-located and conveniently placed to explore the town with its historic Church Street and many other attractions and amenities. The main hotel building dates from 1859 & offers a range of contemporary-styled luxurious rooms. The Winterhoek Manor(1813) and the Toll House(1809), opposite the hotel, are two of the heritage properties in Church Street, offering charming period rooms. Individual décor and fine cotton linen adorning four poster beds. Chandeliers on yellowwood beamed ceilings. Our Honeymoon Suite is the jewel in our crown. Crafted from the old wagon shed, this suite oozes romantic charm. Open thatch, two fireplaces, bath and shower for two. There are three pool areas, free Wi-Fi throughout and an in-house beauty therapist. All areas have air conditioning and there are cosy wood-burning fires for winter evenings. Tulbagh is just over an hours drive from Cape Town, nestled at the foot of the Witzenburg, Winterhoek and Obiqua Mountains in the heart of the Cape Winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tulbagh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing