We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful breakaway in countryside”
Review of Manley Wine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manley Wine Lodge
Ranked #7 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Bellville, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful breakaway in countryside”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a really nice stay at Manley. Very pretty and clean rooms and nice view of the mountains. We had a nice walk around and had a nice view over the valley and town of Tulbagh. I would recommend this to people who want to spend the weekend in Tulbagh for wine tasting or to just have a nice breakaway from the hustle and bustle in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    68
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
53
87
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay overall, but we do think a few small changes would go a long way towards making the place top-notch.

We liked the peace and quiet, lovely views, space / scenery. The wine tasting was great, the staff were very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable (fireplace, heaters, quality linen, tea/coffee/rusks, spacious and nice bathroom

On the down side, the restaurant atmosphere and food quality was very average. The TV was tiny and mounted in the corner so uncomfortable / difficult to watch (this only mattered because we were watching the Wimbledon semi-finals and we are used to larger flat screen TV's) and there was only enough hot water for one shower the next morning, which made me feel a bit mizz

Overall I would still recommend the Manley Wine Lodge though

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deidre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoyed a wine tasting (R25) and thereafter ordered burgers from the restaurant next door. Great value for money and beautiful scenery. Took a walk around the farm and it will also be a great venue for functions! Friendly welcoming and good wine. Well worth a visit next time you're in Tulbagh - as opposed to some overrated and poorly managed neighbourhood Estates such as Rijks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchick030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Where to start? We stayed here for two nights after having previously stayed in Montagu and Stellenbosch (on both occasions at fantastic B&B's). Manley's was roughly the same price as the other places, but it provided so much less.
We stayed in one of their "luxury double rooms", which was dirty (stains on carpets, loose baseboards, dirty grouting between shower tiles, shower-head which was so caked up that only about 2 streams of water came out, etc etc). As we were leaving one of their resident cockrouches tried to hitch a ride in my wife's luggage.
The breakfast (which was included) also came with a big fly in the jam pot (which stayed there the entire time we ate breakfast). They offered a cooked breakfast which was not bad and cappuccino (also good) on request. The restaurant area was equally dirty, although the staff were friendly.
Very poor management by our assessment, with the added news that the restaurant (Gerard's) management will now take over management of the historic (and previously good) Paddagang Restaurant...
Whoever did the photography for Manley's website should be nominated for an Oscar and it certainly suckered us into going there.
The other reviews on this site were generally also good, which I can't quite explain. I really don't like to moan about places for no reason, but this one truly sucked - especially at $126 per night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piketberg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Warm water geyser not warm enough to take a bath or for 2 showers. Otherwise a lovely cottage. Would recommend cottage number two as it has the nicer view. Also take note that the two cottages are adjacent to each other.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JHFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A wonderful location for a wedding...chapel, pier for good weather days, lapa...great sized modern rooms for guests. Staff are friendly and helpful. Definitely wanting to return very soon. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We travelled from the UK to have the wedding of our daughter at the Manley Wine Lodge, excellent venue for the wedding, Chapel good, grounds very beautlful and weather wonderful. Hotel rooms and self catering villa acceptable for the short stay. Only negative is the organisation of the staff in terms of serving meal and afternnon canapys and operation of the bar during the afternoon/evening. They need to find a leader or organiser.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.2 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
1.9 mi away
Montpellier De Tulbagh
Montpellier De Tulbagh
#6 of 18 in Tulbagh
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
680 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
1.0 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#6 of 20 in Tulbagh
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manley Wine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manley Wine Lodge

Property: Manley Wine Lodge
Address: Main Winterhoek Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manley Wine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manley Winelodge – A little special. Just outside the historic and unspoilt town of Tulbagh, about one hour’s drive from Cape Town, lies Manley Wine Lodge, a wine farm, hotel, wedding and conference venue with a unique character. Manley is a working, award-winning wine farm offering guests the opportunity to stay, enjoy fine wines, eat well and relax all year round in some of the most beautiful scenery in the Western Cape. There is plenty to do and see. Come wine tasting - the Tulbagh valley has some of the best red wine in South Africa. Explore the surrounding mountains and abundant bird life on foot or on mountain bike. Or simply put your feet up with a good book. For weddings and conferences we offer a superb Cape mountain valley location, great facilities and a team of people who are exceptional at planning and management (they really can take care of just about everything). Manley is all about warmth, quality and good old-fashioned value. Come and visit us and discover how Manley Wine Lodge can make a weekend break, a wedding or your next conference just ‘a little special.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manley Wine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing