We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for lunch & wine tasting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manley Wine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manley Wine Lodge
Ranked #6 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch & wine tasting!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoyed a wine tasting (R25) and thereafter ordered burgers from the restaurant next door. Great value for money and beautiful scenery. Took a walk around the farm and it will also be a great venue for functions! Friendly welcoming and good wine. Well worth a visit next time you're in Tulbagh - as opposed to some overrated and poorly managed neighbourhood Estates such as Rijks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchick030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    67
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
51
86
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Where to start? We stayed here for two nights after having previously stayed in Montagu and Stellenbosch (on both occasions at fantastic B&B's). Manley's was roughly the same price as the other places, but it provided so much less.
We stayed in one of their "luxury double rooms", which was dirty (stains on carpets, loose baseboards, dirty grouting between shower tiles, shower-head which was so caked up that only about 2 streams of water came out, etc etc). As we were leaving one of their resident cockrouches tried to hitch a ride in my wife's luggage.
The breakfast (which was included) also came with a big fly in the jam pot (which stayed there the entire time we ate breakfast). They offered a cooked breakfast which was not bad and cappuccino (also good) on request. The restaurant area was equally dirty, although the staff were friendly.
Very poor management by our assessment, with the added news that the restaurant (Gerard's) management will now take over management of the historic (and previously good) Paddagang Restaurant...
Whoever did the photography for Manley's website should be nominated for an Oscar and it certainly suckered us into going there.
The other reviews on this site were generally also good, which I can't quite explain. I really don't like to moan about places for no reason, but this one truly sucked - especially at $126 per night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piketberg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Warm water geyser not warm enough to take a bath or for 2 showers. Otherwise a lovely cottage. Would recommend cottage number two as it has the nicer view. Also take note that the two cottages are adjacent to each other.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JHFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A wonderful location for a wedding...chapel, pier for good weather days, lapa...great sized modern rooms for guests. Staff are friendly and helpful. Definitely wanting to return very soon. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We travelled from the UK to have the wedding of our daughter at the Manley Wine Lodge, excellent venue for the wedding, Chapel good, grounds very beautlful and weather wonderful. Hotel rooms and self catering villa acceptable for the short stay. Only negative is the organisation of the staff in terms of serving meal and afternnon canapys and operation of the bar during the afternoon/evening. They need to find a leader or organiser.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The setting is beautiful, the architecture charming and the wine superb, but I must warn you about theTHREE BEDROOM COTTAGE. We booked it as the price was reasonable and it suited all the needs of the five adults in our party. Our first sign that something was amiss was when the very cheerful staff person mentioned the "the mosquitoes are terrible". Sadly, she was right. After a hot and miserable night, we all wondered why nothing had been done to make our stay more pleasant if the mossies were so evident and heat in December in Tulbagh is of no surprise. The cottage had three bedrooms, yet only one fan was provided in the 36C heat. Neither were there mosquito nets or plug-in insect repellant. After having been eaten alive during our first night, we requested two more fans and mosquito nets. Some effort was made-- one of the two requested fans arrived and one mosquito net was hung. Despite the effort, this simply was not good enough. The most disconcerting things were that when I diplomatically raised these matters, the response was excuses. Manley has many good things going for it, but still has a long way to go..... however, top quality down duvets, more suited to -36C rahter than +36C, were provided!

Room Tip: Don't book the three bedroom cottage. If travelling on the summer, bring LOTS of insect repellan...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roberta-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I just had my Wedding at the Manley Wine Lodge last week (12 Dec 2012). I couldn't have asked for a better venue! All the staff were extraordinarily helpful and friendly! They did everything I asked and more! They checked on us during the wedding and throughout our 3 day stay, to make sure everything was ok and provided assistance when needed. The rooms are stunning! The pool area is lovely. The whole property is beautiful! It was the perfect setting for the greatest day of my life and I would highly recommend booking it for your Wedding!! I want to send a big THANK YOU to the Event Coordinators Elmarie and Daphne for helping me pull off such a fabulous event and to all the staff at the Manley Wine Lodge!!! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
1.0 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
301 reviews
1.4 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
2.3 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manley Wine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manley Wine Lodge

Property: Manley Wine Lodge
Address: Main Winterhoek Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manley Wine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manley Winelodge – A little special. Just outside the historic and unspoilt town of Tulbagh, about one hour’s drive from Cape Town, lies Manley Wine Lodge, a wine farm, hotel, wedding and conference venue with a unique character. Manley is a working, award-winning wine farm offering guests the opportunity to stay, enjoy fine wines, eat well and relax all year round in some of the most beautiful scenery in the Western Cape. There is plenty to do and see. Come wine tasting - the Tulbagh valley has some of the best red wine in South Africa. Explore the surrounding mountains and abundant bird life on foot or on mountain bike. Or simply put your feet up with a good book. For weddings and conferences we offer a superb Cape mountain valley location, great facilities and a team of people who are exceptional at planning and management (they really can take care of just about everything). Manley is all about warmth, quality and good old-fashioned value. Come and visit us and discover how Manley Wine Lodge can make a weekend break, a wedding or your next conference just ‘a little special.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manley Wine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing