We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wanted to give this place a great review...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Manley Wine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manley Wine Lodge
Ranked #6 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I wanted to give this place a great review...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The setting is beautiful, the architecture charming and the wine superb, but I must warn you about theTHREE BEDROOM COTTAGE. We booked it as the price was reasonable and it suited all the needs of the five adults in our party. Our first sign that something was amiss was when the very cheerful staff person mentioned the "the mosquitoes are terrible". Sadly, she was right. After a hot and miserable night, we all wondered why nothing had been done to make our stay more pleasant if the mossies were so evident and heat in December in Tulbagh is of no surprise. The cottage had three bedrooms, yet only one fan was provided in the 36C heat. Neither were there mosquito nets or plug-in insect repellant. After having been eaten alive during our first night, we requested two more fans and mosquito nets. Some effort was made-- one of the two requested fans arrived and one mosquito net was hung. Despite the effort, this simply was not good enough. The most disconcerting things were that when I diplomatically raised these matters, the response was excuses. Manley has many good things going for it, but still has a long way to go..... however, top quality down duvets, more suited to -36C rahter than +36C, were provided!

Room Tip: Don't book the three bedroom cottage. If travelling on the summer, bring LOTS of insect repellan...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roberta-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    67
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
51
86
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I just had my Wedding at the Manley Wine Lodge last week (12 Dec 2012). I couldn't have asked for a better venue! All the staff were extraordinarily helpful and friendly! They did everything I asked and more! They checked on us during the wedding and throughout our 3 day stay, to make sure everything was ok and provided assistance when needed. The rooms are stunning! The pool area is lovely. The whole property is beautiful! It was the perfect setting for the greatest day of my life and I would highly recommend booking it for your Wedding!! I want to send a big THANK YOU to the Event Coordinators Elmarie and Daphne for helping me pull off such a fabulous event and to all the staff at the Manley Wine Lodge!!! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

A warm nest in Tulbagh this winter with the rain teaming down outside. After a super-professional tasting at Twee Jonge Gezellen, we were happy to seek shelter from the storm at Manley Wine Lodge. A warm welcome awaited us and the excellent air conditioners in the rooms soon had us feeling toasty.

The scenery is panoramic and the breakfast gargantuan. The firm bed can sleep Jacob Zuma and all five wives while the shower has decent water pressure. Rooms spacious and clean and good quality linen and towels.

I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was our second stay at Manley. Last year we had a 3 night stay which was an absolute disaster. I'm pleased to say our second overnight stay was a lot better.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful

We stayed in their Self Catering Cottage.

Pros
Private
Large enough for 6 people.
Lounge with fireplace
Fully equipped kitchen

Cons
Not as cosy and rustic as their rooms
Close to main road - noisy

My main concern with our stay was the fact that they did not inform us that we had to bring our own towels and soap. They really should state this on their web site.

However, the receptionist was kind enough to supply both when we enquired.

Overall, we enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udivasdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The trip to Tulbagh got off to a rocky start when the lady at reception of the Manley Wine Lodge could not find our reservation. However, the situation was handled professionally and efficiently and fortunately for all concerned there was a spare room (else this review may have been very different).

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. However, the most outstanding quality was the cleanliness. The room sparkled and smelled fresh and clean. It was a great pleasure to see such meticulous cleaning from the staff. The staff in general were very friendly, chatty and attentive.

The hotel is in a great position in relation to the town of Tulbagh, which is a beautiful quaint little place that is well worth a visit.

The only downside would be the food. The restaurant was closed until further notice, which was unfortunate and the breakfast was average.

Otherwise an excellent stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueGumCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Spent a great weekend at Manley and found the staff extreamly friendly, the rooms are lovely and the breakfast great.
As it is coming in to winter this will be great getaway for a weekend only 1and a half hours from Cape Town and as the rooms are all fitted with lovely fire places.
If I have one small negative it is that the TV is to small for the room size and ours was positioned to high up in the corner
Alastair MacDougall
SA Sport Travel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Clean, spacious, private, lovely location just outside Tulbagh

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
1.0 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
2.3 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manley Wine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manley Wine Lodge

Property: Manley Wine Lodge
Address: Main Winterhoek Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manley Wine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manley Winelodge – A little special. Just outside the historic and unspoilt town of Tulbagh, about one hour’s drive from Cape Town, lies Manley Wine Lodge, a wine farm, hotel, wedding and conference venue with a unique character. Manley is a working, award-winning wine farm offering guests the opportunity to stay, enjoy fine wines, eat well and relax all year round in some of the most beautiful scenery in the Western Cape. There is plenty to do and see. Come wine tasting - the Tulbagh valley has some of the best red wine in South Africa. Explore the surrounding mountains and abundant bird life on foot or on mountain bike. Or simply put your feet up with a good book. For weddings and conferences we offer a superb Cape mountain valley location, great facilities and a team of people who are exceptional at planning and management (they really can take care of just about everything). Manley is all about warmth, quality and good old-fashioned value. Come and visit us and discover how Manley Wine Lodge can make a weekend break, a wedding or your next conference just ‘a little special.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manley Wine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing