We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable overnight stay”
Review of Manley Wine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manley Wine Lodge
Ranked #6 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable overnight stay”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was our second stay at Manley. Last year we had a 3 night stay which was an absolute disaster. I'm pleased to say our second overnight stay was a lot better.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful

We stayed in their Self Catering Cottage.

Pros
Private
Large enough for 6 people.
Lounge with fireplace
Fully equipped kitchen

Cons
Not as cosy and rustic as their rooms
Close to main road - noisy

My main concern with our stay was the fact that they did not inform us that we had to bring our own towels and soap. They really should state this on their web site.

However, the receptionist was kind enough to supply both when we enquired.

Overall, we enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udivasdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    70
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
55
91
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The trip to Tulbagh got off to a rocky start when the lady at reception of the Manley Wine Lodge could not find our reservation. However, the situation was handled professionally and efficiently and fortunately for all concerned there was a spare room (else this review may have been very different).

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. However, the most outstanding quality was the cleanliness. The room sparkled and smelled fresh and clean. It was a great pleasure to see such meticulous cleaning from the staff. The staff in general were very friendly, chatty and attentive.

The hotel is in a great position in relation to the town of Tulbagh, which is a beautiful quaint little place that is well worth a visit.

The only downside would be the food. The restaurant was closed until further notice, which was unfortunate and the breakfast was average.

Otherwise an excellent stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueGumCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Spent a great weekend at Manley and found the staff extreamly friendly, the rooms are lovely and the breakfast great.
As it is coming in to winter this will be great getaway for a weekend only 1and a half hours from Cape Town and as the rooms are all fitted with lovely fire places.
If I have one small negative it is that the TV is to small for the room size and ours was positioned to high up in the corner
Alastair MacDougall
SA Sport Travel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Clean, spacious, private, lovely location just outside Tulbagh

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We spent weekend at self catering cottage at Manley Wine lodge recently and had great time. Cottage was very spacious, clean, nicely decorated and most important very private. Our little one had so much space outside to play after a long day of exploring the area and we spent evenings sipping our wine/Manley wines/ and having barbeques. What a lovely place. We can't wait to go again.
Thank you Ilze for your assistance and help, l appreciated it very much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinaholifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

What a refreshing little treasure not far from Cape Town in the lovely little town of Tulbagh. Me and fiance just stayed over for night and was so impressed that we will be having our wedding there in December. Huge well maintained lawn and pool to cool down in with a Chapel on the grounds. The rooms are also spacious and very tidy with a fire place in each. A scrumbtious breakfast to set you on your way again I would recommend this place anytime you are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

With the Winterhoek mountains, lakes and vineyards surrounding the grand French Huguenot manor, it is indeed a refreshing sight. The delectable room is sizable, with the required amenities, plus a fireplace. Breakfast is satisfying and the service excellent.
As the restaurant was not opened that evening, we dined at the nearby Rijks Country House. All in all, it is a unique experience to stay in a wine farm, coupled with the beautiful historical town of Tulbagh.

By
See Toh Chue Peng/Jeremy Savill
Malaysia/United Kingdom

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seetohchuepeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.2 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
61 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
0.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher
Dreamcatcher
#13 of 18 in Tulbagh
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manley Wine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manley Wine Lodge

Property: Manley Wine Lodge
Address: Main Winterhoek Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manley Wine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manley Winelodge – A little special. Just outside the historic and unspoilt town of Tulbagh, about one hour’s drive from Cape Town, lies Manley Wine Lodge, a wine farm, hotel, wedding and conference venue with a unique character. Manley is a working, award-winning wine farm offering guests the opportunity to stay, enjoy fine wines, eat well and relax all year round in some of the most beautiful scenery in the Western Cape. There is plenty to do and see. Come wine tasting - the Tulbagh valley has some of the best red wine in South Africa. Explore the surrounding mountains and abundant bird life on foot or on mountain bike. Or simply put your feet up with a good book. For weddings and conferences we offer a superb Cape mountain valley location, great facilities and a team of people who are exceptional at planning and management (they really can take care of just about everything). Manley is all about warmth, quality and good old-fashioned value. Come and visit us and discover how Manley Wine Lodge can make a weekend break, a wedding or your next conference just ‘a little special.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Manley Wine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing