We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Tarentaal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulbagh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Tarentaal
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in the Fish Eagle cottage for our wedding anniversary, and from the moment we arrived everything was perfect! Had the Romantic platter with champagne on arrival, including chocolate from the well-known Moniki in Tulbagh. The breakfast on the veranda was very special! We had French toast, full English and fruit - all cooked and made to perfection. Even had a braai on the second night - wood provided free of charge!Bed and bathroom spotless. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milky5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
195
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had the most amazing weekend getaway for our anniversary. The honeymoon suite is spacious, luxurious and wonderfully decorated. Lovely views and the pool area is a great place to relax.

Graham was such a welcoming and accommodating host, and the breakfasts were nothing short of unbelievable!!

Would definitely recommend this to everyone... we'll definitely be returning ourselves!! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick_and_Rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern england
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Cosy B&B a bit like staying with your neighbour, but with the most beautiful view and delightful little swimming pool. Never saw anyone else while we were there, lots of cute touches which were a bit lost on us, heart shaped chocs and soap etc.,....I am sure most people appreciate them.
One thing we would like to say......do replace the beige polycotton sheets and duvet with some crisp white cotton. Everyone else does it and it makes a huge difference, and not that difficult surely?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3sisters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamjhb, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are glad you loved the view and all the extra touches. Thanks for noticing them. We would just like to clarify one thing. Villa Tarentaal does not own a single set of polycotton sheet. All our sheets are at least 100 pure cotton, the newer ones are Egyptian cotton, and of an even higher standard. As for the colours, we here at Villa Tarentaal tend not to do what everyone else does, that is what sets us apart. Thanks for highlighting your concerns though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The greeting on arrival was the best we have had on our 3 week trip to SA We spent 3 peaceful days in fish eagle cottage,the staff were very helpful and friendly.Brandi and Graham,did a great job serving us delicious breakfasts at our cottage what luxury.Enjoyed the garden ,the birdlife and cooling off in the sparkly pool.Easy walk into Tulbach with its lovely church street.Nice not to have to get into the car.

Room Tip: Blue Crane cottage if available Nice view across the lawn and beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartbeespoort76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempen
Level Contributor
95 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed ten days in Villa Tarentaal and enjoyed the whole lodge very much. The property is in an excellent condition and the very large garden as well. Graham and Brandi are loveley hosts.You feel very welcomed so that we have booked already our next two weeks stay in December this year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silkbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Yet again a thoroughly perfect stay at Villa Tarantaal , Brandi and Graham ensuring everything is perfection from the very moment of arrival to the point of departure.From the consummate breakfasts and amazing scenery and surrounding fauna , the days just slip away rendering our 1 week sojourn inadequate--there is always next year to look forward to for a mandatory return.The supporting staff Rochelle and Lizzie are an absolute credit to the establishment and could not be more attentive---well done everyone!
Peter & Kathleen
Aberdeen,Scotland

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petermac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is our 3rd visit to Villa Tarantaal and it won't be our last. It is a lovely place to stay, very peaceful and the owners Brandi & Graham are charming. We stay in Blue Crane Cottage with is seperate from the main building but attached to one of the other cottages. Very private and overlooking the lovely garden. We had a look at the new honeymoon suite and it's gorgeous. The lovely breakfast is served on your patio by Brandi or Graham and Brandi usual comes up later with the children for a chat. We feel like family friends when we are there. We will certainly be back and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms and cottages are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.4 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
2.4 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
0.8 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
635 reviews
1.2 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tarentaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tarentaal

Property: Villa Tarentaal
Address: ext Van Der Stel street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tarentaal 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulbagh accommodation with a special touch. Villa Tarentaal offers boutique style accommodation, every detail has been personally attended to, from throw cushions to the extra length beds, with guest comfort in mind. Enjoy privacy, stunning Tulbagh mountain views, meandering gardens, breakfast served to you at your cottage each morning, and extreme hospitality. Our three private cottages offer space to relax. All cottages are equipped with kitchenettes, living areas, modern bathrooms and spacious bedrooms, flat screen televisions and aircon. Looking for romantic Tulbagh accommodation. Our new Peacock Suite is the ultimate retreat. We are located 1km from Tulbagh village. Come enjoy outdoor and indoor splendor at its finest and the most unique bed and breakfast in Tulbagh! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing