We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night only!!”
Review of Villa Tarentaal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulbagh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Tarentaal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a warm welcome we received for our one night stay!!! Breakfast on the patio with wonderful view of the mountain, friendly staff, excellent accommodation, stunning garden .........you can feel the love!

Thanks Graham - will definitely return and hopefully for longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 275 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Close to the majestic Ceres Mountains with breathtaking views from our quiet sarene cottage. This was a worth while trip with me and my other half. As we arrived we were greeted with a friendly smile by one of the ladies. She helped us carry our luggage to our Blue Crane cottage. The overall experience was just lovely!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our wedding anniversary - what a nice weekend. The hosts were amazing, always there to help, but never in our way. The details in the small things, having the fire ready for the braai, the best cheese platter we had in quite some time, the bottle bubbly and excellent advice about the surroundings. Thanks Graham and Brandi we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent a weekend at Villa Tarentaal in the Egyptian Goose cottage and received 5 star service, with friendly staff and a great breakfast. Graham is a great host. Tulbagh is a lovely little town and we enjoyed a great supper at Rijks Country House, which Graham arranged for us. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in the Peacock Suite. Our first visit to Tulbagh but hopefully not our last. Villa Tarentaal is easy to find, on the outskirts of the town, down a long drive. Good parking, large grounds for walking or bird watching and that lovely feel of peace and tranquility. Lovely pool as well with comfortable chairs/seats and towels.
Great welcome from Graham and then that 'wow' factor as we were shown into the Peacock Suite. Wow at the lovely, large and airy bedroom (with open fire) and good sitting area and a further wow at the equally spacious bathroom.
This really was a top quality stay from start to finish. Both Graham and Brandi are naturally hospitable hosts and nothing is too much trouble.
Our accommodation included Gowns, safe and fridge and our own balcony for those excellent breakfasts. We described the view at Breakfast as 'majestic - so was the breakfast!
Lots to see and do in and around the town. Felt safe and happy walking around. Masses of eateries. Graham had booked us into Rijks (being sunday evening) for dinner and then De Oude Herberg the following night. Both excellent - the latter probably winning out!
Tulbagh will be on our must do's for our next visit to SA and so will Villa Tarentaal. Great place Great people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

There are guesthouses and 'guesthouses' and Villa Tarentaal is right up there with the best!
Having travelled Namibia, South Africa and Europe extensively we had a fantastic stay at Villa Tarentaal - it had everything one would need - even cotton and needles! The beautiful decorations and all the superb 'small' touches made an everlasting impression that will always be used when comparing to similar places. The whole experience of the great breakfast being served in the cottage (Fish Eagle), right on time, just confirms here is a guesthouse that is superbly managed and value the importance of their guest!
Graham to you and your staff a big thank you for making us feel so special.......we salute you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My self and my sister went to Villa Tarentall for a weekend and it was 5 star service and 5 star accommodation.
Loved the breakfast it was the best I had in a long time.
Loved it, will be back. We enjoyed the Hotel so much that I had the most peaceful sleep in a long time.
Graham was wonderful and the service was excellent.
Will be back for the peace and quiet, and the hikes across Tulbagh.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise Jo-anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
2.4 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
3.0 mi away
Raptor Rise Cottage & Stable Rooms
0.4 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 17 in Tulbagh
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 17 in Tulbagh
64 reviews
2.8 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#4 of 23 in Tulbagh
99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eikelaan Farm Cottages
Eikelaan Farm Cottages
#6 of 23 in Tulbagh
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tarentaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tarentaal

Address: ext Van Der Stel street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tarentaal 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulbagh accommodation with a special touch. Villa Tarentaal offers self catering accommodation only. every detail has been personally attended to, from throw cushions to the extra length beds, with guest comfort in mind. Enjoy privacy, stunning Tulbagh mountain views, meandering gardens, Our three private cottages offer space to relax, modern bathrooms and spacious bedrooms, flat screen televisions (bring your own decoder) and aircon. Each cottage has a kitchenette, private veranda and BBQ area. Looking for romantic Tulbagh accommodation. Our new Peacock Suite is the ultimate retreat. Please note Peacock is for a couple prepared to dine out for breakfast lunch and dinner. We no longer offer breakfast. We are located 1km from Tulbagh village. Come enjoy outdoor and indoor splendor at its finest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing