We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BabetteA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Tarentaal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulbagh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Tarentaal
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BabetteA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although our stay was brief and for work, we thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and great hospitality at Villa Tarentaal! Graham and his team of "fairies" do an amazing job and we shall definitely be back. Very high standard accommodation, comfortable beds and pillows, which is rare indeed... A real treat for nature lovers and wine and food afficionados........ We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
195
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Arrive as a guest, leave as a friend of the Hunter family. Very comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast outside in the garden, and some very good recommendations for local places to go for dinner.

As an amateur astronomer, the location is superb for observing the Southern Night Skies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton. UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have been visiting Villa Tarentaal every year for some time now. Indeed it is a 'must' for us on our annual holiday to South Africa. The warmth of the reception and friendliness of Graham and Brandi Hunter have always been exceptional as has the standard of accommodation and service. Recently they have moved to live on site with their two young children and this has enabled them to carry out further work to the property and add two more en suite rooms, both of excellent quality and comfort. Tulbagh itself is a very pleasant village with an interesting history, a supermarket for one's immediate requirements, some shops and restaurants. Vineyards abound nearby and a visit to Krone for some of their excellent 'champagne' will always enhance a pleasant evening on your patio at Villa Tarentaal. The town of Ceres is only 25 minutes away through Michell's Pass and is certainly worth a visit, particularly for golfers who can enjoy a round at the developing Ceres Golf Club Estate. But Tarentaal is the jewel in the crown where one can be sure of excellent accommodation, a pretty garden with a nice pool, and a really friendly and welcoming environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I often remark on the fact that when it comes to service, especially in hotels and restaurant the USA is hard to beat. It is no wonder then that Graham and Brandi, being from the States (in Grahams case with SA roots) bring this high level to Villa Tarentaal. I would suggest to many South Africans in the hospitality industry to come here for masterclasses! (Graham maybe a business idea?)
We stayed one night in the Egyptian Goose and one in the Peacock Suite and both are very beautiful and incredibly spacious. The bathrooms are enormous and the showers (in the Peacock it is even a double) are amazing.
We especially enjoyed all the little touches like leaving lavender bushes on the toilet rolls etc.
Do not get me started on the breakfasts, we tried every option and suffice to say that whatever you choose you are going to have a great start to your day!
No need to go on about it, if you are going to Tulbagh come and stay here.

Room Tip: The peacock suite is grand and more modern the Egyptian goose has a smaller room and seperate lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in the Fish Eagle Cottage which was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. The kitchen and living room facilities were perfect when travelling with a baby. The kitchen was fully equipped and the living room gave us a much appreciated separate area for the evenings. Fish Eagle Cottage was so secluded we did not see another guest while we stayed there and I believe they were fully booked over the weekend.

We could not fault the hospitality of Graham and Brandi, superb hosts who could not do enough for you. Graham has some interesting stories from his previous life, just ask!

The breakfasts were amazing, so much so we invited family who were staying in another B&B in Tulbagh to join us one morning to experience the french toast, they were not disappointed!

If travelling to Tulbagh I would highly recommend Villa Tarentaal, I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 228EmmaH228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

A most warm welcome by hosts Graham and Brandi. Convenient location and stunning views of the garden and surrounding vineyards. The unit was spacious and had everything you could hope for. Breakfast cooked by the ever attentive Graham was a treat. The best night's sleep we had in our travels in South Africa, such a peaceful location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterKRej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was our first time ever to Tulbagh as we had to attend a wedding there. I made a booking at Villa Tarentaal based on their website and found the room and surroundings matching our expectations, and even exceeding some! The room was really beautifully furnished and comfortable and the surroundings very charming. The breakfast was splendid - just as tasty as it was beautiful! Thanks, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liesbet2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.6 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
0.4 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
0.8 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tarentaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tarentaal

Property: Villa Tarentaal
Address: ext Van Der Stel street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tarentaal 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulbagh accommodation with a special touch. Villa Tarentaal offers boutique style accommodation, every detail has been personally attended to, from throw cushions to the extra length beds, with guest comfort in mind. Enjoy privacy, stunning Tulbagh mountain views, meandering gardens, breakfast served to you at your cottage each morning, and extreme hospitality. Our three private cottages offer space to relax. All cottages are equipped with kitchenettes, living areas, modern bathrooms and spacious bedrooms, flat screen televisions and aircon. Looking for romantic Tulbagh accommodation. Our new Peacock Suite is the ultimate retreat. We are located 1km from Tulbagh village. Come enjoy outdoor and indoor splendor at its finest and the most unique bed and breakfast in Tulbagh! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing