We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Villa Tarentaal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Tarentaal
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were really impressed with the whole package. Graham was most efficient host and the breakfast taken on the porch with beautiful views and tranquility was top class. The accomodation was spacious and clean with all necessary amenities to relax. Being just out of town you have absoltue peace and quiet but only 2 minutes away from the centre of town it affords the luxury of both worlds. Will definitely return to enjoy this special place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
197
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were there under unusual circumstances and withvery unusual demands! Dong a stage cycle race, it meant taht we arrived VERy late evry day in a filthy condition - we needed washing done, microwave some food - and were not able to sample much of the local delights.
BUT: first and foremost the room and accomodation and linen and bathroom and bed are all worth mentioning - superb. Then the service and kindness of the ownrs were unparalelled, Wat a difference that makes to your stay. we will definitely back in more relaxed circumstances to truly savour the amazing accomodation and amenities and enjoy the relaxed and special service this pice of heaven has to offer.

Room Tip: "Honeymoon suite" with XXXXXXL bathroom is out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiesbetK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I think this was quite a find. Larger than expected rooms, friendly service, breath-taking surroundings. Graham is a very accommodating host and being situated just out of town there's no passing traffic to disturb the tranquility. A wonderful place that stands apart from the average b&b.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazeydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Villa Tarentaal for one evening. We were warmly welcomed by the staff, and were immediately impressed by the well appointed, large room. Graham's recommendation of a restaurant for the evening was a great success. Breakfast on the verandah was exceptional and overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 603MartinC603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We only stayed for one afternoon and night but couldn't have wished for a better place to stay after two days in Cape Town. The villa itself is lovely with everything in immaculate condition while Graham made a great host. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Only stayed the one night on our way back to the airport, but what a find - a real oasis. On our arrival Graham was most helpful and also pointed us towards a great restaurant for dinner. The bedroom and bathroom were both large and well appointed with some nice finishing touches. Breakast was excellent and served on the lawn. Really can't fault it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masvingo
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Villa Tarentaal for three nights with friends of ours.
On arrival we were met by Graham who helped us park and carry our cases to the cottage. Our stay was exellent in every way and Graham's and Brandi's attention to detail was to be commended. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The personal service and choice in regard to breakfast was as good if not better than highly regarded hotels. The surrounds, garden and the view from our verandah showed off the best the Cape has to offer. Breakfast on the verandah overlooking the garden and the mountains in the distance was a special way to start the day.
Highly recomended in every way. We wish Graham and Brandi every success in the future and look forward to seeing them again one day.
Graham and Cally Richards.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.4 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
665 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#5 of 20 in Tulbagh
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
1.2 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tarentaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tarentaal

Property: Villa Tarentaal
Address: ext Van Der Stel street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tarentaal 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulbagh accommodation with a special touch. Villa Tarentaal offers boutique style accommodation, every detail has been personally attended to, from throw cushions to the extra length beds, with guest comfort in mind. Enjoy privacy, stunning Tulbagh mountain views, meandering gardens, breakfast served to you at your cottage each morning, and extreme hospitality. Our three private cottages offer space to relax. All cottages are equipped with kitchenettes, living areas, modern bathrooms and spacious bedrooms, flat screen televisions and aircon. Looking for romantic Tulbagh accommodation. Our new Peacock Suite is the ultimate retreat. We are located 1km from Tulbagh village. Come enjoy outdoor and indoor splendor at its finest and the most unique bed and breakfast in Tulbagh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Tarentaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing