We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Villa Tarentaal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulbagh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Tarentaal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Lovely comfortable cottage with a glorious view of the mountains ringing Tulbagh, set in lush green gardens with a sparkling pool. Graham and Brandi are great hosts (and great breakfast cooks) with tips and advice on the best places to eat and things to do. Really appreciated the extra space offered by the sitting area and the kitchenette and it enabled us to dabble in self catering, even if it was just a couple of ostrich steaks, eaten on the terrace at dusk with bats swooping around the garden. Definitely the highlight of our South African holiday, we're already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaddieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 275 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

First time in TULBAGH. We picked the Tarentaal thru TRIPADVISOR and the GREENWOOD.
and it was up to our expectations.We stayed 3 nights
Graham our host got our day off in the best of fashions with a breakfast made to order
served on our private terrace. We had a suite with a day area comprising a little kitchen and
a sofa with television.
The pool is of good size , lots of sun and a great view.
You are a bit out of town, a kilometre or so . You could walk into town but we took the car.
Graham will give you un unbiased opinion onthe restaurants.

Tulbagh yet another small historic town well worth the visit and for those who have the time to put their feet up, I recommend you stay a few nights.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEORGEDORLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Just like last year we stayed here a few nights and it felt like home-coming. Beautiful and peaceful surroundings, lovely cottage, the breakfast that was made by Brandi - the owner's wife - was delicious and looked gorgious.
Dear Brandi, Graham and Theresa (and the friendly dogs Max and Rocky), it was lovely being with you. See you next year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foody72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

True to their website claims, " Villa Tarentaal is a special bed and breakfast located in the pristine wine lands of Tulbagh, South Africa." My wife and I spent three nights in the very comfortable Fish Eagle cottage where we enjoyed superb breakfasts (from a choice of 4 varieties) prepared by ours hosts, Graham & Brandi. Theresa, the lady who serviced our cottage was efficient and always friendly. Their warm and friendly hospitality was most enjoyable as they shared their in-depth knowledge of the valley with us as well as recommending local restaurants to us - and we were not disappointed! In the evenings we enjoyed cozy log fires in our cottage - compliments of our consumate hosts! We arrived tired and jaded from the demands of city life and left rejunivated and our zest for life rekindled. Ken & Stephanie - Tokai, Cape Town, Aug 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidtaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend at the end of November and we thought that it was great. The accommodation was of a high quality ... and had everything that we wanted and needed.

We were particularly impressed by the quality of the service given by the owner - Graham - and his staff. It was spot on for us ... professional and friendly and relaxed as well.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davemoore35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We booked on the Internet which can be a gamble. We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of accomodation and the warm, friendly welcome and service, including the dogs! Brandi was an outstanding hostess and the views and breakfasts may it a memoriable stay. Definately recommed it.
Sean and Sally Kelly

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

The green vista of the manicured lawns, framed by the Winterhoek mountains in the background is mirrored by the hospitality of the hosts Graham and Brandi Hunter.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
0.4 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
331 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#4 of 23 in Tulbagh
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
0.6 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tarentaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tarentaal

Address: ext Van Der Stel street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tarentaal 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulbagh accommodation with a special touch. Villa Tarentaal offers self catering accommodation only. every detail has been personally attended to, from throw cushions to the extra length beds, with guest comfort in mind. Enjoy privacy, stunning Tulbagh mountain views, meandering gardens, Our three private cottages offer space to relax, modern bathrooms and spacious bedrooms, flat screen televisions (bring your own decoder) and aircon. Each cottage has a kitchenette, private veranda and BBQ area. Looking for romantic Tulbagh accommodation. Our new Peacock Suite is the ultimate retreat. Please note Peacock is for a couple prepared to dine out for breakfast lunch and dinner. We no longer offer breakfast. We are located 1km from Tulbagh village. Come enjoy outdoor and indoor splendor at its finest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing