We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful treehouse with vineyard views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We spent a fabulous two nights at Vindoux at the start of our honeymoon in South Africa. We had a wonderful time there, and our enjoyment was augmented by the owners' friendly dogs, complete with puppies.

As it is a treehouse, though remarkably well equipped, the facilities aren't the same as in a business class hotel, for example, but for a tree in rural SA I think they're pretty good. We enjoyed a comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge, a bathroom with spa bath, and a veranda overlooking the vineyards.

You do need a car to visit here as it's some way out of town. Tulbagh itself has a lot of lovely restaurants and is surrounded by wineries.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volcanoelectric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 326 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2010

Trying to get away from the World Cup madness in the city we're headed to Tulbagh for the weekend.

The cottage (Pinotage) that we stayed in was relatively clean, bedding was comfortable and it had all the facilities one would expect in a self-catering cottage. The setting was lovely, the animals, the staff, the atmosphere and everything was great!

If I have just one negative thing to say it would be that there were lots and lots of little black worms all over the place. The common garden worm variety. There was quite a few in the bath and shower and every other area in the house. I wasn't too concerned as we were afterall in the great outdoors. My 18 month old daughter on the other hand was a bit anxious and kept asking about it.

The last night of our stay the weather turned a bit mean, it was windy and rainy and our sleep was disturbed but it was really lovely, warm and cosy indoors with the heater and a fireplace in the lounge.

So, will we return and will I recommend it? Well, we seldom go to any place more than once because there are just far too many beautiful places like Vindoux in our awesome country so we would rather try and visit as many as we could but I would recommend it and would perhaps even return in the summer and stay over in one of the tree houses :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAbduls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed at Vindoux on the last night of our round SA trip. It was recommended by friends, who loved the quirkiness of the treehouse, and I have to admit, it is quirky, and quite a lovely idea. It's a petty that the attention to detail surrounding the whole stay was so bad. We had ordered the "Romantic Turndown" which really is a box of chocolates and a bottle of sparkling wine. We had to specifically request the bottle shown on their website, as they were going to give us a much cheaper version. When we arrived, after a 5 hour drive on a 40 degree day, we were looking so forward to the sparkling wine, but it had been left on the bed in a wooden house in 40 degree heat, it was almost cooking. What's the point of that?

Good: the treehouses are pretty, quiet and private. The bed is comfortable, the bathroom large and the pool a welcome relief after the hot drive.

Bad: lack of attention to detail, very early checkout time (10am), not exactly the friendliest of welcomes, but the receptionist in the morning who served our breakfast was much nicer than the one who welcomed us.

Would I recommend it, maybe, but there are better places to go to, and I'd only go here again for the unusual accommodation - I'm not sure it is enough of a draw.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natholian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

My better half and I had a very nice stay here back in February 2009. Wonderful staff, awesome setting and extremely relaxing (especially if you get a massage!!). Tucked away under the Saronsberg Mountains it's lovely place just to get away from it all. We stayed in one of the Tree-houses, which was very well kitted out (for a Tree-house!!) and was comfortable, although being there in Summer a bit of Air-Con would have been appreciated, but it was fine without! There's no TV in the Tree-house, but I think that helped in making it an even more relaxing stay!

The Bush Pub serves some very good food, nothing too fancy, but very tasty (which is more important in my book!!). It also has lovely views over the orchards towards the mountains!

Last but not least is the variety of wildlife, I had great fun watching the bats at dusk! There was a large variety of bird-life too. But my favourite "wildlife" were actually the resident dogs! Especially Molly, who was gorgeous (and very brave after getting trapped in an animal trap!!) and always visited our tree-house. Usually soon after breakfast was served, by coincidence!!

All in all a very nice trip and on the list of places to go back to if we get the chance!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

My husband and I just spent 3 nights in Tulbagh and had a fantastic time. We stayed at the self catering cottages on Vindoux Guest Farm. The cottages are very basic but perfect for the budget traveler. This guest farm also has a spa - the treatments here are lush and very reasonable!
We ate at the newly opened '10' which is located near the tourist information office - the food was fantastic and the setting is lovely.
My favourite part of our trip was the Drostdy-hof museum - we paid an entrance fee of R10 and got to self tour the museum and then did some wine tasting in the basement (which used to be the hold jail). I also loved Twee Jonge Gezellen - the setting is stunning and they have their very own champagne ... ! Would definitely recommend a visit to Tulbagh.

Thank SamKMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fart674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank infoJ8033ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
2.9 mi away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
2.1 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#4 of 22 in Tulbagh
99 reviews
7.5 mi away
Buffalo Drift
Buffalo Drift
#8 of 22 in Tulbagh
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Eikelaan Farm Cottages
Eikelaan Farm Cottages
#6 of 22 in Tulbagh
106 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
2.3 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#4 of 18 in Tulbagh
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa

Address: Twee Jonge Gezellen Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range: $52 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque Tulbagh valley lies a "little piece of heaven" on this family owner fruit farm. Spoil the one you love in a luxury tree house complete with spa bath, breakfast in bed and endless mountain views.If you would like to spoil the family try the deluxe self catering tree lodge. All you need for a home away from home, sleeping up to 8 people. Complete with private swimming pool and garden.If you are on a budget try the fully equipped self catering cottages for a simply farm retreat.Onsite spoils include a Day Spa offering a wide range of therapies including couples massage, a licensed deli filled with homemade treats and eats, wedding and conference venue, swimming pool, fishing, cycle hire and game viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing