We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely filthy”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We checked into a 1 bedroom cottage (cabernet) at Vindoux & it was disgusting. Firstly, the toilet had faeces clinging to the bowl & when I lifted the seat it had pubic hairs stuck to it. I did ask someone to come & clean it & I was told that that is how the toilet looks. I was completely stunned. The bed frill had clearly never been washed & was covered in stains & marks, I don't even want to contemplate what these could be. Every corner of the cottage had balls of dust & dirt in it. Needless to say we couldn't wait to check out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vindoux_management, Owner at Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
I would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the shocking state of your cottage during your stay. We ourselves were shocked when we saw your pictures, and even more shocked that the original complaint was not reported to us by our staff. I am even more concerned about the treatment you received on reporting the problem and would love to hear who you spoke to as we pride ourselves on being able to help people should they have any problem with their accommodation.
Thank you for bringing the toilet seat to our attention, we have since replaced it and are looking at changing them all to acrylic seats as the wooden ones get water stained so easily.
I hope you will visit Vindoux again in the future and give us a chance to change your view of hte farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    111
    16
    0
    4
See reviews for
31
233
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Beautiful surroundings and just so peaceful. Ate breakfast on the viewing deck watching the zebras play, swam, enjoyed the jacuzzi tub in our treehouse and had a massage at the spa. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.
The hike to the waterfall is short and the destination is spectacular.
Highly recommend for a dose of bliss.

Room Tip: Ask for a treehouse with a view of the animals
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePugHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We went to Tulbagh for a weekend away and decided to stay at the treetop lodges of Vindoux and i must say it is the best decision we could have made. The staff were excellent, friendly and were willing to go the extra mile. The house itself was beautiful, had an excellent view of the wildlife and was superbly designed. The food was delicious with a wide variety to choose from and the spa was a great way to end the day. Overall i would have to say we will be back for many many years to come!

Room Tip: If you can, choose to stay in the treetop lodges. They are exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liaan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to tulbagh for a wedding and stayed in vindouxs self catering cottages. They were perfect except for the close proximity to the other cottages. The weekend was fantastic with regards to service and the spa was devine. I would however refrain from taking the romantic turndown-finsing your bottle of champagne and six chocolates in the fridge was a bit of a letdown and our duvet cover was either stained by coffee or the rosepetals....eek. and the picnic-with the exception of the wine was not worth it. I would suggest buying proper plastic-the gladwrap and polystyrene squashes everything and makes it look unappetising. And impressions are everything.

All in all i would go back to the spa a hundred times over, but might stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: For self catering choose pinotage or chardonney. They have a grassy garden and your not forced to lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My family and I recently spent time at this tree top lodge. Irene and her team were excellent and helped us with everything from booking to the accomadation itself as well as the lovely deli and spa on site. My wife and mother-in-law enjoyed the spa treatments and I must say that the deli was superb. WE ordered lunch from them and was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and inexpensive. Definitely try the Munchie platter for 2 R100 and actually three can enjoy as a light lunch. The tree lodge apartment was amazing and hugh. Plenty of space to relax and run around for the kids. There was enough of everything especially the view of the plum plantation and mountain. Best seen early morning and afternoons. Don't forget to take a walk and see the Zebras, Wildebeest and springboks literally 150m away. The couples tree apartments looked good as well. But Tree Lodge for a family or three couples was perfect. Lots of things to do around the area as well. From wine tasting to Chocolate tasting you will love this small town of Tulbagh. Go enjoy.

Room Tip: Carry bug repelant. They do supply but just be careful. Don't forget to go to Moniki and try th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvineshP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Imagine a fertile valley surrounded by snow-peaked mountains, blooming wild flowers and magnificent sunshine. We visited Tulbagh, a historic Boland village nestled in the picturesque valley for the annual Tulbagh Spring Arts Festival.

I fell in love with Vindoux's tree houses at first sight, bringing back childhood nostalgia!
The best part? Vindoux is a short 8min drive away from Tulbagh village, so you get to enjoy a weekend away in nature AND dine out in town for dinner!

Set amongst idyllic vines and fruit orchards, our Treehouse had a private balcony overlooking the "game field" with Zebras, Wildebeest and Springboks (deers). Waking up to birds chirping and view of the magnificent mountain range... The jacuzzi comes with complimentary bath salts & bodycare made at Vindoux, infused with natural fynbos plants and flowers. There's a fresh deli where you can order picnic baskets, or pick up jams & preserves for a casual walk in surrounding orchards. We were spoilt with breakfast in bed, and Vindoux makes a killer French Toast ;)

I always seek out to find hidden gems on my trips, the fact that Vindoux is a family-own & managed working farm (they have peach/apple orchards!) makes it truly special! Irene & Roy bought the farm in 2008, as they've always dreamed to live in the country. Irene's daughter and son-in-law, Sophie and Driaan du Toit then extended the farm to include a day spa, game viewing (Driaan was a game ranger and conservationist), wedding venue and more. From our chats, I could tell that the family is passionate about making special memories for their guests - thank you for an unforgettable weekend! We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaHuang_FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in September 2013 at Vindoux and were thoroughly impressed with what we got. We stayed in one of the four Luxury Tree houses (Number 2) and really enjoyed the experience and novelty of it.

First, if I have to be “picky” about anything, then the 2 negatives were: The early check-out time of 10 o’clock – it just felt very rushed after what was otherwise a totally relaxing experience, and: The deluxe picnic hamper that we shared for Saturday lunch was not up to the otherwise good standard of food served from the Vindoux Deli.

Second, the positives were: Staying in a Tree house that lifts you into the realm of the birds with a balcony that overlooks the orchards. The cacophony of bird song was such a blessing and having a pair of Paradise Flycatchers going about their business within touching distance of the balcony being the highlight for me. The room itself is small (without being cramped) but functional with a double bed (four-poster style), a single chair, a chest of drawers, 2 bedside tables, a dining table placed strategically near the huge sliding doors onto the balcony (at which we ate both dinners and breakfasts served hot to our Tree house). There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room with a little bar-fridge to keep the milk (and crafted chocolates from Monikis chocolates across the Tulbagh valley) cool. The en-suite consisted of a toilet, basin and spa-bath with loose shower but with no shower curtain.

The Vindoux Deli menu is not extensive; but the food was good and not too badly priced. The breakfasts were delicious and filling – having sampled both the Full House Breakfast and the Traditional Omelette. While we were there, we also made use of the Day Spa – where the service is friendly and the massages excellent – a very relaxing way to end off the day.

We were looking for a peaceful weekend away to just relax and rest – and Vindoux Guest Farm gave us this in abundance. It is definitely a place I would go back to without needing any convincing.

Room Tip: Try get into a Tree house if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stranger_and_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
2.9 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
680 reviews
2.8 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#6 of 20 in Tulbagh
85 reviews
7.5 mi away
Buffalo Drift
Buffalo Drift
#8 of 20 in Tulbagh
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Raptor Rise Cottage & Stable Rooms
2.9 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
2.3 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa

Property: Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Address: Twee Jonge Gezellen Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque Tulbagh valley lies a "little piece of heaven" on this family owner fruit farm. Spoil the one you love in a luxury tree house complete with spa bath, breakfast in bed and endless mountain views.If you would like to spoil the family try the deluxe self catering tree lodge. All you need for a home away from home, sleeping up to 8 people. Complete with private swimming pool and garden.If you are on a budget try the fully equipped self catering cottages for a simply farm retreat.Onsite spoils include a Day Spa offering a wide range of therapies including couples massage, a licensed deli filled with homemade treats and eats, wedding and conference venue, swimming pool, fishing, cycle hire and game viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing